We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beats any other holiday hands down!”
Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
suffolk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beats any other holiday hands down!”
Reviewed 11 April 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from 2 fantastic weeks at the Amari. Being a travel agent I really did my research on finding the best hotel. We were certainly not disappointed.

The journey ran smoothly, good connection through Bangkok, with a short connection time and still no problems with luggage. Great service at Samui airport and then a really smooth check in at hotel. We were greeted with a friendly welcome and taken to our room, this was across the road, but to be honest not a problem at all, and if I say so probably the best place to be as its quiet and away from the busy pool and beach. the room was beautiful with all the amenities needed. Lovely bathroom and huge shower as well. The bed was huge and so so comfy. The cleaners did a great job everyday, and they even come in every night and spray the room with mozzie spray.... Nice touch.

Breakfast was everything you expected. They had something for everyone all very tasty.

We only had breakfast in the hotel, the beach buffet looked amazing but didn't get the chance to experience it. Decided to spend the days by the pool near the beach. If you pick the right sunbeds you can even pick up the free wi fi from them. Comfy sunbeds and huge free beach towels.

The location of the hotel could not have been better. Throw a left out of the hotel and you get to all the restaurants, bars and shops. Maybe a 5 min walk. We found some lovely restaurants, all very reasonable and the food is amazing. Not a icky tummy once!!! Some great bars too, the ice bar was an experience and ark bar on a Wednesday is a must. There is so much choice.

If you take a left from the beach the are some lovely restaurants for a nice chilled meal. 'your place' was a hit. We ate there a few times, the jumbo BBQ prawns we're lovely.

You have to experience the Thai massages. I must have had 6 in 2 weeks. I went to the one on the beach, just left from the hotel. They are so lovely and really friendly. £4 for a hour is amazing value.

I would not hesitate in reccomending this hotel. It really is a great find. If I ever go back to samui this is where I would stay. Think we may try koh tao next. Went on a snorkelling trip there and that's beautiful too.

Ignore any bad reviews, take my word for it and just book the Amari Palm Reef. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank tilly03Suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,470
    706
    173
    67
    38
See reviews for
593
1,137
84
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed 10 nights at the Amari Palm Reef Resort for the 3rd time in October 2011 and had a wonderful family holiday. Having visited Koh Samui many times over the past 12 years and trying other 4 star resorts on the island we feel that nothing compares with the Amari for price, location and standard.
The resort is located at the quieter end of Chaweng, away from the crowded beach of central Chaweng, but within walking distance of all the shopping, restaurants and bars. We booked 3 Deluxe rooms located in the Thai village and requested that all the rooms were near one another and on the second floor overlooking the pool. We also mentioned that it would be our son and daughter-in-law's wedding anniversary while we were there. On arrival we were very pleased to hear that all our requests had been met and that there were flowers, an anniversary cake and rose petals on the bed in our son and his wife's room. The rooms in the Thai village were very comfortable with no adjoining rooms, so no noisy neighbours to keep you awake!
In our opinion the whole of the resort was fantastic with the only downside being that although we had 3 rooms we could not arrange late checkout for any of them. Hope we are luckier on our next stay at the Amari!
We are very pleased to say that we will be returning to Samui and the Amari again at the beginning of June this year..........can't wait!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rita_AlanPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 7 nights and had a truly wonderful stay...Great Hotel...great staff and excellent location...I have previously read reviews on this site complaining about the rooms etc but dont worry the rooms are fab with massive bathrooms and great walk in showers and the gardens and hotel kept in excellent order and I honestly dont see how anybody can complain about them.
The hotel is situated on a lovely part of the beach which is cleaned everyday and if you walk out onto the beach and turn left there is a fab snack bar which sells great snacks and ice cold drinks allday at a very cheap price....also dont miss out on "your place" bar and resturant a short stroll left along the beach...great seafood and cheap cocktails allday long!!! I would totally recommend staying here as its the best I saw in Chaweng...Also dont miss out on the Ark bar beach party on weds and sundays and Legends bar on the main strip...

Room Tip: Dont be afraid to ask for a free upgrade on arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjanes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The rooms are clean and well kept.
The hotel grounds are impeccable and the pool is big.
Breakfast was amazing. The bar was a tad pricey for my liking, but no biggie.

The only downside, it was packed, but that's what you get for quality and location. If you're looking for something quiet, this might not be the place for you, otherwise I have no complaints.

Room Tip: Try to keep your distance from the pool as it'll be a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed here for 10 nights, very good hotel, very smart & good atmosphere. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfasts also amazing! Would definitely stay here again. We would have liked Swan-shaped towels on our bed though haha!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachLife0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The location was amazing and the staff was exceptional and friendly , the breakfast was very rich and fresh. Thanks Amari for an amazing Holiday.. We'll certainly be back soon.

Room Tip: The location was amazing and the staff was exceptional and friendly , the breakfast was very rich an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sozubek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I just spent one week at the Amari Palm Reef resort on Koh Samui with my husband and his parents. We absolutely loved it. Flawless airport pickup (even though our flight was delayed.) We both booked Superior Rooms, but they upgraded both of us to Deluxe rooms with no additional charge. We spent most of our time in one of their many beach chairs by one of their two big pools (they have lots down by the beach area). They have a continuous flow of huge beach towels available by each of the pool areas all the time. Lot's of staff around always willing to help you put up the beach umbrellas, hand you a towel, or help you order food/drinks. Their is free wifi down by the beach pool and around the bar/restaurant area. So as we were laying out we could surf the web on our iPads. :) Delicious breakfast buffet every morning with tons of options. They serve the same menu most mornings, but since there is so many options you can usually find enough variety.

The resort is located toward the north side of Chewang beach and it's a short little walk into the main part of Chewang night life. Lots of restaurants, spa/massage venues, and other night life entertainment. We used the spa/massage venues in town over Amari because they were significantly cheaper.

We spent most of our time on Koh Samui at the resort and were perfectly happy with our choice. Lots of R&R and quality time with the family. Such good facilities/staff, we didn't feel the need to leave to go find fun elsewhere. I never felt concerned about theft or like there was too much need to "lock our stuff up" ever time we went out or turned around (Many times you will hear of hotels in Thailand where staff have a theft problem- this is NOT one of those hotels!!)

Room Tip: Check the discount packages, they can offer a nice little price reduction and include a breakfast bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaWebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,820 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,449 reviews
1.7 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
728 reviews
1.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Property: Amari Koh Samui
Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amari Hotels, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing