We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again a fantastic visit”
Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Once again a fantastic visit”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Thank you all again for a fantastic holiday. Had a great time. We definitely think this is the time to visit, weather is variable, but for us that was great - not unbearable heat each day and the hotel was only around 60% full which was ideal.

Improvements from our last visit - the staff are really making an effort to communicate, and the service in the bar had definitely improved - couple of new faces in there so maybe that was the key.

Food yet again was very good - gardens absolutely wonderful, a credit to all who work on them.

Cant really say any more than I did my first review - thank you all yet again, see you next year

Room Tip: rooms 3221-3228 beside the quiet pool - fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jelly03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,441
    690
    168
    65
    37
See reviews for
561
1,125
81
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata, India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Amari Palm Reef is a beautiful boutique resort. The hospitality is remarkable. We had booked through the hotel's website and had got a very good deal on room rates. We had also taken a round-trip airport transfer in which they only charged for my husband and me and made it complimentary for our 10 year old. The large van was exclusively for us and the car was waiting at the airport on time. We stayed in a beautiful room overlooking one of the swimming pools. The room and bathroom were clean, with good amenities. A pair of large umbrellas had also been provided thankfully, because it rained during our stay. The buffet breakfast had a wide variety of food to choose from. The hotel is right on Chaweng Beach. There are many restaurants and shops within walking distance on the main road. While in Koh Samui you can take a tour of the island, but the trip to Angthong National Marine Park is a must-do. Even if you are not into adventure, the sheer natural beauty of Angthong will mesmerize you. You can book at a little shack on the beach right outside the hotel. Make sure you bargain. It rained in October, so maybe this isn't a good time to go to Koh Samui.

Room Tip: If you are not taking a sea-view room, take a pool view room. Don't opt for garden view, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank feetonmustardseeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

The room:
Deluxe room 3rd floor- across the road
Nice furnishings, modern, large bathroom, comfortable bed and pillows.
The gardens were immaculate and resort was very clean and well looked after.
The beach front pool very nice and the pool across the road a lot quieter
The beach was nice but I did not want to go swimming did not look that clean, i just stuck to the pool.
Breakfast
I wasn’t too excited over the selection offered at breakfast; there always was a long wait for the egg omelette station. But I didn’t go hungry and my partner seemed to be impressed. The service at breakfast was very so -so always trying to catch the staffs attention for milk or more coffee which I found annoying while they were standing around talking to one another.
I found it very relaxing here, yes the resort is located not far from the airport and you can see the planes but it is a small island and you can hear and see the planes all over the island. I live near an airport so it didn’t really bother me.
If u don’t want to walk up three flights of stairs make sure you note this at time of booking, as I was 20 weeks pregnant I was over this by the end of the three day stay, but if u don’t mid stairs not a problem.
I would most definitely stay here again and would recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: if you dont like stairs ask for ground floor across the road nice and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012 via mobile

Would definitely recommend this hotel. Right on the beach, free transfers to and from the hotel. Wide selection at breakfast. Staff are polite and helpful, the pools are fab. Only complaint was the wifi signal wasn't great. Also would possibly recommend getting one of their better rooms, the deluxe room is nice and comfortable but for a little more you could get something more luxurious.

Chewang beach is the place to stay. It's lively! Would recommend ark beach bar on Fridays.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vhurhangee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I have to be honest - I didn't like Chaweng beach. We were told that that Amari was at 'the posh end of the resort', but the whole area is like Thailand-on-Sea. Too many hotels, all packed in, with their little allocated area of beach ... That said, Amari had two lovely pools and a nice bar and restaurant. We found the staff very grumpy though - particularly in the bar, we were 'a nuisance'. Breakfast was good - not excellent. Lunch? - the most fantastic sweetcorn barbecued on the beach, or better stil, pineapple freshly prepared - fabulous!! (And served by wonderfully cheery locals!! It really does make such a difference!) Dinner? Wander along the main road, turn right at the Y junction, follow the road along for 200 metres and head for the market area. The freshest, bestest seafood I have ever had! Would I return? Probably not - I just think there are nicer places in Thailand to visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank juliefromsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This is a good place to stay in Koh Samui if you are looking for a fancier type of place.

The resort is amazing: Very clean. Very friendly employees. The rooms are huge, beds enormous, everything is comfortable, and there are two clean and lovely pools next to which there is an abundance of lounge chairs.
The beach is also very nice. And, there is no shortage of towels for using on the lounge chairs.
Breakfast is a highlight -- one of the best I have had in resorts around the world.


There are two areas in which the hotel should improve:
First, it over-charges for every service it provides and things that it sells. For example, laundry is per item and comes out to almost $10/kg while places a few doors down do it for $1/kg. Phone calls are ridiculously expensive. Also, any tour you book here will be about 25%-30% more expensive than if booked in an agency down the road. And, a buffet dinner should not cost $30 per person! That is more than one pays in Las Vegas for an even better buffet...

Second, the front desk staff at times appears to be as thick as custard. If there is a noisy room they do nothing to help solve the problem (because they want to avoid conflict). If they don't understand what you are asking for, they just say "yes" and pretend that it will be taken care of. Maybe it would help if they were less shy and a bit more assertive.

Anyways, this is still a fabulous place to stay and I recommend it very much.

Room Tip: The side away from the beach seems newer and better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 502Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks in September. No point covering all the basics like location, split in two, etc as so many others have commented on that.
The room was nice and clean, although we felt we were cursed as we had to go to reception at least 5 times over the 2 weeks as our key card would stop working and had to be issued a new one every couple of days. Also, wireless was poor and kept dropping out during the day in the room and near the garden pool.
Breakfast wasn't as amazing as a lot of others have made out. Yes, there is a fair choice, but it doesn't change that much. Spending 2 weeks at the place, there was almost the exact same thing each day. I grew bored eating the same things all the time. Also, having to give our room number to the staff each day when we came for breakfast was a little baffling, especially when it was to the same waitress who had seated us the previous day. but TIT for those who know what I mean so we just accepted it.
That's about it. Most of the staff were friendly and smiling which is always nice. I probably won't go back again as it really didn't impress me that much. I think it should be rated more 3.5 to 4 stars, rather than a 5. I think I will try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzzieMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,779 reviews
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,413 reviews
1.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Property: Amari Koh Samui
Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Amari Hotels, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing