We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amari Koh Samui
Nearby Hotels
Dara Samui Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Nora Buri Resort & Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sareeraya Villas & Suites(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Muang Samui Spa Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
KC Resort & Over Water Villas(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$356
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Chaweng Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Poppies Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,717)
Filter reviews
2,717 results
Traveller rating
1,625
769
203
78
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,625
769
203
78
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspregobeach sidethai villagegarden wingbreeze spakoh samuicrossing guardsdeluxe roomchaweng beachthe main hotelbusy roadmain poolthe main roadpool viewbreakfast was amazingour honeymoonhappy hour
Filter
Updating list...
1,191 - 1,196 of 2,717 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights and of our three centre holiday this was agreed by the four of us that it was the one thing that we would not do again. The public areas are impressive but the rooms are dated, towels so old they were grey and not the white they once were. The main disappointment was the attitude of the staff, poor by any standards but particularly by Thai. Reluctance to serve drinks etc by the pool, my foot cut by a waiter dropping a tin tray side on onto my foot (and cut it) a mumbled apology from him and then lunch thrown down onto the sunbed and no further comment / enquiry as to how I was was very disappointing. There are better places to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Beenroaming,

Thank you for your "Mixed Bag" review of your stay with us. I'm very sorry to hear that your experience was disappointing, especially the point concerning our pool staff for whom we usually receive compliments for.

I will certainly be looking into this lapse of service with the team for their improvement, and offer my sincere apologies again.

Kind regards,

Martin Kunzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

when i entered in hotel , wow , what a place , they told us about 2 pool , break fast area , etc , beach was also close , so happy , but when they gave us room it was other side of the beach , to go for b fast and to beach was too much for me , with young kids , we cant leave them alone on beach because room was across the road , break fast is too good , restaurant are very near , except hotel reception cold response ,rest was too good , place is calm but as well as you are in main area .
Bath rooms are small if we comare with other resort hotel , they claim 5 star but i think as resort it is 3.5 or 4 star

always ask them room near Beach side , or rooms on beach side .
food is very good , i am going after 7 month again but will stay some where else .
i would suggest if going to koh samui , try some other hotel with Spa and sea facing rooms .

Room Tip: Dont stay garden side , ask them to give room near breakfast area or near beach , not other side , very important .
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadeem B J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear Nadeem,

Thank you very much for your review after your recent stay with us.

Great to hear that you liked the resort's beachfront area, but I'm also sorry to learn that the layout wasn't to your expectation. Yes we are split over two sides of Chaweng Beach Road, the rooms in our lovely Garden Wing are only about a 5 minute walk away, but I understand your concern with the young children.

Also if I may clarify that we don't claim to be a 5 star resort, just a nice 4 star :) The 5 stars of the island are properties like the Four Seasons, W, Conrad and Banyan Tree among others.

I hope that you still had a nice holiday and enjoyed our service,

Best wishes,

Martin Kunzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My wife and I and friends stayed at the Amari for a week and the hole time we were relaxed and well looked after by friendly staff and great food.The resort was well maintained and rooms well set out and optioned.A must is to have lunch or dinner or both at the Italian Resturant The breakfast was A class. .The beach out front was ok but water not for swimming but short walk up the beach and swimming was good but we injoyed the two great pools at the resort.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear Peter,

Thanks very much for your review, terrific to hear that you and your friends enjoyed our resort and facilities. Yes, as you say the water wasn't ideal for swimming during your stay due to the low tide, but I'm glad our 2 swimming pools made up for that!

Hope to welcome you back on another occasion,

Warm regards,

Martin Kunzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The Amari is an awesome resort with beautiful garden and good pools at the quiet end of Chaweng. A couple of negatives - while still very tidy it is getting a bit worn and the beach is not swimable. We have found most of the staff good and have had a fabulous relaxing holiday. Breakfast is good too (except Bircher muesli is muesli mixed with strawberry yoghurt).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear Yvonne,

Thanks for your kind words following your stay with us. Glad that you enjoyed it. This morning I've mentioned your comment regarding the Bircher muesli to the Chef, and he will look into improving it. Thanks for letting us know!

Best wishes from Samui,

Martin Kunzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

4th time at the resort. To sum it up, I believe this is the best value in Chaweng.

Positives: nicely laid out resort, nice pool areas, very inviting restaurant facing the pool and beach, the restaurant/lounge/bar look great when lit up at night time, great service, good food at reasonable prices for a resort, and great seafood BBQ on Wednesday nights at a reasonable price.

Negatives: bathrooms are small, the resort is in North Chaweng so you can hear (and see) airplanes taking off every hour during the day, some of the furniture is starting to show some wear and tear.

Overall, I would come back again. But I may also try a place in Bophut.

On a sidenote, I am sad to have witnessed increased development and traffic in Koh Samui over the past 5 years. I hope the island does not become the next Phuket or (even worst) Bali.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear Daniel,

Thanks very much for your kind review. Myself and the team are really happy to hear that you enjoyed yet another stay with us, and your comments are much appreciated.

As you mention, Samui has indeed been subjected to growth due to its popularity, and like yourself it is my hope that this will not go too far. Local municipality and private sector groups such as the Thai Hotel Association are aware of Samui's point of difference, and there are a number of projects and plans ongoing to preserve what makes the island so special. Let's hope they work out!

We hope to welcome you back to the island again soon,

Kind regards,

Martin Kunzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews