We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good location, nice pool areas” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good location, nice pool areas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Location was very good - just at the end of the Chaweng area, so easy to walk to get to all the nightlife, shopping, etc. The room was clean, a good size, and with a balcony that overlooked one of the pool areas.

While the pool areas were large and inviting (sometimes there were free popsicles in the afternoons) the beach area left a bit to be desired - not the soft sand that we had become used to in Central Chaweng.

Breakfast buffet was varied and very good. Drinks at the bar were also tasty. The staff was great and service was wonderful. You do need to cross the street in order to get to the other area of the hotel, which is where we stayed, but as there was always someone from the hotel assisting in crossing the street, we didn't see this as a negative.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lm2329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,351
    643
    158
    60
    35
See reviews for
512
1,056
71
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

The Amari is a good hotel in a great location on Chaweng beach in Koh Samui. It may be a little more expensive than some of the surrounding hotels, but the cleanliness and facilities live up to that.

The main pool area is really nice and right on the beach, though sometimes the loungers can be hard to come by. To counter that, staff monitor towels that have been left on loungers without people and remove them.

The food and drink is more expensive than up on the main strip but the bar does 2for1 offers during happy hour 18.00 - 21.00 each night.

Fitness facilities are reasonable for a hotel.

One thing to point out is that you may be staying across the road from the main hotel as many rooms are there. We were, and it wasn't a big issue for us. Some people may not like this. They have staff to help you cross the road - maybe a bit unnecessary!

The staff were all nice. The room we stayed in was nice (booked a superior room, but seemed to be in a duplex family room).

Very good location. 10 minute walk to the main night life in Chaweng, but far enough away to get a decent nights sleep too.

Overall I would recommend it.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

My wife and I are a retired couple who stayed at this hotel in September 2013. It was our second stay the previous one being in 2009.We had spent several weeks in northern Thailand and were looking forward.to a relaxing couple of weeks and new that this was assured at the Amari. We were not disappointed.
All the staff were courteous and helpful and management also mixed with the guests daily.
The hotel itself is very clean, has direct access to the beach with lovely gardens and 2 swimming pools. Small but well equipped gym.
Both western and Thai food is excellent and well presented.
The night life is within walking distance also the many beachside restaurants.
The breakfast room is upstairs which was was not a problem to us however but may be for some people.
The hotel is excellent quality 4 star. We prefer this type of relaxed atmosphere rather than staying 5 star where we find the level of attention is often too much.
The hotel manager is Australian and Julianne the assistant manager I believe is of German origin. She speaks perfect English and I expect a few other languages.

Room Tip: The rooms are situated in lovely gardens. The majority of the rooms are chalet type and are quite sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 8 nights in early September 2013 to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. You will see from my other reviews that we previously stayed at the Centara Grand Beach Resort and so I am writing this review comparing the two hotels. In my opinion, the Amari wins in all aspects.

Accommodation/Location:

The hotel is located in the North part of Chaweng beach and away from the hustle and bustle of down town Chaweng. For us this was perfect because we enjoyed the daily 10/15 minute stroll into the night life and benefitted from the peace and quiet the Hotel afforded once your day was done.

It is a modern, high spec hotel with excellent facilities. The rooms are split between two sides of a road but please do not let this put you off from staying. The road is inconsequential at best and is manned 24/7 to ease with crossing. We were initially put in one of the rooms overlooking the smaller swimming pool on the non-beach side and it was spacious and full of everything you will want in a room at top end hotel. It had a large balcony which was great to sit on at night and have a pre dinner drink. Towards the end of our stay, the Hotel manager upgraded us to one of their best rooms - sea facing suites - as we were celebrating our anniversary. This was very unexpected and much welcomed. The room and bathroom were larger and the view which greeted us each morning of the sea was amazing. They also served you complimentary canapés each night!

As is said, the hotel is only a short walk into the centre of Chaweng and taxis line up outside if you are feeling lazy. It is also a very quick transfer from Koh Samui airport which we appreciated after 13 hours travelling!

The grounds are in pristine condition and are constantly being maintained but not to the point where it would inconvenience you.

Food and Drink:

The hotel offers an inclusive breakfast buffet. It offers a plentiful of choices from all parts of the globe and I was very satisfied with everything I ate.

We seldom ate at the hotel save for breakfast but the night we did (on our anniversary) we dined at the Hotel's Italian restaurant, Prego. The food was exquisite and tasted as good as any food we have had in Italy. The service was efficient but not intrusive and we felt it was good value for money, albeit on the expensive side for Koh Samui - 2 courses with (a good) wine came too £40 per head. My only gripe is that the restaurant allowed people to dine in their beach/swimming shorts/vests which was inappropriate given the cost of the food/ethos of the restaurant.

My wife had lunch at the swimming pool one day and said it was very nice but on the expensive side.

We drank in the Hotel bar a few times but strictly only during happy hour as the drinks were expensive. However, the cocktails were the best my wife had on the island and she tried a few!

Generally, as you would expect, the price of food and drink in the hotel was substantially more than at local restaurants and bars but, the quality was
always at the high end.

Service:

As most people have already mentioned, the Thai people are very welcoming and very friendly and this was certainly the case at the Amari. Whatever you needed, there was always someone on hand to assist you. My only gripe was that some of the front desk staff did not speak English well and so it could take sometime to resolve your issue as they waited for another member of staff to arrive who could understand my needs.

Facilities:

The hotel has two swimming pools and both are well maintained. Personally, we found ourselves staying at the smaller, non-beach side one as it is quieter and more relaxing. The beach at the north end of Chaweng isn't crystal clear blue but it is certainly better than anywhere we are used to in England. The sea was warm and great to swim in. You can book a host of water sports from the beach.

The Hotel spa offered a variety of packages. My wife and my mother in law chose a spa experience which included 3 different treatments. As it was on a buy one get one free deal, it only cost £43 per person which was excellent value. I am assured that each treatment was excellent and the staff were very professional and polite.

Overall:

I shall summarise by stating that I would happily go back to the Amari and would recommend all of my friends and family to stay here. You will not be disappointed if you choose the Amari.

Suggestions:

We tried plenty of different restaurants and bars during our stay and I recommend the following places to eat/drink:

The Red Snapper
Captain Kirk's
The Green Bird
Legend's Bar - great place for a drink but we didn't eat here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
149 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I visited Koh Samui for the first time in September. We got to the hotel early and our room wasn't ready. We had requested a sea view room and the prior occupants requested a late checkout of 5pm. The hotel gave us a temporary room to leave our bags and change or relax as necessary. Fortunately, we were only traveling from Bangkok and not the US so we weren't tired and we were ready to lay out by the beach and the pool.

The hotel has a beach on its property with its on beds. The hotel is on the north end of Chaweng so there is virtually no surf and the water is perfect for swimming, kayaking, or snorkeling. Further, the beach does not have a lot of the loud beach clubs that populate the beach further south. However, one can walk the entire stretch of beach, so you can immerse yourself in the activity of Chaweng without ever walking a main road.

The room was great, but honestly we did not spend a lot of time in it.

We were able to rent a car on site which we took advantage of.

The pool side bar was nice but the servers did not go out to the beach area unfortunately.

The property is in a great location. It is a short walk to the activity of Chaweng, restaurants, boxing stadium, etc. What is unusual, is that the rooms are divided by the main road. For most of the guests, they need to cross the street to go to the beach or breakfast. There is a pool on both sides though. We reserved a sea view room, so we did not even see the other side, except for the brief stint in our temporary room and to go to Prego, which is a good place for pizza if you want that.

I would definitely stay here again. It is less expensive than the "five-star" Four Seasons or Banyan Tree, but it has many of the same amenities and is closer to nightlife and shopping.

Room Tip: If a view of the ocean is what you want, you will need to request a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raider781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I have just returned from spending two weeks at the Amari Palm Reef in Koh Samui. The hotel was really relaxing and quiet but was also in a good position to access the centre of cheweng and other nearby places such as Bophut! The rooms are spacious and very clean and the buffet breakfast gave a good selection. The only negative was the price of food and drink compared to the rest of Cheweng was higher. Overall we had an amazing time and would definately return!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jomoore2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

If you like watching aeroplanes taking off and landing and the smell of Aviation fuel! Then this is the place for you. It is at the end off the runway so bring ear defenders.lots of families on a budget trip so the screams do tone down the aircraft noise a bonus! The hotel has a main road running through the middle so you have to costs this to get to the dinning room/beach and reception. On the plus side the staff are very polite and helpfully and seem to work all hours. Don't expect must sleep not only do you have the noise of the planes you also have music blasting all night so put the aircon on all night to block this! The main road runs adjacent to Chaweng beach which has lots of bars and places to eat if you manage to survive constant hassle of people trying to sell you fake stuff very tacky.we made the mistake of listening to a travel agent trail F------- ! The rooms are okay about 3 star plus starting to get tatty but clean and tidy such a shame what happened to the thialand I new only eight years ago?

Room Tip: over looking the pool across the road from the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrumpyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
1.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
1.5 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
1.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
1.7 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Property: Amari Koh Samui
Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotelopia so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing