We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience”
Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I vacationed to Koh Samui and had a fabulous time at the Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui. The breakfasts were wonderful, room and bed was comfy, views were breathless and location good. Unfortunately the beach was not that swimmable, but still gorgeous. The pool area fills up fast, so I would recommend to get their early. Overall, very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felise14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,384
    657
    162
    60
    36
See reviews for
527
1,080
76
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

My family and I have just had a 5 night stay at the Amari and we absolutely loved it. The setting of this place is amazing right on the beach. Our room was on the other side of the main road but this was not a problem. The rooms are not over big but they are comfortable, the rest of the resort makes up for this. The staff are some of the friendliest I have come across even though they put up with some quite rude guest at times.The only disappointment was not being able to get a late checkout and having to wait 3 hours for a pickup.Overall I would highly recommend the amari.Thankyou for an unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

spent 3 nights at this property. It has been a lovely experience. From the beginning. They couldn't give us the room as early check in. hence, treated us to free drinks and cocktails. The property is quaint, very clean and very stylish. We had a family room, overlooking the 2nd pool. the sit out balcony is cute. the cleanliness, design etc took our hearts. Food is very good though choice is limited. very near to the chaweng market and hence accessible to the best food and shopping. the staff is very courteous and always smiling. the beach dinner, though triffle costly, is very good. I loved it so did my family. will come back there.

Room Tip: if travelling with family, choose the family room, the are very cute and is very good value for mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amitgope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Amitgope,

Thank you for your kind words following your stay with us. I'm really glad to hear that you and your family enjoying your stay in our Family Room, and will share this with the team.

Look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Martin Kunzmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Badsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

we booked this hotel because we wanted to be near main busy part koh samui but also we would be able to escape the noise aswell .our apartment was across the road from the main bar area, it had its own pool, spa & gym facilities .
The room was excellent , superbly cleaned everyday , bed was very large and the best hotel bed i have ever slept in.
breakfast was included in our package, food amazing only small critism was getting hold of the tea , servers were always very busy.
overall excellent stay will visit again.

Room Tip: superior room ground floor near spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footychick52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Footychick52,

Thanks very much for the great feedback following your recent stay. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! Thank you for noting the point about the coffee and tea service, which I have raised with our Restaurant Manager.

Hoping to welcome you back again one day,

Best wishes,

Martin Kunzmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed on the beach side of the hotel for 5 nights. We arrived 2 days after the rest of our group of friends as we had stopped off in Bangkok.

On first impression I thought our room on the second floor was fine, handy for the bar, restaurant and beach but it had a tiny shower room. However it was noisy, slamming doors, some traffic noise too but the roar of the air conditioning helped to drown that out. When I saw the large accommodation our friends had on the other side of the road I was quite envious.

On our third night we were awoken at 3 am by a loud thump followed by frantic flapping and scratching right above our heads. We both literally shot up out of bed and stood terrified on the other the side of the room with hearts pounding. After putting the lights on and searching the room we couldn't find anything but there is a foot wide ledge which runs around the ceiling for the lighting so we couldn't see above that. My husband stood on the bed and held up his phone and took a video, no animals but the big holes into the roof space worried us!!

After seeing dried vampire bats in boxes in Cheweng shops we spent a fitful night and heard more scratching and weird flapping. In the morning we reported what had occurred and reception sent someone to check the roof space within 15 minutes. Later I asked what they had found and they replied: 'Nothing, perhaps it was a rat or a cat, maybe a lizard'. Lizards with wings are called dragons aren't they???

We were not offered a room change but I guess we should have insisted on a move. We only had 2 more days before moving to another hotel so braved it out. Overall we liked the hotel, food and drinks but would definitely ask for the rooms like our friends had!!

Room Tip: Go for the other side of the road - some plane noise but better rooms with big bathrooms and vaulted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrscoulter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Mrs.Coulter,

Many thanks for your feedback following your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear about your night-time experience, it sounds like it was a harrowing time!

I checked this with my team and found that they had the maintenence men inspect the roof cavity area, and even set some traps but nothing was found. If I may hazard a guess, it sounds like a small bird may have gotten through the wooden louvres and been trapped for a little while before escaping. My apologies that an alternate room was not offered.

I'm glad to hear that overall you and your friends enjoyed your stay, and if you visit us again we will be happy to have you stay in a dragon-free room :)

Best wishes from Samui,

Martin Kunzmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Amazing resort, we stayed here for 10 nights in late Nov to Early Dec in 2012 and had the most amazing time. The rooms were very nice and clean and spacious, the breakfast was very good with a great deal of variety and set you up very nicely for the day. The location of the Amari is perfect within walking distance of the main strip but far enough away to not be disturbed. I would love to go back one day

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Krunal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Krunal,

Many thanks indeed for your great feedback, it is very nice to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Koh Samui.

All the best for now,

Martin Kunzmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

fabulous hotel for a wonderful honeymoon. This hotel is situated near the end of the beach so if you are looking for a quiet peaceful time or looking for pubs and clubs you have access to both. The hotel is split in two with reception and restaurants with some accommodation on the beach side and on the other side of the road there is accommodation and a quieter swimming pool. The split made no difference at all, there are people assisting with crossing the road 24 hours a day. The breakfast was very nice with many options. The bar was good and happy hour is a must to get through the cocktail list. Staff were very helpful and very friendly.

Room Tip: rooms across the road from the main reception area seems to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GADonnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear GADonnelly,

Many thanks for sharing your feedback after your recent stay. Very happy to hear it was an enjoyable honeymoon and will share your kind comments with the team.

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back again one day,

Warm regards,

Martin Kunzmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
1.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
1.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Property: Amari Koh Samui
Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Priceline, Amari Hotels, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing