We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The hotel was fab the staff definitely make the hotel. Breakfast was great. We had a great room only problem was it was on the road which was very noisey at night. When I spoke was offered another but preffered where we were so bought ear plugs. The quality was really great. Would definitely go back but would want to be away from the road. The pools were both good sizes and well maintained although could be busy. The beach was better and it's good fun with the beach sellers.
We have been to Samui before about six years ago and the traffic volume has increased a lot.

Room Tip: Try and get one away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

942 - 948 of 2,525 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stayed at the Amari about 6 years ago now (see previous review). Was wondering what to expect this time and I was not disappointed. The service provided is still excellent. Cold towels on arrival, easy check in, wonderful breakfasts that never run out of supplies. Great coffee and lattes etc if you ask for it. Love the fresh smoothes available every morning and the changes they make to various dishes in the buffet each day. I really looked forward to this breakfast every day. We also stayed at the Shangri la in Bangkok which is renowned for its breakfast and frankly I thought the Amari’s was better for choice.
I really can’t fault our stay there. I also needed assistance to chase up on a matter from a previous hotel we stayed in Samui and the staff were really helpful in assisting with this. After the last hotel we stayed which we were really disappointed with, the Amari really saved our holiday. It was slightly more expensive but believe me, it is worth every cent. I now know after two stays here with a long period in between, the Amari brand is something I can trust and know my holiday is going to be foolproof. I will be back to the Amari without hesitation and if you are considering a stay here, I could not recommend it enough for value for money yet still very classy and well situated on Chaweng beach. Thanks to all the staff here who are brilliant.
Can I also just add to anyone reading this considering staying in Koh Samui, please do not purchase sunscreen from the “Samui Sun” brand widely available at all pharmacies (except Boots who unsurprisingly, do not stock this). I ended up bed ridden for three days with severe burns as this is a fake sunscreen and has no SPF in it. I would hate for someone’s child to suffer as I did and other tourists have so please stick to main stream sun cream brands and avoid “Nice Pharmacies” on the Chaweng strip who widely stocks this product. If you run out of suncream go to Boots or avoid Thai suncream products, particularly Samui Sun.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chocolatechaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I created a trip advisor account just to review this place. Stayed there for 6 nights from the 19th to the 25th of October. I have been lucky enough to visit a lot of places and stay at a lot of resorts, and this place is easily the best resort I've stayed at. All hotel staff were friendly and always had a smile on their face, accommodation was great, buffet breakfast was awesome. There are 2 big pools, 1 for each area of the hotel (the hotel is separated in to 2 areas, one closer to the beach the other on the other side of the road, both with heaps of sun lounge's) Awesome food, awesome restaurants in the hotel, Great entertainment during the night with an awesome cover band who play all sorts of popular tunes. It is in a great location too with nearby shops and heaps of money exchangers. Highly recommend this resort.

When we stayed there were couples, families, big groups and solo travellers and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves.

Cannot wait to go back to visit this place.

Room Tip: We stayed on the non beach side, and it seemed to be more peaceful than the beach side area, which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BJM111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed at Amari Reef for 2 weeks during October. This was our first time to Koh Samui after many visits to Phuket. The resort is broken into 2 sections divided by the main road. We were located on the side away from the beach. This was not a problem as there was a pool just outside our room & did not need to cross the road to go for a swim. I was disappointed in the beach. It is shallow & had seaweed floating around everywhere. It was also brown & dirty in parts.
Although this is no fault of the hotel it was all along Chaweng beach. The hotel was amazing and started our day with a great breakfast with a big variety. The staff always friendly and very helpful.The beds were very comfortable & the room cleaned daily. The grounds are just perfect & well maintained. I would highly recommend the Amari Palm Reef to anyone travelling to Koh Samui. Thanks again for an amazing holiday & looking forward to getting back there one day.

Room Tip: If you want to be around the pool I would recommend south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caljemcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Plenty of healthy food for breakfast. Warming Reception, CLean private Beach, Large Pool, Aways from City Disturbances, Peaceful sleep, Excellent Breeze Spa packages, however be aware to close doors and windows during night to avoid insects and lizards from entering the room.
In all a joyful and refreshing stay.

Room Tip: The rooms closer to reception and beach have a better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank khuloodj j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I vacationed to Koh Samui and had a fabulous time at the Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui. The breakfasts were wonderful, room and bed was comfy, views were breathless and location good. Unfortunately the beach was not that swimmable, but still gorgeous. The pool area fills up fast, so I would recommend to get their early. Overall, very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felise14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

My family and I have just had a 5 night stay at the Amari and we absolutely loved it. The setting of this place is amazing right on the beach. Our room was on the other side of the main road but this was not a problem. The rooms are not over big but they are comfortable, the rest of the resort makes up for this. The staff are some of the friendliest I have come across even though they put up with some quite rude guest at times.The only disappointment was not being able to get a late checkout and having to wait 3 hours for a pickup.Overall I would highly recommend the amari.Thankyou for an unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brent953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,894 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,484 reviews
1.7 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
761 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muang Samui Spa Resort
Muang Samui Spa Resort
#3 of 104 in Chaweng
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £90 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing