We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed here for one night in January with 2 friends. Brilliant atmosphere though the beach is not private.we stayed in a bungalow which was on the half of the resort separated by the road. Had an amazing salad for lunch and the breakfast was delightful. Unfortunately the beach is not private so tourists were constantly walking through meaning it was not as relaxing as we wished for. Overall a great stay

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dottynb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Dotty,

Thank you for your kind review, we're happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. About the beach, yes it is not private - all beaches in Thailand are public domain, but people watching can be fun too :)

Best wishes from Koh Samui,

Martin Kunzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

930 - 936 of 2,557 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

I LOVE this resort - I have stayed here twice now and we plan another trip in March 2014. This place epitomises the amazing Thai hospitality at its best.
Amari Palm Reef is a beach-front hotel (split across the main road - but don't worry about that aspect, try to get a room on the non-sea side if possible).
Location is excellent, just a short (10 min) walk to the main Chaweng Beach action of Soi Green Mango.
Service is excellent - warm, friendly and inviting. Last trip we extended by a few days (didn't want to leave!) and we received a discount which was unexpected and a really nice gesture from the Management.
It's not the cheapest hotel so expect to wince a bit when you receive your checkout bill. Food and drinks are relatively expensive, but if you are on a tight budget then this probably isn't the place for you.

There are two pools, both are of an excellent standard. Gym is okay but needs bigger weights...

I would strongly recommend that you consider a room upgrade to complete the experience as the standard rooms are getting a little tired (bathroom in particular). I have stayed in both, so I know!

Summary - Rooms, generally good (upgrade = great). Food = very good. Service = excellent. Value = very good. Hospitality = Excellent. Overall = Beautiful.

Room Tip: Upgrade if your budget can stretch to it. Try and get a room "over the road" if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob_Surin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Rob,

Many thanks for the great review, it is a pleasure to hear how much you enjoy staying with us! We are looking forward to welcoming you back in March.

All the best till then and Happy New Year!

Martin Kunzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed with my family for 3 nights all was great the food service room pool lovely beach fruit cold drinks and hoe corn sold on the beach walking distance from chewang road but not in the center of the chewang great hotel highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthonyfirefighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Hi Anthony,

Thank you for your recommendation following your stay, glad you enjoyed it!

Best wishes from Samui,

Martin Kunzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This is recommended hotel and expensive for the dated rooms but Ko Samui has lower standards in general compared to other locations.
Breakfast spread is very good. Location is good and it's on the edge of the market. Good pools.

Room Tip: Rooms are old, small bed, very small bathroom (a few sq ft) and most importantly most rooms are acro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soodmanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Soodmanu,

Thank you for your recommendation and comments following your recent stay with us.

You make a good point not to assume the rooms are on the beach, as in fact most of our rooms are on the other side of a small road. However as other reviewers have noted it is still not much more than a few minutes walk away. As you say, the rooms are not the most modern although we are planning a renovation to modernise them in the near future, stay tuned!

Thank you again for your review and best wishes for the New Year,

Martin Kunzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic place! Would recommend to all. Perfect location, great pool, great resort food, big buffet breakfast, friendly staff.. It has it all!! It is up the quieter end of Chaweng beach which is great and only a short walk to all of the market stalls.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mitch F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Mitch,

Many thanks for the recommendation. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to having you back again soon,

Best wishes,

Martin Kunzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Our family, including two school-age kids, stayed at the Amari Palm Reef in June 2013 for a week. The Amari is a top-rated, luxury resort on one of Koh Samui’s most popular beaches and, for the most part, lived up to its excellent reputation. Not being there during the peak season, we enjoyed a lot of elbow room and never had a problem getting a table for dinner at the resort or the countless other beachside restaurants.

Our room, while not deluxe, was spacious, comfortable, and clean in traditional Thai design with a relaxing patio. The staff was always friendly and attentive, and we particularly enjoyed the pools and lovely, well-maintained grounds and outdoor eating areas/bar. Other memorable highlights were the buffet brunch that was included in our nightly rate (not sure if this deal is available during the high/peak season); the dinner buffets on the beach, which weren’t cheap, but also not prohibitive (on Hawaii, the same meal would have been at least twice as much!); the resort’s live music available on most nights; and finally, the easy access to the public beach where we could snack on grilled corn for a dollar, grab a beer for $.50, get an hour-long massage for $7, rent a kayak for $10, and of course, stroll or lounge for free.

Of course, nothing in life is perfect. Here are a few issues we had and some things to consider:

- The beach in front of the Amari is not really swimmable as it’s too shallow and kind of murky. (Luckily, as mentioned above, the pools are great!) This was probably the biggest disappointment of our stay because we had read so many good things about Chaweng Beach before leaving. As it turns out, Chaweng is a very long beach and the swimming quality varies depending on where you are. We noticed that the beaches just a little farther down were much better for swimming. I’m not sure if this is the case all year round, so it’s best to ask in advance if ocean swimming is important to you.

- Most of the rooms, including ours, are across the street from the main resort area and the beach. For us, this wasn’t a big issue; the pool here is just as nice as the main pool, and it’s not a very far walk. There’s no poolside food or bar service though, which would have been nice. The street between this area and the main resort is extremely busy, so they have professional security at the crosswalk. If they weren’t there, you’d be hard pressed to get to the other side!

- The wi-fi in our room, while free, was spotty.

- There was no conditioner in our room . . . a big deal for me, but maybe not others.

- Our room key card didn’t work very well, resulting in some frustrating attempts to get into our room.

- We had some minor challenges at the front desk, but since we didn’t have any major issues with which to contend, this wasn’t much of a problem. Besides, meeting people from other countries and overcoming language barriers is half the fun of travelling!

Overall, this is a great option for families looking for resort-level quality with Thai style and the flair of a smaller, boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Travelling with more than three people in Asia (as in Europe) is always a challenge because they don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenBakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Karen,

Thank you for sharing your honest and detailed feedback of your time here at the Amari Palm Reef. All very valid points noted, and I'm sure future travelers will find these very useful. Thank you!

Hoping to welcome you and your family back to our resort again one day soon,

Best regards,

Martin Kunzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed in late November for 7 nights and what a wonderful place. Staff are beautiful people. Massage was best I have ever had. There are 2 pools and we went to both. We stayed in a room on the side which is across the road. It was actually so quiet and delightful. Close enough to all the main part that has great places to eat. But the spot that the hotel is in is just a quieter section. Tried the restaurant a few nights and was lovely. Breakfast was amazing. But again, the friendly and attentive staff are what makes this place so wonderful. If it rains there are all these daybeds and sofas you can lounge around on.Thanks for a great stay.. oh and the beds have incredible comfort.

Room Tip: Everyone we met and talked to staying in the hotel loved it. You cant go wrong anywhere. Perhaps jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belinda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Belinda,

Thank you for sharing the great feedback of your holidays here with us. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed yourself and appreciate you sharing with fellow travelers.

Best wishes from Chaweng!

Martin Kunzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,920 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,493 reviews
1.7 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
780 reviews
1.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £89 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Booking.com, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing