We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average property, better options next door.”
Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average property, better options next door.”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The property is split by a main road. Most of the pictures on the website are of the side on the beach which has practically everything from the front desk to pool, restaurants to the sea. This side is really nice & all rooms are in the villas. However the other side is a sad building with average rooms. We had red ants in our room as well as our friends rooms adjacent to us. This alone made us switch our hotel. There are better options for the same price just up the road. I would recommend checking them before booking here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnMyTravels_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear OnMyTravels_87,

Thank you for your review, and I am sorry to hear that you found the resort just average. My apologies also for the ants you found in your room, which happens occasionally especially when food is left out. I do hope you were able to enjoy the rest of your Samui holiday at the alternative location which you found.

With kind regards,

Martin Kunzmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,414
    676
    165
    62
    36
See reviews for
539
1,108
79
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from the Amari which continues to deliver comfortable accommodation and excellent service in a relatively hassle-free location. This is our 4th visit so we know the place pretty well. Our preference is the Thai village setting away from the front beach. The manicured gardens and traditional timber lodgings nestled around the swimming pool (the quieter of the two pools) are terrific). Although the accommodation is due for a makeover (timber doesn't have quite the longevity in a seaside location), it's more than adequate with individual balconies, some with a direct unimpeded view over the pool and garden (recommended location). We always take the upstairs level. Whilst the bathroom is a little tight and tired, it's very clean and does the job just fine. The linen is good, pillows comfy and the air con (with only 3 fan variations) keeps you cool, although a little noisy. But you soon get used to that.

But if there's a huge standout at the Amara, it's the breakfast! A grand buffet with everything imaginable. Hot and cold, beautifully plated, sumptuous pastries, breads and rolls baked on site, chef on hand to personally construct your own bacon and eggs, omelets, you name it. In fact, we reckon it's one of the best breakfast offerings....anywhere! And generally including in the price. Even though it's a 6min very pleasant walk from our room (a walk does you good before and after THIS breakfast), it's no big deal. In summary-

1. Really good value!
2. A very well managed property in a good location. Top staff.
3. If you're after a little more peace in a fabulous garden, try for a room directly around the back pool. There are several to choose from.
4. The accomm. (Thai village) is very adequate, if in need of a spruce up.
5. Good gym, massage, terrific pool options, restaurant and bar. Suggest the hotel's Preggo Italian Restaurant next door. It's seriously good in any language and highly recommended!
6. Short trip to the beach. And if you're inclined for some really good Thai or western delights, you can't go past Montien House- turn right on the beach and enjoy a 15 min walk. It's not far and worth it. Eat on the beach. Nothing like it.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dgb44Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Dgb3127,

Thanks very much for reviewing your most recent stay with us, I'm pleased to hear that the resort was able to "tick all the boxes" once again! Your kind compliments will be passed along to the team who will be very happy to hear them, and to address your note regarding the rooms being due for a makeover, fear not for this is being planned at the moment!

Looking forward to welcoming you back for your 5th visit :)

Warmest regards,

Martin Kunzmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Great resort, although I thought that there were too many kids around in the main wing of the resort. We stayed in the south wing so it was quieter. It also had its own pool, but it doesn't overlook the beach like rooms in the main wing do.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fw93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

A very good and well maintained property. Loved the location of the resort. Right at chaweng beach.
Its walking distance from the hustle-bustle of the town yet its peaceful and serene.

Loved staying here. The rooms are spacious but will suggest you take the pool overlooking rooms. The rooms at the back are a bit off mark on location and some work was going on when i visited. Though my friends had a pool facing room and it was amazingly nice!

One suggestion is that the reception staff should be more conversant with english considering its a 4 star and above rated property.

Very nice property overall and a satisfying experience! Will surely stay again! Kudos to the team.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kushan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Kushan,

Thank you for your kind recommendation following your stay with us, very happy to hear it was enjoyed! Thanks also for your note regarding the English level of the reception staff, something we are always trying to work on with English lessons.

Wishing you all the best and hope to see you here again one day soon,

Kind regards,

Martin Kunzmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed at Amari from 23.12.13 to 02.01.2014
Outstanding sevice by all staff, very helpfull wit any problems.
stayed on beach side, amazing view, cleaned and beds made twice a day. very clean rooms with all amenties.
Breakfast was very good, large variety for all.
Location was brilliant, walking distance to shops bars and resturants.
Entertainment for xmas and new years was fab, everything for everyone.
Pool was amazing, apparently one of the best hotels with large pools on the island. towels provided daily at pool side.

In house restaurants was lovely including the italian across the road Pregos. Best italian on the island as mentions with magazines. Lovely people.

Family friendly.

Room Tip: Book a room on beach side, so you dont need to keep walking across the road. But the crossing is man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pitulondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Pitulondon,

Many thanks for your kind review, and very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay over New Years with us! I am glad you found the rooms, restaurants and facilities of the hotel to your liking, as well as the New Years celebrations.

Wishing you all the best and hope to welcome you back on another occasion,

Warmest regards,

Martin Kunzmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for three days from January 10th to January 13th. Our visit was to celebrate our upcoming first wedding anniversary. The hotel staff graciously provided freebies such as flower decoration, cake and fruit baskets in our room on our arrival.

The hotel is beautiful. The complimentary breakfast has a lot of variety. The location of the hotel is amazing. It is right next to the Chaweng market so there's plenty of things to do even in the night (the market is open till 1AM). The private beach is also beautiful.

The hotel is actually divided into two parts with a main road dividing the two parts. We were assigned a room across the road (away from the beach) but no worries for it has its own private pool and it is a 1 minute walk to the breakfast and beach areas. You do need to cross the road but there are security guards who will make sure that you cross safely.

We booked a day tour to Angthorn Marine Park from the hotel which was amazing and full value for money. We also booked a scooter and a car on different days to go around Koh Samui.

All in all, I'd love to stay at this hotel again. It is a beautiful property, at a great location and the staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shalin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Shalin,

Thanks a lot for sharing your experience. It sounds like you really made the most of your time here in Samui! We are happy to have had the chance to make your anniversary stay even more enjoyable, and look forward to welcoming you and your wife back for future celebrations!

All the best from the island,

Martin Kunzmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland Victoria Austrlia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed from 17-20 January 2014 in the garden view room.
Arriving early we were treated like royalty and usherd to a lounge where cool towels and sweet tea was served. Then we were shown to the bar lounge overlooking the pool and ocean ( amazing views from every part of the resort) while we waited for our room to be ready and it felt like no time at all before we were shown to our room ( we came 3 hours before check in) in the garden area. People say that this is too secluded and away from everything, but it certainly is not! It's a 2 minute walk across to the main pool and there was a garden pool that was more secluded just 30 seconds away! It was so beautiful and I would stay in this room again (room no. 5129). The room was great, it was the perfect size with a private balcony looking into a Palm and frangipani filled garden. The bed was set up as King and we wanted two singles, in the blink of an eye while we were sitting on our balcony the two beds were there.
THE SERVICE HERE IS AMAZING.
I am here now using the wifi which is great also!
Ask me questions if you have any! But I'm sure the answer will be: ' it was great' because everything was so amazing!

Quick notes:
Amazing service
The air con works so well! Freezer in our room sometimes
Shower pressure best in world
Breakfast was so so so good and big
Location was the best in chaweng. Anything you want is there!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank zulujoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Zulujoe,

Thank you so much for the very kind words you have shared about your experience with us! It is really great to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. Your review will be shared with the team, who are always happy to know when their efforts are appreciated.

Thank you again and hope for the chance to welcome you back again soon,

Best wishes,

Martin Kunzmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,734 reviews
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
1.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
850 reviews
1.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Property: Amari Koh Samui
Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, Amari Hotels, Hotelopia, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing