We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel. 16th to 30th January 2014”
Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel. 16th to 30th January 2014”
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Amari and we enjoyed it very much. We were up graded when we got there the first time and our room was very good. It was cleaned perfectly every day by the staff. Reception was always very helpful if we needed to ask any questions or if we had a querie with our bill.
We stopped over the road on the quieter side with the quieter pool. Last year the pool boy was very good. He came round all the time asking if we needed a drink or any food. But this year there was another pool boy who just was not interested at all so we did not have any drinks or food by the pool. However 2 days before we left the pool boy from last year had returned and service was very good again.
We went back this year the same time as last and what a difference in the pool area!!!! It was as if all the schools were off and it was like a kinder garden. It was coming up to Chinese New Year and all the children were screaming and shouting with the parents not taking any notice at all. At one stage there were 25 young pre school children in the pool and we couldn't hear ourselves think!!!!! They were so loud it was unbelievable.
As for the hotel and service we could not fault it at all again.
Staff at breakfast were very helpful and friendly all the time. Nothing was to much trouble for them. The food was also plenty full all the time and the variety was excellent.
Also the staff in the bar area were so helpful and friendly and very quick with the service of an evening.
In the happy hour all the drinks were buy one get one free and it was very reasonable.
The hotel put on a welcome evening once a week where all the senior staff came and introduced themselves to the guests and asked if we had any problems or suggestions. This we found was a very nice touch and the free drinks and nibbles were excellent.

We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone. It was one of the best hotels in the area.
Sandra and Jim Ward

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 253789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,414
    677
    165
    62
    36
See reviews for
540
1,108
79
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I stayed there 5 nights in a family bungalow. Accommodation was ok but not great. Was expecting a nicer bathroom and one toilet for 4 people to share was not really suitable at times. Air-condition on upstairs bedroom very poor cooling power and totally placed at wrong position. Slightly above bed mattress. Don't know how anyone can design like that. Whilst Hotel was busy, Food at Breakfast buffet offered becomes quite boring if you stay a few days, Quality of Food in Hotel does not live up to expectation, being for Breakfast or Dinner, that said i like to highlight that myself have extensive experience in Food and Beverage. Service trough out hotel was in general friendly but the person in charge of restaurant hard to make out. Right seems not to know what left does. Will post a separate review of Italian restaurant. Overall did not leave up to my expectation for the price paid.

Room Tip: Family rooms are hot (Upstairs)and Air -Condition placed on position no one can expect. Might Better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Bert D,

Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that the resort didn't live up to your expectations in terms of food and room quality. I have shared your comments with the culinary team to investigate for improvement.

Regarding your comments about the room, we are aware that some of the design is not perfect and are working on this with some room redesigns being planned for next year. We hope this will address some of the issues mentioned.

My apologies for any inconvenience and hope that despite these points you still had a nice time on your holiday.

With best wishes,

Martin Kunzmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had nice time staying at Amari. Hotel ground and public areas are good and well maintained. Breakfast was good and it was plenty of food to choose from.Quick check in.We got upgrade on our room from superior beach wing to deluxe garden witch was a bit bigger and in the quiet part of the resort.How ever we think rooms need a lift up as they a bit tired.Towels could be better too.Noisy housekeeping was a bit annoying while gathering outside our room.
In overall we mark it as average because it was missing few factors to be very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanillkaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear VanillkaLondon,

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us overall, however slightly disappointed that it was only "just good". We would obviously prefer to be "great!", so will certainly take your points on-board for improvement wherever possible.

Thanks again for your comments and best wishes,

Martin Kunzmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from the Amari and can honestly say what a wonderful time we had. From check in to check out we really couldn't find fault, the staff were very friendly and always had a smile and thanks especially to the those working in the Bar@C who were so lovely.
It is no problem at all staying across the road and our rooms were immaculate and the gardens and pool area are immaculate.
We read a lot of bad stuff regarding the beach being grubby and the water not deep enough to swim in but if you go this time of year it's not a problem and the beach area surrounding the hotel was fine. Must say it was a bonus having free wifi throughout the resort and happy hour between 18:00-21:00.
Would highly recommend this hotel, thank you for a wonderful holiday.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Jim P,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience, really great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Your kind words will be passed along to the team, especially the staff in the Bar@C who are always happy to know when their efforts are appreciated.

All the best till next time!

Martin Kunzmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I have stayed at Amari many time for 1-12 nights over the past ten years, for holidays, work, with friends, family and alone.

Yesterday I visited the property and it was looking as good as it has ever looked. Tropical, spacious and lush. The beach was great and many people were swimming at the beach and in the pool.

The property is in a great location if Chaweng (Samui's main tourist hub) is where you choose to stay. No only is Amari on Chaweng beach and accessible in minutes on foot to all the nightlife and shopping and massage spots of Chaweng, it is situated such that the road isn't noisy, the odour that can sometimes waft in central Chaweng is not present, and the trip from Amari to the airport/other great areas of the island is quick by car.

Right on the beach, the resort has been well designed so that everyone has access to the beachfront, rather than blockng this space for exclusive rooms not accessible to most. Amari maximises enjoyment for all by having the main pool, restaurant, bar and lawn in this beachfront spot.

The road is not busy at this section and the resort has staff stopping any traffic for a safe guest crossing anytime you pass by. Similarity, the rooms/ pool/day spa on the other side of the road to the beach offer that peaceful setting some resorts lack. The pool is quiet and very large and very protected from any wind.

The spa is always great here, and excellent value for a resort.

Prego, the resort's Italian restaurant, is iconic on Samui for it's exceptional service, consistency and casual atmosphere. The perfect spot to enjoy a pizza to break up the delicious Thai food enjoyed on holidays.

The gym here offers good natural light and is practical. Breakfast offers a great selection and ocean views.

The deluxe rooms are spacious and have garden views.

Superior rooms are restrictive in terms of the small bathrooms but ample for holiday stays.

Relative to other hotels in the area, Amari offers exceptional value.

It is not the most goamorous spot on the island in terms of rooms, but the service is friendly, food good, location great for Chaweng and it is well under half the cost of top five star resorts.

I would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AR592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear AR592,

Many thanks for such a fantastic review. Honest and to the point, it is much appreciated especially from a guest who visits regularly, and will be shared with the team with great pleasure.

All the best and looking forward to seeing you here again at the Amari Palm Reef,

Martin Kunzmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I have just returned from 4 nights at the Amari. I have mixed feelings about this place. The grounds and communal areas are very nice and well maintained. The hotel rooms however are worthy of a 2-3* hotel at best and if you are used to any luxury of any kind then you will be disappointed here. The bedrooms look nothing like the pictures online. Having spent a few nights at Nikki Beach hotel on the west side of the island, this place seemed sub standard despite the price tag which is pretty high for Thai standards (£180 for a night - maybe this is because its Chinese new year).

The delux Thai village rooms can only be described as disgusting. They feel dirty and need to be updated badly. They have cubicles for bathrooms so have no expectation of any space for toiletries. The shower looked unsanitary. The cockroach on the floor when we were shown the room was certainly a low point. They then moved us to the upgraded version of the delux Thai village room, again at the back of the hotel on the other side of the road (its quite far from the main hotel be warned - just avoid this side altogether). Backing a quarry and a slum, the view walking towards the room is not great (we were in 5308). There is also so much shrubbery around the rooms that you can't really use the terrace without getting attacked by Mosquitos. Room was average (we were delighted after the first room we saw) - think Premier Inn or Holiday Inn Express. That's really the closest comparative, although if one of those was close by I would have checked into it already. They didn't have beach side rooms available so we tried but failed to change rooms.

Try one of the sea view rooms if you just must stay here. They won't be surrounded by shrubbery so at least the insect problem won't be as big. No idea what the rooms are like but they can't be worse than what I've seen already. If you normally stay in a Hilton/Meridian etc style hotel then don't stay here as it will be below par and you will be bitterly disappointed.

Breakfast had a large selection and was good but staff were shockingly rude and would openly mock you in their native tongue if you asked for another cup of coffee. The Italian restaurant Prego was lovely.

Chaweng beach is rather awful. It's worth staying elsewhere and commuting in for the nightlife. At least Amari made an effort to clean the beachfront each morning as it is dirty (plastic bags/cups etc) and there is so much seaweed on this beach. The rest of the island has stunning beaches but its very quiet.

The hotel will get you a private car to tour the island for 2000bht for 4 hours. This is enough to see almost everything the main tours show you but in the comfort if your own car. Definitely worth it.

Massage at Herbs next to the hotel was the best in the area - 200bht an hour. Amazing. Forget the hotel spa which is at least 7-8 times the price of local places.

The hotel needs to understand that dedicating so much effort to the grounds whilst the rooms look and feel aged and awful is not the best use of resources. Would never return to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tarazilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear TaraZilla,

Thank you for posting your review of your recent stay with us, and I am sorry to read that your experience did not match your expectations. Yes, I do agree that some of our rooms are not the newest anymore, especially compared with the 2 year old and 5 star Nikki Beach, but despite the age they are generally kept clean and in good order. I sincerely apologise that you did not find this to be the case, and have already brought this up with our Housekeeping team for their improvement.

We are planning for a rooms renovation at the moment and in the meantime do try our best to keep all areas of the hotel looking as nice as possible.

I hope that despite the inconveniences experienced both with us and at Nikki Beach, that you and your friend were still able to enjoy your Koh Samui holiday.

Sincerely,

Martin Kunzmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The staff here are polite, friendly, really welcoming and go out of their way to provide excellent customer service. The hotel itself is beautiful, the grounds and pool area's are kept spotless. location of the hotel for us was perfect, leads right on to Chaweng beach and is a short 2 minute walk to the main bars and restaurants. Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xJd2011x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear xJd2011x,

Many thanks indeed for your great review, it is lovely to hear that all aspects of the hotel especially the service were much enjoyed, and we certainly hope to welcome you back again one day soon.

All the best from Koh Samui!

Martin Kunzmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,739 reviews
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
1.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
850 reviews
1.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Property: Amari Koh Samui
Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, Travelbag, Amari Hotels, Ebookers, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing