We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful to visit”
Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton,England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful to visit”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Enjoyed a wonderfully chilled out week here. Every member of staff was so pleasant,helpful and trying to make our stay memorable. They succeeded ! Everything here is on your doorstep. Great food choice and the quality was excellent. 2 wonderfully different pools and the beach just a hop away.
Just a short walk from the many bars,restaurants and shops .
Would highly reccomend this hotel

Room Tip: We had a garden view room and this was more than adequate. Sea view would be nice but not many are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Hello JonDTaunton_En,

Thank you for such a wonderful review...thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

I am delighted to read that " Every member of staff was pleasant, helpful and trying to make your stay memorable - they succeeded. We do always aim to impress and of course it's always wonderful to know when we get things right.

I am also thrilled to see you were impressed by our food and I will pass on your feedback to our chef and his team.

JonDTaunton-En, thanks again for sharing your thoughts here and I hope that we will once again welcome you both back next time. Dont leave it too long!

All the best and warm wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,462
    704
    173
    66
    38
See reviews for
585
1,136
84
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I (South African) honeymooned in Samui in October last year, and were treated to 5 star service and accommodation at Amari Palm Reef for every one of the 8 nights spent there.

Arrival:
On arrival at the hotel, we were greeted with smiles, refreshing drinks and cooled towelettes before being escorted to our rooms. Although we were not beach facing and were, in fact, across the road, this was a positive as it was peaceful, quiet and private.

The Facilities:
The room was spacious and comfortable, with lovely black out curtains, a television (which we did not really use), a mini bar and fridge, and a large bathroom. Everything was clean and fresh.

There was a fully equipped gym on the premises, with clean towels and complimentary cold filtered water. There were also two swimming pools, one at our complex and one across the road by the restaurant, reception and a few steps from the ocean's edge. We spent much of our time lounging at this pool, enjoying the gorgeous view of the beach.

The hotel boasts a private strip of beach with loungers and a few shady palm trees to escape the midday heat. Towels are available at the pool. Right next door is a vendor from whom we rented kayaks to explore the peaceful waters. Snorkels are also available to hire here.

At the hotel's reception, advisers are available to rent scooters, sell tours (Ang Thong National Marine Park Tour is recommended!), advise on local eateries and even assist with cash withdrawals, if needed.

We also made use of the Spa, indulging in a couple's massage and scrub package. The prices were comparable with most Spa's

The Food:
The food at both the breakfast buffet and the restaurants (there are two!) are fantastic! Thai cuisine leads the way, however European food is also available for the less adventurous. The breakfast buffet was large and comprehensive, offering everything from an English breakfast, pastries, cereals and local fruits and juices (try the dragonfruit!), to Asian noodles, dumplings and sweet meats. Dinner offered many choices and my husband and I often ended up ordering a few dishes and then sharing them, to ensure we tasted as much as possible.

The Staff:
Everyone was incredibly friendly and professional, always wearing smiles and happy to assist with anything. The wait staff were particularly good, imparting jokes and entertaining with anecdotes to get us laughing, yet also giving us privacy to enjoy the romantic moments that make up a honeymoon.

Special touches:
Amari Palm Reef went out of its way to make us feel special and to create a romantic vibe. On the first day after we arrived, we returned from the beach to find a platter of traditional fruits and sweet meats on our table, with a beautiful heart shaped, chocolate robed red velvet cake embellished with the words "Happy Honeymoon".
Every day, a small spray of local flowers was left on each of our pillows, and fresh drinking water was supplied.


Weather and the Island in general:

We were lucky enough to enjoy wonderful weather during our stay, in spite of it being in the "wet season", experiencing a few brief showers, but mostly warm, sunny days. The island was lively and vibrant, with many attractions and a large variety of restaurants. The waters were warm and clean.

Thank you, Amari Palm Reef, for a truly amazing honeymoon - it was all we dreamed of!

Things to try on Samui:
Ang Thong National Marine Park Tour
Any Market
Wat Phra Yai
Bo Phut
Dragon fruit
Coconut ice cream
Leo Beer
Breeze Spa
Seaside Massages
Seaside dining (dinner right on the beach)
Tom Yum Goong
Sticky rice and mango


Things to avoid:
Be advised that there are several scam artists that will not hesitate to harass you as you walk through Chaweng (and pretty much any commercial area), who try to entice you into buying into time share type packages by giving you "winning" scratch cards and the like (prizes to be conveniently collected from a resort office) - if approached, simply say "no thank you" and carry on walking, they often leave you be.

Room Tip: Although the rooms across the road (not by the beach) do not have a sea view, they are quieter and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamsyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Hello Tamsyn G,

First of all, thank you for submitting your " Amazing" review of your recent experience with us and I know the team appreciated the feedback.

I am so delighted to know when we manage to create such an incredible impression. I can honestly say we have a team which endeavours to connect on a personal level with so many of our guests and to create an unforgettable experience

I am also happy to hear you had a wonderful smooth reception process, I aways believe first impression is the most important.I am thrilled to read you loved everything from the room, to the facitlies and onto our food quality as this is an area we are always looking to improve.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide such great feedback. I hope it wont be too long before we see you return to Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui.

Warm wishes,
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This property has 2 sections - one adjoins the beach and the other is across the road; and there are swimming pools in each section. I would suggest staying in the section closer to the beach (even though the higher end rooms are in the other section) on account of the proximity to the beach and the pool adjoining the beach, which are easily the 2 best features of the property. However, the property is not large.

The shopping area of the Chaweng beach is next to the property, followed by the party area. So at night, the surroundings become quiet fairly early. On the beach side, one can walk alongside the sea passing other private beaches, shacks serving food and beverages, and sea-facing massage joints.

The sea immediately in front of the hotel is quite shallow and one may swim around or hire a kayak to go around.

There's a dive centre attached to the hotel and a guest relations desk to help with general sightseeing options.

The rooms are comfortable, but not exceptional, standard 5 star fare, in fact a little small going by the usual rooms sizes in beach resorts.

The food was pretty decent, as were the drinks. However, given the numerous small local restaurants and shacks around, one may be better served eating outside.

The staff were generally quite pleasant and cooperative, though some of them did pose language challenges - struggling at English, particularly those around the buffet at breakfast tie.
However, they need to get their technology updated soon - the room keys frequently stopped working despite not being wet or near mobiles. Further, we were checked out 2 days early in the system at one point of time.

It was slightly more costly than one would expect, given the overall features and infrastructure, but only slightly.

Room Tip: Choose those on the beach section of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanmayamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Tanmayamar,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent experience at Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui.

As for the issues you highlighted, we will commence English language traning to our team and are in the process of updating the hotel technology.

Allow me to thank you again for your comments and I certianly hope that we can welcome you back in the future...

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Warm wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
458 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We always spend time in the Amari hotels during our Thai breaks, the management and staff always do that little extra to make your holiday a better experience. Thanks to Martin and his team at the Palm Reef, especially the breakfast crew, who are always smiling and making the first meal of the day a very enjoyable one. The hotel is very popular and this showed when one looked down the beach as it was the only hotel with a high occupancy throughout our stay. Great food, friendly staff and excellent facilities another enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: If you like a quiet room with minimal noise head for the north side of the garden which is located b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Terry252,

Thank you for such a " Top" review...thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

It always wonderful to welcome guests such as yourselves who really connect with the property and enjoy everything including the food, friendly staff, excellent facilities and all round atmosphere. I will pass on your feedback to Martin and the team.

Thank you again for sharing such positive feedback and we certainly hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Until then, warm wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We just got back from spending 6 nights at the Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui. Stayed in a Garden Deluxe room in the back wing which was great. No disturbance from outside noises. Older resort but well maintained and great swimming pools. We were traveling with another couple who enjoyed it too. Perfect position to access everything needed. Staff were very friendly and made us feel at home. Food was fantastic and we enjoyed the buffet dinners at night time. Can't wait to return and stay here again. Highly recommend to our friends and family. One thing I loved was the little black and white dog that sleeps on the beach in front of resort every night, very friendly. I would feed him, we named him old mate.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jazzie194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Hello Jazzie194,

First of all, thank you for your " Fantastic" review of your recent stay with us, I am delighted to know that you will return and " Highly Recommend" the property to your friends and family.

I am also thrilled to read that you enjoyed everything from the room to the location and our food quality. I am particularly thankful for highlighting our staff friendliness and welcoming manner. I can honestly say we have a team which endeavours to connect on a personal level with so many of our guests and to create an unforgettable experience

Thank you again for sharing such positive feedback and we certainly hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I visited this hotel for 2 weeks with my family (wife+2 kids) in march 2014.
We stayed in the thai village room which was quite adequate for the 2 kids with a foldout sofa.
The thai village rooms, as well as the garden view rooms, are located not on the beach, but across a (busy) street.
This was not a big problem however, as the crossing is maintained by 2 guards 24 hours a day to help you safely cross the street.
The plus side is that the rooms are noticably larger than the ones you get on the beach side.
Breakfast was excellent, pool was large and very nice and the beach was magnificent, as thailand beaches are.
The hotel is situated a few minutes from the busy section of the main street and ideal for those who seek a little peace and quiet but still never be far from the action.
One note I would like to make is about hotel accessibility.
Our youngest was still in a stroller and we had some problems getting to certain places in the hotel as there are almost no ramps or elevators available.
Breakfast is situated on the 2nd floor with some small steps and no elevator so we had to leave the stroller downstairs.
The reception is on top of a small platform with no ramps.
Even to get to the pool you have to pass through reception or else go through a path around the beach view rooms that has ramps.
But all in all, this was an excellent stay and I would recommend this hotel for everyone.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guyerlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear guyerlich,

First of all, thank you for your postive review of your recent stay with us, I am delighted to read you had an excellent stay and will recommend the property for everyone.

I am also thrilled to see you enjoyed everything from the room to our breakfast and hotels location. I believe our location is the best of both worlds.....private enough for those wishing for an escape and a short walk to a variety of bars, restaurants and shopping.

We are in process of installing additional ramps at various areas of the property to improve our guests accessibiilty and mobilty.

guyerlich,,Thanks again for sharing such wonderful comments and I do hope that we have the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

we stayed at the Amari for two weeks 19feb 2014 , a great position on the beach away from the hustle bustle of chaweng,We enjoyed the (happy hour) 6-9 and all night Thursday ,good value for £, we have been to Thailand many times over the years this was one of the most enjoyable, thank you Amari and tom troy best@travel dj

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear David,

Thanks very much for your kind review, glad your enjoyed your stay. Thanks also to Best at Travel for recommending us.

Best wishes from Samui,

Martin Kunzmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,809 reviews
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,435 reviews
1.7 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
723 reviews
1.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Property: Amari Koh Samui
Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Agoda, Expedia, Amari Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing