We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, "careful" some rooms are 3 star level”
Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

The resort has good location near the busy area of Chaweng with many restaurants and all sort of shops. From the airport takes about 15min costs 130bht shared mini van or 500bht for taxi.  The Resort has two parts separated by a busy road. The first part has the reception, the main swimming pool, the beach,       breakfast and the sea view rooms 
The second part is not on the beach. Most of the hotel rooms are on the second part. Some
of the rooms are 4.5 star level but some of them are 3 or 3.5 star levels. I have been given one of those rooms first. I requested to move to a better room because I payed high price for a 5 star resort. There are two pools both are lovely  The breakfast is very good and has a wide range of food. Again it cannot be compared to 5 star breakfast. The beach is good for swimming though it has some sea weeds and shallow but it is ok. Check-in was delayed due to room change which should not be.  They should assigned 5 star room from the beginning - why making the guest request to change. Motorcycle renting from the hotel costs 300bht, just outside the hotel it cost 200bht. All staff where super friendly and helpful, specially Nataya who was welcoming and smiling with all guests. The rooms has free WiFi. Check out was fast. Many restaurants, shops, massage shops ...  etc.  on the main road near the hotel in Chaweng. On the beach there are also nice restaurants and massage. The hotel is in a good location. 

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PANAM-Air
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Helal1,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent experiences at Amari Palm Reef, Koh Samui.

I am thrilled to read our team here were able to provide you with a postive experience and delighted hear your postive feedback regarding Nataya, she works tirelessey to ensure our guests experience the best we have to offer, I will pass on your comments to her.

I am also happy to see you enjoyed our location, our breakfast ( we are always looking to improve the presentation, quality and selection) and check out was fast.

I would like to apologize for the delayed check-in and room change, we have taken your feedback comments very seriously and as such addressing this issue with the concerned department to ensure it does not reoccur. We recognize are rooms are in need of work as a result, we have planned next year a hotel refurbishment to upgrade all our rooms to a 4.5 star level.

I do thank you for your comments however and I do hope that next time we welcome you back we can push you rating to a five star.


Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

836 - 842 of 2,527 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Good:
-Great location
-Awesome pools especially for families
-Family suites excellent and wonderful beds
-Cleaning services great and grounds well maintained

Bad:
-Extremely poor and rude food service staff
-Drinks watered down
-REALLY, REALLY BAD Wi-Fi

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank CanadianFamily12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Canadianfamily1,

First of all thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your experience with us. Of course I am dissapointed to learn that your overall experience was anything less than perfect. Please accept our apologies for the issues you highlighted.

We at Amari Koh Samui take these issues very seriously, as such will take action and investigate these issues you highlighted. I would appreciate if you are able to reach out to me directly and elaborate further on these issues.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed our location ( we recieve many postive comments on our location), pool and cleaning services.

Again, thank you for sharing your comments and I admit that I am confident that we could definitely impress in the future should you decide to guve us the chance.

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
shane.langdon@amari.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Travelled to koh samui wid friends last year for the full moon party .. selected this hotel . I enjoyed samui very much, enjoyed the room and the staff at the hotel was also good . Good location . breakfast was also good .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puns10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear puns10,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent experience at Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our rooms, location and breakfast. I am particulary thankful for highlighting our staff .

Overall however. I am delighted to know that you left us happy and we certainly hope to welcome you back again soon...and rest assured we will be aiming for five stars next time!

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Our accommodation was across a busy road from the hotel reception and beach area and was surrounded by beautifully kept gardens. The room was very clean and comfortable with clean towels provided every day. The hotel staff were helpful and eager to please. The hotel's location is great as it is close to bars, restaurants and shops. There was plenty choice at breakfast and we found the prices charged for drinks and food were very reasonable.

Room Tip: Rooms across the road from the hotel are surrounded by beautifully kept gardens and there is a lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Hello Katie 1956,

Thank you for your review of Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui we appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with the Tripadvisor community.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed everything from our location, to the room and onto our daily buffet breakfast where are always trying to improve.

I am also thrilled to hear our staff were able to provide with you a postive experience ensuring that you were happy and satisfied.

Katie 1956, thanks again for sharing your thoughts here and I hope that we will once again welcome you back next time. Dont leave it too long!

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

we have travelled around the world and stayed in many four and five star hotels, but by far the best is the amari palm reef resort in Koh Samui. All the staff are attentive kind and caring, from the gardener to the management team.We cannot thank you enough for you kindness and care, what a great holiday.

Room Tip: go for a junior suit, the views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Michael p,

First of all, thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us, I am delighted to know that you left with such an amazing impression and had a "great holiday"

I am so delighted to know when we manage to create such an incredible impression. .I can honestly say we have a team which endeavours to connect on a personal level with so many of our guests and to create an unforgettable experience

Thank you again for sharing such positive feedback and we certainly hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed this one. Its not 5 star, but it makes up for the stars with excellent service, as is expected by Amari, and a location that is simply stunning. 3 Nights here to get the vibe of Chaeweng , and then to move on to the quieter Bophut. Amari is quite, but is close to great restaurants to cater for all tastes. Just one issue with the bathrooms....... Whilst it just passes..... I believe that Amari can do better with an upgrade on the fittings which seem dated. All in all, this is great value for money with a great beach ( a bit shallow for my liking), close to the main strip to enjoy and return to the Oasis that is Amari.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AshishPMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Hello AshishPMB,

Thank you for taking the time to share your "WOW" review of your recent experience with us.

I am delighted our staff made such an impression with their ' Excellent Service", as its an area we are continuing to focus on, and as such I will pass on your comments to the team. I am also thrilled to read you thought our location was " "Simply Stunning"

As for the issue you highlighted, we have identified this issue, and as a result currently planning to upgrade our rooms and facilities over the next year

Thank you again for such a positive review and of course I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

In the meantime, please accept warm wishes from us all.
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Enjoyed a wonderfully chilled out week here. Every member of staff was so pleasant,helpful and trying to make our stay memorable. They succeeded ! Everything here is on your doorstep. Great food choice and the quality was excellent. 2 wonderfully different pools and the beach just a hop away.
Just a short walk from the many bars,restaurants and shops .
Would highly reccomend this hotel

Room Tip: We had a garden view room and this was more than adequate. Sea view would be nice but not many are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Hello JonDTaunton_En,

Thank you for such a wonderful review...thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

I am delighted to read that " Every member of staff was pleasant, helpful and trying to make your stay memorable - they succeeded. We do always aim to impress and of course it's always wonderful to know when we get things right.

I am also thrilled to see you were impressed by our food and I will pass on your feedback to our chef and his team.

JonDTaunton-En, thanks again for sharing your thoughts here and I hope that we will once again welcome you both back next time. Dont leave it too long!

All the best and warm wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,897 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,486 reviews
1.7 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
764 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muang Samui Spa Resort
Muang Samui Spa Resort
#3 of 104 in Chaweng
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £91 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Agoda, Hotelopia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing