We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good hotel but bad beach”
Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really good hotel but bad beach”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We have booked this hotel as part of our honeymoon across Thailand. The check-in was easy and fast, the staff was always very nice and helpful. I have indicated over the phone after the reservation that we are on our honeymoon so our room prepared accordingly with heart shaped flowers spread on the bed, tasty heart shaped chocolate cake and plate of fruits, really nice way to start your vacation in Samui!
The breakfast is just amazing, there is everything that you can think of.
The pool is clean and close to the ocean (there is another pool on the other side of the road).
So the hotel is perfect as long as you ignore the beach... But, for us one of the main reasons for choosing this hotel was the fact that it has its own beach. We were expecting to see clear water but the water was brown most of the time. We ended up renting a scooter and going to another beach (Lamai) on a daily basis.
If the beach is less important for you then this hotel is a great choice, but for us, the beach was really important so I am giving to this hotel 3 out of 5 (5 to the hotel and 1 to the beach).

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PashaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Hello PashaR,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience at Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui.

I am thrilled to know you rated the hotel 5 out 5, and delighted to read you enjoyed everything from the amazing breakfast, easy/ fast check in and onto our helpful and very nice staff.

Thanks again for sharing such wonderful comments and I do hope that we have the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,465
    704
    173
    66
    38
See reviews for
587
1,136
84
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Excellent hotel, with wonderful staff. Great breakfast in the a.m. Wonderful beach out front. 2 great pools ,on both sides of the street. You must be careful choosing rooms. There are some in the back, right up next to trashy area, and it's a much longer walk. Great SCUBA shop on site, which will get you to the dive spots faster.

Room Tip: do not get the rooms way in the back, especially up the stairs, where you will look over at garbage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Joe T,

Thanks for sharing your impressions of Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui following your recent stay with us.

Am delighted to read you loved everything from our daily breakfast, to the pools and on to the breach front. With regards to the garbage/ trashy issue you mentioned; yes we certainly have had issues in the past and luckily managed to get on top of those issues. However, we are working VERY hard to eradicate this issue in the future permanently

And as always, thank you for your compliments regarding our team here. We are blessed with a wonderful team who do their best to impress whenever possible...

Again, thank you and I hope you will indeed return one day soon.

Warm wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Being out first time to South East Asia we didn't know really what to expect when visiting Koh Samui, but were very happy we choose Amari. Upon arrival checkin was smooth and very welcoming. The staff were extremely friendly and ensured we had everything we needed. We were there as part of a larger group for a wedding for a week so we stayed across the street rather than beach side. It was a lil quieter over there which was nice. Although we'd often swim in the beach side pool as well. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was large and spacious with a typical shower plus toilet room. Room was promptly cleaned daily and no issues with insects etc which can sometimes be expected in a tropical location. Overall, would highly recommend. Is pricier than some options in Koh Samui, but you get what you pay for. Would stay again!

Room Tip: Not sure which room we had - I guess it would be considered a "deluxe" room according to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpmullowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Hello jpmullowney,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here. Of course I am always happy to hear when we deliver service that makes people smile and remember us in a positive way.

I am delighted to see you loved the spacious room and our housekeeping team ensured the room was promptly cleaned and there were no issues with insects. We are continually focused on ensuring room cleanliness and are free of insects, therefore I am thrilled to hear this feedback.

Of course we would be thrilled to welcome you back in the future and of course we will do our best to raise our standards even higher for you next time. We will consider it our very own challenge to earn and receive a five star rating next time for sure!

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed for 6 nights at the Amari, Samui. A good couple of days too short! What a most terrific holiday!! As we were celebrating our 25th anniversary and 50th birthdays, I did request the hotel upon booking, to please make it a memorable experience. As we checked in, Nittaya the cutest girl ever, stole our hearts. We were given a bar voucher as our room was not yet ready. She fetched us and took us to our room and there was a heart shaped cake with "happy anniversary", the bed was decorated with flowers and hearts and "happy 25th wedding anniversary" spelt out on it. We were upgraded, but after 3 nights, a good nights sleep meant more to us than luxury. Bungalow too close to the road. From reading previous reviews, we were under the impression the other rooms were really far back, but not so...We asked to be moved further back and were just as delighted at the new accommodation. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. We overlooked the pool and a lovely garden and a 2min walk to the main part of the hotel.Breakfast was 5*. We thoroughly enjoyed 2 beach buffet dinners with the inhouse band playing good music. Just to the left of the hotel on the beach is a restaurant "Your Place", lovely for sundowners. Overall a most romantic holiday and memories we shall treasure forever. Can't thank the staff enough for contributing to this....you are really special. Highly recommendable for couples and families.

Room Tip: The bungalows overlooking the back pool are really recommendable. We were in room 3229 between the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AO4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear A04,

Many thanks for your detailed review of your recent stay at Amari Palm Reef, Koh Samui we appreciate you sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

It was honestly a pleasure to have you stay with us and I am delighted that you rank us so highly and "highly recommend to families and couples".

I am particularly thankful for highlighting Nittaya,, It doesn't surprise me that she made such an impression. She is a key member of the team ensuring that we constantly aim to impress at every opportunity.

I am delighted to hear that you found and enjoyed our buffet them dinner every week. Rest assured however we are always continuing to make it bigger and better.

I sincerely thank you for all your comments and do hope that this will not be the last time we have the chance to welcome you back. Rest assured we are here, ready and waiting!

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iran
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stay 4 nights at March in this hotel, room is clean & staffs are helpful. Breakfast was good like 5 star.

All in all everything about the hotel is fine but be careful DELUXE GARDEN VIEW rooms are at order side of the beach road at 3 story building. so for reach to the lobby or breakfast even access to beach you should take 5m walk.
My suggestion is Thai villa type rooms which is near and close to pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank omidi_farhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear omidi_farhead,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent experiences at Amari Palm Reef, Koh Samui.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed everything from our "Good Location", clean rooms and daily breakfast.

I do thank you for your comments however and I do hope that next time we welcome you back we can push your rating to a five!

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful 15 days at the Amari Palm in Koh Samui. The hotel was great and the staff are fantastic. The management of the hotel are very visible and it shows!
The beach here is lovely and we had no trouble getting a sun bed - although we are up early most days and the breakfast was fantastic every day - consistent high qquality and a good choice.

We also ate at the hotel on a number of evenings enjoying the Thai buffet and the Beach Fish BBQ particulalrly, many very romantic evenings sitting on the edge of the water and listening to the really good house band who played a huge number of songs during our stay - each one really lovely.

The Breezes spa was very good value too and I had several treatments while there.

I would thourougly reccommend this hotel although I wasnt particulaly taken with Chaweng. We travelled a bit including the elephant trek which was marvellous and snorlkelling on nearby islands (although one and a half hours of boat travel each way for a couple of hours snorkelling). My husband went to Top Cats Fishery and had a fantastic day catching large cat fish - run by an english man and aided by a fantastic Thai guide.

We were on the side of the hotel accross the road but this was vey quiet and not far, and two very nice men saw you safely accross whatever hour of the day or evening it was.

We ate at a number of local restaurants - the best one being the Tree Tops - each table set in a tree house and although pricey it was a lovely evening with the best food and service we have had for a long time. Cant really say much more other than thank you to all who work there - you work incredibly hard to make sure we all have a good time and I am sorry that not all guests seem to have enough manners to recognise that!

Room Tip: Go for the best room you can afford on the pools is good and there is no late noise so you wont be d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisandDave_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hello ChrisandDave_11,

Thank you for such a " Wonderful" review...thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

It always a pleasure to welcome guests such as yourselves who really connect with the property and enjoy everything including our theme nights on the beach, to the breakfast to the Breezes Spa and all round atmosphere.

I am excited to read the " staff are fantastic", appreciated the team, enjoyed our resident band and their song choices.

I am delighted to hear that you will recommend our property to others visiting Koh Samui I look forward to welcoming you back to Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui in the near future

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We spent 5 days in this nice resort, and we were very sorry for leaving Samui. We had 3 rooms ó, the changes were verbs smooth and quick, the staff is incredibly helpful and polite. Beds are very comfy and soft, the room is clean and tidy, bathroom huge and nice, enough storage for your belongings.
There are two pools, one next to the beach, another at the other side of the road. The temperature of the second one is very high, I think because there is absolutely no wind and shadow. Next to the beach the water is good, there is a nice breeze so there is much more people, but you can always find free sunbeds.
The breakfast is simply amazing! Very wide selection, tasty foods, everything you cam imagine, even whole wheat croissant, which was my favourite.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear LKitty,

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing such a " Superb" review of your recent stay at Amari Palm Reef, Koh Samui. with the Tripadvisor Community.

I am very delight to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and our Amari team "were incredibly helpful and polite". Your feedback will be a reward and motivation to the team to ensure we maintain the best quality guest experience. I will definitely forward your comments on to our team.

I am also thrilled to read that you enjoyed everything from the well equipped room to our swimming pools. I am particularly thankful for highlighting our breakfast selection and quality its an area we are continuing to improve.

Thank you again for sharing such positive feedback and we certainly hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,810 reviews
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,438 reviews
1.7 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
724 reviews
1.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Property: Amari Koh Samui
Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amari Hotels, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelbag, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing