We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic. Holiday”
Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just arrived back from the amari palm reef koh samui
We stayed 2 weeks it's our 2 stay at this hotel and 5 th in Thailand
We love staying here all the staff managers waiting staff cleaners where fab
We where very lucky to be invited to the managers cocktail party we had a fab time
We spoke with Shane one of the managers he's a very nice man he made us feel very welcome and for that I send a big thank you to him
all the staff are always happy to talk and share a story with any one
the food and drinks where very tasty
We hope to return very soon Maybe not next year as we here the hotel may be closed for refurb
But we will be returning again
Sent from
From mr and mrs taylor room 2207

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovemetender08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Hello Lovemetender08,

Thank you for taking the time to share your "fantastic" review of your recent experience with us. I am delighted to see that we made such an incredible impression.

Thank you! It was honestly a huge pleasure to meet you and I am delighted that you managed to connect with so many members of our team. It makes such a difference when we manage to do this as I am a big believer that the best experiences come from the people, despite how magnificent a building or resort may be. So I am so happy to hear that you left with such great feelings about your experience with us.

Thanks for sharing such positive comments for everyone to read and we also look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

837 - 843 of 2,572 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

This was the ideal hotel for us as we prefer a relaxing environment without being cut off. This hotel is located on the edge of the main strip - so if you want to relax by the pool, on your balcony or by the sea you can leave or the hustle and bustle behind. But if you want to get in on the action - shopping, bars... lady boy shows - its all just a short walk down the road.
When you arrive for check in (or indeed at the bar/restaurants) you're presented with a nice cool towel to cool off and relax - nice touch!
The hotel is split by the main road - which was a worry at first. However, in practice it wasn't a problem at all. They have a great crossing control who are bravely step out into the traffic and allow you to cross safely (even if you have little ones, saw plenty of families cross safely and easily). There is one pool on the beach side of the hotel and one on the other side of the road - so you don't have to trek to far. The one on the beach side of the property is (unsurprisingly) a bit more lively and busy. There are no organised activities within the pool if you're into that though (we find that thing annoying so it suited us well to be left alone to swim/relax without any disruptions). The beach is lovely - never struggled to find a lounger (no towels at dawn to mark your territory here!). However if you were looking for a cooling swim in the ocean you won't get it here. The sea on this part of the coast is extremely shallow and therefore heats up so its very warm. The beach is not private so you will get sellers come along but we didn't find them a nuisance. If you said no they left you alone. Handy to pick up cheap souvenirs for people back home or grab a drink. Particularly liked the ice cream guy. You can also get a massage down by the beach - very nice!
The bar was pretty good - nice selection of cocktails and not too overpriced (though you could find cheaper elsewhere in the centre obviously). There was a good drinks/snack service around the pool too.
The grounds are all very well kept and the rooms were immaculate (we did upgrade to a larger room - which is worth it as we did see one of the standard rooms and they were tiny - especially the bathrooms as you could have showered and brushed your teeth at the same time). The rooms were fumigated each evening to reduce mosquitos and so on. There are snakes around the gardens so be aware!
Breakfast was pretty amazing - anything from your average cereal to sushi. There were curries, pancakes, all sorts. The breakfast was pretty special. Unfortunately, the food the rest of the time was a bit of a let down - probably the only low point in the hotel. We ate in the main restaurant - which was OK - and also the Italian - which wasn't value for money at all! You could get better at other hotels along the beach.
Overall it was a great experience staying here. Very chilled out. The only weak point we found was the food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tumble_Dumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Hello Tumbling_Dumpling,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us here on Koh Samui. I am thrilled to see overall you had a great experience.

I am also delighted to read you enjoyed everything from the check-in, to our location and onto our drinks/snack service around the pool. I am particular thank you for highlighting our breakfast buffet, we are proud of our product and we continue to receive rave reviews and feedback.

Of course, I am sorry that we appear to have missed the mark for you when it comes to our cuisine in the hotel. I will certainly discuss this with our kitchen team. I would like to take this opportunity to ask you to reach out to me directly to elaborate on this issue, as its only with this feedback we can truly improve our product.

We would be thrilled to welcome you back in the future and of course we will do our best to raise our standards even higher for you next time. We will consider it our very own challenge to earn and receive a five star rating next time for sure!

I hope to hear from you and until then, thanks again!

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager
shane.langdon@amari.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at the Amari Palm Reef in February 2009 and, after extensively researching all options available on Chaweng beach, decided to go back to Amari for the following reasons (other options considered for comparison were Anantara Lawana, Sareeraya and Centara Grand):

1) Best price option in the category of hotels;
2) Close to night life (though it's still a 25 minutes walk from Ark Bar through a mostly unlit beach at night - I enjoyed the stroll, my husband, not so much!) yet far enough to offer privacy;
3) at the edge of the market so you can get to restaurants quickly while not being smack center of the market;
4) beach was uncrowded - we remembered the beach to be absolutely gorgeous on our previous visit so were looking forward to this; however, read on further for a review of the beach as we found it;
5) good previous experience (we remembered an amazing breakfast and services)
6) consistent good reviews from recent travelers on tripadvisor.

Now to our experience:
Check-in and room review: We arrived fairly early in the morning and had to wait for about 1.5 hours before being given a room - didn't mind this much as we just grabbed an empty day bed and had a bit of a lie-in. When we were shown to our room on the other side of the road (we stayed that side on our previous visit as well), we discovered it was quite far back and had a split bathroom (commode in one section and the wash basin and walk in shower in another) which was very inconvenient so we requested a room with a combined bathroom. They agreed to move us the next day (earliest availability for a room near the front with a combined bathroom) which we didn’t mind. One thing I felt this time was that the toiletries provided were very basic and no conditioner was provided, nor was any available at the reception (I guess I’ve gotten used to hotels providing good toiletries but was able to easily buy body wash and conditioner from the local seven eleven down the road). The air-conditioning was also quite feeble in both the rooms we stayed in (it was VERY hot) and despite our request to get it checked, it remained that way throughout our trip. It wasn’t a deal breaker but it meant that we never really had a cold room and it became somewhat stuffy in the middle of the night. Overall, we felt that although the staff was not unfriendly but the level of service has definitely gone down and were somewhat indifferent.

Breakfast: was simply fabulous, just like we remembered from our last trip. Very wide variety of dishes which would satisfy the fussiest of eaters and they even had a cute kids section (my husband took chocolate donuts and watermelon lollipops from there every day!). Coffee is average though.

Pool: We spent a lot of time in the pool and there were plenty of empty loungers and extra towels at all times and toys for kids; however, because there is no shade on either pool, the water became VERY warm well before noon so there was no “refreshing” dip in the pool to cool yourself down in the hot day but it was nice nonetheless.

Beach: this was the biggest disappointment for us as we had remembered a beautiful clear beach where we had swam all day on our previous trip. Maybe it was the time of the year when we were traveling but the entire day, the tide was too low to swim in and the water is rather brown (again could be due to the low tide) and there was a lot of sea weed. The only time we actually saw tide high enough to swim in was when we would return after midnight and the hotel switches off the outside lights (other than on weekends) so there isn’t much light to have a midnight swim either. The water temperature was also very warm and we were disappointed that we never really got to swim in the ocean at our hotel. We actually managed to catch a good swim and some snorkeling by going to crystal bay where the water is cool and clear, though amenities on the beach are basic and you must bring your own snorkeling gear.

Spa: We got a great buy one get one free deal for a three hour scrub, wrap and massage package which was a great way to end our trip. The Spa is not very fancy but the service was great and a bargain with the package.

Overall, we had a good experience but not a great one, though I’m not sure how much that also had to do with the time of the year we were traveling. The resort is especially popular with people traveling with children and is good value but does not have the same wow factor that we have come to expect from first class resorts around the world.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room near the front with a combined bathroom as the split bathroom rooms tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lalarukh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Hello Lalarukh,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay last year. Of course I am always happy to hear about returning guests to the hotel.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed and were impressed by our breakfast along with the spa service and packages. I do note your comments in regards to the toiletries, Yes you are correct we don't offer a stand alone conditioner, therefore like to take this opportunity to clarify that our shampoo and conditioner is a two in one bottle.

Of course, I am sorry that we appear to have missed the mark for you when it came to our service delivery and will certainly discuss this with our team.Again, please accept my apologies for any issue that you encountered there.

I do hope though that this experience did not create an everlasting negative impression of the property and I certainly do hope that I have the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here recently for 5 nights.

We arrived very early due to our flight and were told we could utilise the breakfast buffet and walk around the hotel whilst our room was being prepared. Staff were really helpful and friendly.

The location of the hotel is perfect. The main busy area is a 5-10 minute walk away and you do not need a taxi at all.

The breakfast buffet was really good and open til 10.30am every day. The hotel restaurant at the beach had various offers daily and there was a good variety of food to choose from.

The only bad part was that there was only fans and no a/c in the hotel apart from our room, and not much lighting in the dark when you walked to your room at night. I hate all creepy crawlies so this didn't help!

The Prego restaurant is a must; the most genuine Italian restaurant there!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pooni21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hello Pooni21,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent experience at Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui.

I am delighted that you recognized our breakfast buffet, its an area where we receive numerous positive comments and feedback, however rest assure we will continue to find ways to impress. I am particular thankful for highlighting the team friendliness and were able to help you during your stay.

As for the issue you highlighted, yes we recognize and identified that there is a lack of a/c in the hotel, rest assured we are taking action to ensure this rectified. Thank you for the feedback about the lighting walking back to your room 1 I will definitely look into this.

I do thank you for your comments however and I do hope that next time we welcome you back we can push to exceed your expectations and rate even higher next time!

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel just recently. its a huge property with 2 wings spread accross both side of the chaweng costal road. i would say half the property is on one side of the road and half is towards the beach. the beach is a lagoon with shallow crytal clear water and is very warm. nice palm tree line the entire crecent of the beach with hotel recliners and umbrellas.

this is a peak summer season and not a good time to go to Samui but i could not help it as for me it was kind business requirement. the weather in the part of the world at this time (May) is hot and very very humid. My room (Room number 5107) was on the ground floor. small veranda with coffee table and chairs and good amount of greenry around. the room was pretty large , clean and effciently set up. TV, coffe maker, mini bar, iron, safe, pair of umbrella were the standard aminities. hotel provide 2 bottle of drinking water on complimentary basis per day. the bathroom was clean and spot less with both a shower room and bath tub provided.

Food was great the breakfast had good spread of continental, indian and thai food. the dinner was also great. the hotel provides free wifi to guest so i had no problems keeping in touch with the friends and family. there are 2 pools in the hotel and fairly large. a nice spa which was very reasonable but was fully booked. staff was very courties too. over all i had a very good experience and i would like to visit this property again in future.

Room Tip: take a room towards beach side wing of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BhupenderK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Hello BhupenderK,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us here on Koh Samui,

I am delighted to see you overall had a very good experience and will visit the property again in the future.

So happy to hear you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. Our breakfast is proving to be a hit amongst our guests receiving numerous positive comments and feedback. However be rest assured we are always looking at always to improve the variety, quality and presentation.

And as always, thank you for your compliments regarding our team(staff) at the resort. We are blessed with a wonderful team who do their best to impress

Thanks again for your comments and hope we will be welcoming you back in the future!

Warm wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We just got back from a 4 night stay at the property. Our feelings are mixed as some good things were accompanied by some let-downs. It's the small touches that make the difference between a good and great hotel and unfortunately, Amari Coral Reef falls short on many counts.

Location: Right on the beach. And a good beach at that. It's sufficiently busy but not overcrowded. The hotel is just 10 minutes from the airport, which is good because no one wants long road journeys after a long flight in. There is a 7 Eleven within 3 minutes walking distance so you can pick up your daily necessities easily. Lots of restaurants and massage parlours in 5 - 10 minutes walking distance. We loved the location!

Reception, CheckIn: It was swift, though not very warm. We reached around 10 AM in the morning and though there were just 2 more check-ins before us, there was little space in the reception area for us. We were then seated and a representative came over and took us through our check in. We had some requests based on health issues, which were mentioned to them even before we arrived, but none of them were met with. We were not only allotted a room far away from the reception (across the road, actually), but it was also on a higher level, which meant we had to climb some steps each time we wanted to go to the room. It was a health problem for one of us but we were given no choice. It's the worst way to begin a stay, knowing that the staff doesn't care much.

Room: The room was decent, not great. As soon as we entered, we noticed that the AC wasn't working. It was a hot, hot summer day and we were feeling stuffed in the humid room. 4 phones calls and 45 minutes is what it took to get the problem sorted. The bed, though, is very very comfortable and we had a great nights' sleep. The TV is placed in a corner of the room, tough to see from the bed or anywhere else. It's a box TV with very few channels. We hardly ever saw it. There is one bathroom (which doesn't lock because there isn't a lock, only a sliding door) and one toilet. The bathroom has the smallest shower area I've ever seen. I am an average sized woman and my hands would touch the walls each time I moved them. It's small, cramped up and very uncomfortable, making bathing a task. The toilet, though small, is sufficient. However, it has no exhaust, which is a problem in an AC room in a hot country. It's a basic detail that I think every hotel should have. It does have a little window, though that opens towards another room. Not sure if anyone wants to open that. The balcony is nice and overlooks the swimming pool. We enjoyed our morning and evening coffees here. The clothes rack for drying wet clothes, is a nice touch. It's handy and convenient. I wish more hotels considered this!

Hotel Amenities: The property is right on the beach. It's not a private beach but a good one nonetheless. As the beach is on the eastern side, evenings are pleasant. It makes for a great beginning to the day, watching the sun rise over the water in the morning. There are lots of restaurants along this beach, even beach massages and floating bars. It's a lively place to be in. The free wifi at the property is great, working well in every corner. There are two swimming pools, one for each block. Both are nice and one of the two is near the beach. The 2 blocks of the hotel are separated by a road. 24*7, there are 2 watchmen who stop the traffic to let you pass. They do a very good job and are always smiling.

Food: The Italian restaurant has very good food. The breakfast looked the same every day, lacking variety. The cafe-bar by the sea side has live music and great deals on drinks, long happy hours and a picturesque setting. The beautiful ambience here makes up for the average food.

Service: The hotel staff is sufficient but not hospitable. Sure, they smile, greet and show you around when asked. But no favours are granted, no going-out-of-the-way to help you. No help in trying to find cabs. No consideration for special health needs. These factors take away the delight factor from staying at any hotel.

Overall, I must admit that we were disappointed. Holidays are always long awaited and people expect to be treated well in hotels that aren't cheap. But if you're looking for a good location, decent rooms and average service, you may want to consider Amari Palm Reef. I wish they infused more warmth into their service. I am very sure there are better hotels around. If I visit Koh Samui again, I will give another hotel a chance to make our holiday memorable.

Room Tip: Take a room in the block that's nearer the sea. It means quicker access even the restaurants and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AratiRaval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hello AratiRavel,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed everything from our location, to our long happy hours and onto Prego our specialty restaurant which continues to receive positive guest feedback.

However I thought I would share my response with everyone here also for their reference also.

In your booking there was no mention of any health issues prior to your arrival, as such the team were unaware of these health issues. Upon hearing your health issues our front office management team offered a superior beach room ground floor located in close proximity to the reception and F&B outlets which was refused, then we offered a pool view room ground level which again was refused, I understand the reason for your refusal was due to the rooms would not be together, however this was only going to be one night.On your second day our front office management team moved both rooms to the ground level to accommodate the guest health issues.

While there is indeed not too much we can do with regards to the overall design of the room itself (we are currently introducing and updating our TV channel selection), I will certainly address your service comments with the team and do our best to ensure we continue to strive to improve for the future. Again, please accept my apologies for any issue that you encountered there.

I do note your comments about our breakfast. Normally we receive rave reviews about our breakfast and I have to admit that it's sometimes hard to narrow down exactly what we are missing when we have so much on display and we also offer to prepare anything else that a guest may require...our true approach to .

AratiRavel, again, I really wanted to thank you for taking the time to share your comments both and I hope you don’t mind me sending my comments in response. Of course I sincerely hope that we can indeed welcome you back one day. Until then, I remain available 24/7 if I can help further in any way.

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had our wedding here and it was incredible from start to finish. Everything ran like clockwork, the setup was fantastic and the food was delicious. Laurent the photographer was amazing and the hair and makeup lady did a great job.
And then there is the accommodation. Wow what a great resort. I hope to come back here again!!!

Room Tip: Choose the village area if you want a more quiet room. It's very nice over there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Hello Fi T,

Thank you for your excellent review of your recent wedding with us (congratulations, by the way!)

I am delighted to see your special day went like " clockwork" and you loved everything from the set-up and onto the food.

I am thrilled to read the positive feedback on Laurant our photographer and Khun Nui our make-up artist, I will pass on the feedback.

I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back and thank you again for sharing your experience with everyone here.

Wishing you years of happiness together.
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,932 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,393 reviews
1.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,497 reviews
1.7 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £94 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing