We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #10 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

we returned from this holiday on the 21.6.2014. From the moment we arrived until leaving we were looked after by the amazing staff at this hotel. Everyone was extreamly friendly and very helpful. The rooms on the garden side of the road were fabulous, they were cleaned everyday, new bedding and towels and your beach towels are collected and replaced on a daily basis. The hotel is in a very good location and there are crossing guards to help you cross the busy road. The breakfast buffet had plenty of choice, enough for a three course meal if you wished.

I have only one suggestion (not a complaint) maybe parasols could be provided on the beach.

Room Tip: Pool view on the garden side of the hotel
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hello Lynn S,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us and I am pleased to hear that overall you had wonderful memories of your experience

I am delighted to read that you found our rooms on the garden side of the road fabulous and cleaned to your liking. That really is our goal 100% of the time and I am happy to you enjoyed fresh bedding and towels.

I am also thrilled you see our team were able to provide friendly helpful service during your stay and our breakfast impressed

I do take note your comments in regards to umbrellas on the beach, will look into that.

Overall however I am delighted to know that you left us with wonderful memories and we certainly hope to welcome you back again soon...and rest assured we will be aiming for five stars next time!

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,497)
There are newer reviews for Amari Koh Samui
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

753 - 759 of 2,497 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Amari Palm Reef for 2 weeks in June 2014.
Hotel location - great location about 10 minutes walk from the centre of Chaweng so nice and quiet
Rooms - a bit dated but still really nice and clean with everything you need. I was worried about this as I do like a nice new contemporary room but they are fine. We upgraded to a pool view room but from our room the view to the pool was blocked by trees (3224) so ask for a different room
Pools - lovely and clean and also very warm!
Staff - overall the staff were efficient and courteous. The security guys that guided you across the road were great and deserve some recognition but the best staff were the girls in the lounge area, they were lovely - also there was a lady in the restaurant who was lovely and friendly too (I don't know here name but she used to work at Zicos)
Beach has lovely sand but directly outside the hotel it is in a lagoon so is knee deep for quite a long way so you can't swim in it, there are canoes which are quite fun especially when you get stuck on the sandbanks and seem to be standing in the middle of the sea.
One thing not to miss is the larder restaurant which is a 2 minute taxi drive from the hotel - the food is fantastic and it is a lovely contemporary restaurant.
Boput fishing village is a 400 Baht taxi ride away and is really worth a visit as it is much more relaxed than Chaweng and has some lovely restaurants.
Prego is a nice Italian but a little overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lridley1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed for 8 days in June 2014. Room was ready on arrival and were nice and clean. Rooms were fantastic overlooking beach & pool. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Would stay there again as the location was very handy. We were in walking distance to the shops and restaurants. Looking forward to our next trip.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking beach have a great view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Hello Paul L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feelings about Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui.

I am delighted to hear that we made such a wonderful impression, and thrilled to see you had a great time at the resort.

thank you again for sharing such wonderful comments about the team here. It is honestly the highest compliment you can pay us and you know that we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon...VERY soon!

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We spent almost 2 weeks in the hotel in April 2014 with our kids age 2 and 4. The location is great, we had the room over the road in the garden side. After a few days we had some problem with ants in the room (snacks and baby food), and got upgraded to the junior suit (!!!!) with sea view in the main building. We could not get better present! We spent wonderful days and evenings at the hotel.
After 8 nights left from Amar took a ferry to Koh Phangan and had a hotel booked there, which was not suitable for kids, so we decided to return to Amari immediately. Through our travel agent we could not book a room but directly after I called the reservation they had rooms, so we came back. They saved us really, and had a great room again, everybody was helpful, around us all the time. Thanks a lot for Nina at the reception, Wanilika from the reservation, Nion from the housekeeping, and Phuwadol-who even had a few minutes to play with the kids in the pool between serving cocktails to the guests-, and to all the rest of the stuff. (hope spelled the names good)
Nice beach with shadow, excellent choice with small kids also.
The breakfast is amazing, all what you can ask for, including kids' corner.
Don’t miss the Prego next to the hotel, fresh and different taste.
Big and clean rooms.
Beautiful hotel, great and helpful service, we did not want to leave, and already dreaming to return.

Room Tip: Junior suit is just amazing!Great choise, go for it!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Hello Angela D,

Thank you for the detailed review and sharing your experience with other travelers in regards to your recent stay with us.

It always wonderful to welcome guests such as yourselves who really connect with the Resort and enjoy everything including the rooms to the breakfast to Prego and all-round atmosphere.

We do always aim to impress and of course it's always wonderful to receive positive feedback,thanks for recognizing Wanlika, Nina, Nion and Phuwodel. who do their best to impress in their roles and I will pass on your comments.

I do hope this wont be the last time we welcome you to our Resort. Rest assured we will continue to aim higher and higher.

Until then, thank you again for sharing your thoughts.

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We have just returned from yet another GREAT holiday at Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui.
We have had several consecutive years staying here. Once again we wonder how we could possibly go elsewhere. As I have mentioned before rooms are a little tired but everything else overcomes this slight derogative. ( renovation plans in place ).
Number one reason for us returning is the STAFF. They are superlative in every area. Reception, food and beverage, Bar @C ,housekeeping, pools, spa, security/road crossing and of course the garden staff. I won't name individuals in any particular area, there are to many to praise. I'm sure those in question know how we feel about them. You also have to give accolades to management. A great team throughout. Meranti and Prego restaurants are still great. Slightly more expensive than outside resort,but well worth it. Awaiting news of renovations, so we can book again.

Room Tip: Personal preference is Thai Village. Hope this is retained in renovations.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Funky12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Hello Funky12,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay here at Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui, Its always a pleasure to welcome back returning guests.

I often say that it is easy to build a beautiful property. However it is the team inside that truly marks a good resort from a great one. So I am thrilled to read such positive comments about our team and how they managed to truly make such a difference to your experience here.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed Prego our specialty Italian inspired restaurant, as well as Merante our all day dining outlet.

Of course we would be thrilled to welcome you back in the future and of course we will do our best to raise our standards even higher for you next time. We will consider it our very own challenge to earn and receive a five star rating next time for sure!

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for 9 nights at the beginning of June and absolutely loved it! We arrived early in the morning and the staff were great in letting us check in straight away and get access to our room. The room itself was in the thai village and had plenty of space along with a nice high ceiling and lovely balcony overlooking the pool. The breakfast included is absolutely amazing, by far the best I have had at any hotel and the cocktails are also lovely and good value during happy hour! The location of the hotel was ideal for us as its at the quieter end of the beach but only a short 5-10 minute easy walk to the centre of the strip. Regarding the hotel being split across the road we had no issue with this at all as there was always staff to help you cross and rarely was the road overly busy. It was also nice that the hotel provides a service to book day trips, you can rent movies and they were also very helpful when we needed to print and scan some documents. Overall we were very happy with our choice of hotel and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking to go to Koh Samui!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank x-Megan-91-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Hello x- Megan-91-x,

A huge thank you for taking the time to share you comments here. It's always wonderful to hear when we manage to provide a positive experience to our guests. Or even better when our guests will recommend the property to anyone looking to come to Koh Samui.

It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us. And I am delighted that you found so many experiences here to your liking, from the room to the breakfast onto our daily happy hours and our service desk.

So thank you again for your kind comments and you know I mean it when I say that we hope to see you back with us again soon...very soon!

Warmest wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at this resort in June '13.
We had chosen it's basic room (don't remember the category) but it was nice and clean... the layout of the resort is such that most of the rooms face a pool.... they have 2 pools... one in each section (on either side of the main road)....
The location is simply superb.... all the main activities start from this resort onwards so practically you just have to walk in one direction and you will find everything in walkable distance.... we never took any taxi/tuk tuk as it was never required....
Resort has one side touching the beach so you can access beach anytime.... for crossing the roads... there are guards available who stop the traffic for you to cross.... you feel nice n safe..... :)
breakfast was good.... but since we are vegetarians... we couldn't find enough options for ourselves....perhaps they can pay attention to this point specially for Indian guests...
one day a lizard entered into our room and sat on the table.... we were scared to see such a dirty creature.... but thanks to the prompt hotel staff who sent a guy who picked it up with his own hands and broom stick and threw it outside..... we were so relieved.... gave him 200 bahts for his deed.... :)
it is so close to the airport that it took us less than 15 minutes to reach the resort..... so you can check our really easy to catch the flights.... the samui airport is just amazing..... doesn't feel like an airport at all.... it's more like a resort..... and the transit buses are really cool and funky......
we had a great stay and recommend this resort to all..... :)

Room Tip: Room facing the beach/pool are ideal.....
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prakhar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Hello Prakhar J,

Thank you for your glowing review of your recent stay with us and thrilled to hear and you will recommend the resort to all.

I am delighted to read you found our location simply superb, as I have mentioned numerous times I believe our location is really the best of both worlds...private enough for those wishing an escape or a short walk to the action of Chaweng.

I do note your comments about our breakfast. I have to admit that it's sometimes hard to narrow down exactly what we are missing when we have so much on display and we also offer to prepare anything else that a guest may require...our true approach to .

I am happy to see our team were able to assist you with the lizard issue.

Of course, we will hope to welcome you back too someday soon.

Until then, thank you!
Warm wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 103 in Chaweng
1,869 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 103 in Chaweng
1,474 reviews
1.7 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
743 reviews
1.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 103 in Chaweng
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £83 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing