We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 years and still brilliant”
Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Broxbourne
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“10 years and still brilliant”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Having stayed here 10 11 12 and 13 years ago I was a little nervous that my memories would be ruined.
It's still great a little bigger but all you could want for a week in the sun.
Breakfast is Still fantastic. The service by the pool is great.
Overall I think you can say I do like this hotel
There are minor niggles but if it can be put right by the staff it is done so with a smile and ASAP

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. If you are unsure about your room just ask at reception to see another
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Hello David R,

Thank you for your brief review of your recent stay with us. its honestly a pleasure to welcome back returning guests from 10 years ago.

I am delighted to see you enjoyed everything from our fantastic breakfast to our service around the pool. I thrilled to hear your minor niggles were dealt with immediately, effectively with a smile, that is our goal 100% of the time.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts, please do not wait another 10 years to return.

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,441
    690
    168
    65
    37
See reviews for
561
1,125
81
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My girlfriend & I were meant to stay at the Charweng Regent, however at check in we were transferred to the Amari just for the 1st night because the Charweng was fully booked.

And it turned out to be the best thing that happened because the Amari is fantastic!!!
Out of the 3 hotels we stayed at in Thailand Amari had the nicest bed.
The breakfast was outstanding... definitely at another level compared to most hotels.
Hotel grounds & pools are pristine.

After only being able to stay 1 night, we wanted to leave the Charweng and go back.
Next time were in Koh Samui we'll definitely be staying at the Amari.

Room Tip: The Amari is a large hotel and spans across the other side of the road. Try to get a room on the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Hello Dan D,

Thanks for sharing your brief review of your recent experience with us.

I am delighted to hear that despite booking at Chaweng Regent you were able to experience one night at Amari Plam Reef. I am also thrilled to see you enjoyed everything from the bed, to the hotel grounds and pool onto our amazing breakfast display.

Thank you again for sharing your review with us and let's hope we welcome you back again in the near future.

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had our second stay at Amari this July and I still love this place. The staff are so friendly and accommodating. We had an issue on arrival regarding our room which was rectified immediately. The restaurant food is always nice, and the food and drink service to the pools was always great. We had also stayed elsewhere on this visit before coming back here and whilst we felt that both resorts have things to offer, I still enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere here. We had a deluxe room again which are nicely decorated and always clean with great garden views. The resort is walking distance to the main shopping area. We will be back again. Just love Koh Samui!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Hi Vikad,

Thank you so much for sharing such thorough thoughts about your recent experience with us. Its always a pleasure to welcome back returning guests.

I am honestly so thrilled to see that you enjoyed everything from the restaurant food to the food and drink service at the pools, from our great location to the amazing staff.

I am delighted to see you loved the deluxe garden view rooms, as I am have mentioned previously we are the only resort that offers beachside rooms and Thai village style rooms.

I really do thank you for your glowing recommendations and I certainly hope that we will welcome you back again so we can prove that such incredible experiences can indeed happen again and again.

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The rooms are not near the beach and a little smal for that price. They are about 200 meters away on the other side of the street. The swimming pool is only 1.2 - 1, 3 meter deep. For proper swimming not deep enough.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Hello Joseph O,

First of all, thanks for sharing your thoughts about your recent experience with us.

In regards to the layout of the overall Resort, I would agree that we are one of the only resorts on the island featuring both beachside rooms as well as Thai village rooms, and it is a very personal decision which room is best for each guest.However if this was a concern, then I am surprised you didn't contact management to request a room move.

yes you are correct the beachside swimming pool depth is between 1.20-1.30, however the swimming pool in the Thai village is deeper at 1.53m, so I am sorry that this didn't exceed your expectations.

So while I know we didn't manage to impress on this occasion, I certainly thank you for your feedback and I wish you more comfortable and impressive escapes in the future.

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for 10 nights in July, lovely hotel and nice and close to the main strip of restaurants and shops. Rooms were smart and easy access. Food was nice and not too expensive, staff were friendly and tried to help on very way possible. With it been our honeymoon the surprise of wine, fruit and cake awaiting we would go back again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mick74656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Hello Mick74656

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us during your Thailand honeymoon, and I am pleased to hear that overall you had wonderful memories of your experience.

I am delighted to see you enjoyed everything from the rooms to our location and from our cuisine to the staff.

Thanks again for sharing such lovely feedback and rest assured that it would be our pleasure to welcome you back and show a perfect experience next time...maybe allow us to impress for your first anniversary?! I hope to hear from you.

Until then, warm wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

日本語は下にあります。Japanese follows.

We stayed in Amari for 5 nights in July 2014.
- We arrived around 10:00am. Unfortunately we had to wait until 2:00pm to use our room, but the reception staff gave us coupons for free drink at the beach bar, so we happily waited for our room ready.
- We stayed in deluxe pool view. Our room was clean, bed was big, had great view from the room. The room was keeping clean every day.
- Amari had two pools. Both were always clean, I especially loved red beach parasols which was so exotic! There were always helpful and friendly staff at poolside, so we could relax enough.
- The road patrol men were always helpful and smiling, we could always cross the road safely.
- We enjoyed various and delicious buffet breakfasts. I especially loved daily special fruit smoothies. Please try!
- There were a lot of restaurants and convenience stores near the hotel, which was useful.
- We had to leave very early morning due to our flight schedule, but we could smoothly check out by helpful reception staff. They also arranged transportation (@400THB) to the airport even though it was very early morning.
- Only one thing we wanted to complain, we were assigned the room at low floor even though we booked as high floor.
However, overall we felt comfortable about the stay. We would like to thank all the staff at Amari for supporting us with smiling. We will be back!

7月に5泊しました。
- 朝のフライトで10時に到着したのですが、お部屋は2時まで使えませんでした。が、バーで一杯無料のクーポン券をもらいました。荷物も預かってもらえます。
- デラックスプールビューに泊まりました。お部屋は奇麗に掃除されており、ベッドも大きくて快適、部屋からの眺めもよかったです。お掃除も毎日きちんとされていました。
- ホテルには2つのプールがあり、どちらも清潔です。赤いパラソルが素敵です。プールサイドにいるスタッフの方も親切で、心からリラックスできました。
- 私たちの部屋からビーチ側へ行くためには、交通量の多い道を通らなければいけなかったのですが、ガードマンの方がしっかり交通整理をしてくれているので安全です。
- 朝食もオーソドックスでしたが種類は多く、特に日替わりのスムージーが美味しくて毎日飲んでいました。
- 周りには少し歩けば沢山レストランやコンビニがあり便利です。
- 私たちはフライト時間の関係で7時にチェックアウトしなければならなかったのですが、スムーズにチェックアウト出来ました。空港までのハイヤーもすぐ手配してくれました。(400バーツ)
- 一つだけ不満だったのが、2階の部屋を予約していたのに、2階が満室だったことです。予約していたはずなのになんで?って少し抗議しましたが、翌日からだったら空くと言われ、移動するのも面倒なので、1階であきらめました。が、1階からだと直接プールに出入り出来たり、色々便利でしたので、これはこれでありでした。
私たちの滞在中、日本人は2組くらいしかみかけませんでした。ほとんどが欧米人、たまにアジア人、中国人という感じです。全体的にピースプルな雰囲気がただよい、のんびり何もしない派の人にはお勧めです。

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AK4951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello AK4951,

Thank you for taking the time to write your impressions of your stay with us recently.

It was a pleasure to have you both stay with us and I am delighted that you found so many areas of the Resort at WOW level.

It is always wonderful to read about praise for our wonderful team of talent. They endeavor to provide extraordinary experiences every day and I have nothing but admiration for the effort they put in every day. Thank you for taking time to recognize our road patrol men.

We will continue to focus on getting the basics right. It is that attention to detail that is so important and am delighted to know we made such a positive impression during your stay.

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
東京都
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I would say it could be better but not that bad.
During our stay, electricity system run down twice and we had no air conditioning during the time, Also the toilet has broken down three times and I noticed that to the reception but no one came so I had to fix it by myaself. But the location and the buildings are wonderful. This hotel is located in the center of Chawen Beach and you can go to a Seven Eleven by 5 minites walks and 10 minetes walk to Chewen town. If you thought about the price, I would say this hotel is not perfect but not bad at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 680tomokom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello Lynnie07,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us.

I am of course very happy to hear that you loved the location of the property and our buildings.

Of course, we also recognize how important it is to deliver the exceptional service our guests expect and as such I am disappointed to hear that we didn't get things right as you mentioned in regards to the broken toilet and I certainly understand your disappointment and apologize for this.

As mentioned in previously Koh Samui does experience unexpected power cuts, and when this happens the hotel generators are turned on automatically, like to apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Again, thank you for sharing your feedback and I certainly hope that you will indeed return to the Resort in the future and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in person next time.

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,782 reviews
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,415 reviews
1.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Property: Amari Koh Samui
Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Amari Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelbag, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing