We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel in a perfect location...thank you Amari for a wonderful holiday”
Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #8 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel in a perfect location...thank you Amari for a wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 28 September 2009

This was a perfect holiday 10/10....couldn't have asked for more. We love the Amari and have no complaints...not one!
Like you we had researched all the hotels on Samui and read a lot of the reviews on here (why their are negative ones i do not know!?) In our opinion this is the best hotel in Chewang

The hotel is lovely, spotless and beautifully kept. There are people cleaning round the clock! We feel it is in a prime location on Chewang beach, it is at the quieter north end and only a short walk into the action, which for us we didn't want anyway! When you've seen one stall you've seen it all!

The room was fantastic. Like so many other reviews we were in the garden area and at first thought "ohhh it's a bit far from the main area" but it's actually nicer. We had a big modern room with a big bathroom (some reviews had said they were very small) we had a bath and seperate double shower, which was the best power shower i have ever experienced and just what was needed after a hot day in the sun.
We had a huge queen bed which was SOOOOOOO comfy.
Confession time * we were so cosy in there we had room service a couple of nights*!! :0 )

There are two pools both beautiful and always plenty of sunbeds. Other reviews are correct, the pool at the beach is the busier of the two and has more children in it. We alternated and had a day at each. Pool 2 in the garden area was our favourite as it was quieter and deeper.

Food...

Breakfasts were amazing and there is everything you could wish for, all fresh and constantly replenished. From Sushi, fresh fruit, ham, cheeses, breads, cakes, pastries, curry, noodles, fresh fish, steak and omlettes cooked to order.

Pool bar did great food and we ate here everyday. There is currently an offer on if you book direct with the Amari of 200bt per person off food and drinks which really helps and pays for most of your lunch everyday (upto 31st oct)
We enquired about this but we hadn't booked direct but did get 20% discount on all food and drinks as we had booked though Hayes and Jarvis, this was a great perk and helped.

Room service was fab too, good quality food and a good choice of hot and cold food.

Service was faultless and we didn't have to lift a finger, pool boys were always attentive, even putting your towel on the sunbeds, getting drinks. All staff were just so nice and helpful, they can't so enough for you.

The beach was picture postcard perfect, gorgeous white sand and clear blue waters....best bit of beach in our opinion.

Chewang itself was a little brash for us....i wasn't expecting it to be so developed and 'blackpool' if you know what i mean....i suppose you have to expect this everywhere now where their are tourists but it didn't interest us! All shops sell the same stuff and after one walk up there we'd seen enough and spent our evenings around the pool bar.
I was shocked to see a Boots, Starbucks and Pizza Hut here!! On the plus side, the boots have everything you need for holiday so you don't need to take any of it with you!

The resturants were very grand and slightly pretentious, by this i mean i wanted the real Samui not a resturant that could have been anywhere. I would have rather eaten in a cafe style place where 'real' home cooked food is.

Better exchange rate if you get money out of the ATM there, don't get money from home. There is an ATM at the airport and then plenty in Chewang.
It's so cheap over there we were surprised. We budgeted for £800 for both of us for the 10 nights and we've only spent £600 and ate out everynight, drinks, a full day trip and presents and clothes.

I want to warn people about elephant trekking. This was my only compliant and a big dissapointment for me. We booked the jungle safari as we wanted to see all the 'tourist' spots and do an elephant so this covered everything. We paid 1700bt each and to be honest it's a con as all the tourist attractions are free anyway!
Grandfather and Grandmother rocks, Monk, Waterfall and Big Budda! The elephant trek we did was part of this tour and next to the 'Zoo' it was meant to be 1/2 trek.......it was a 5 minute ride round the car park!!! and i'm not exagerating! We didn't see a tree or do any trekking! I was very upset!
I'm not saying this is true of all the elephant trekking places but this one is certainly a con and i wouldn't recommend it.....
The Zoo is also a horrible place and i came out in tears....tigers in small cages pacing up and down, monkeys on leads and baby elephants performing for selfish tourists....i hated it and sat outside, not a nice place.

The Amari was perfect for us and gets 12/10, we looked at all the hotels and are still puzzled how this is only number 20!?! It's the best looking hotel both from the beach and the road and we would definatley return and wouldn't stay anywhere but the Amari...

If you have any questions please ask and we'll be happy to answer them....

We had narrowed it down to the Centara Grand, Imperial Boat house and the Amari and definately made the right choice...

Thank you Amari for a perfect holiday xx

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zipy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,392
    661
    162
    60
    36
See reviews for
528
1,089
76
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
swansea
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2009

really enjoyed our stay at this hotel our first trip to thailand,the staff were amazing from cleaners ,pool boys bar staff and reception,when arriving at bangkock realized i had left my cards at home but had travellers checks and bhats enough for trip.was asked for a 10,000 bhat deposit (£200) so had to find bank to change t/cs so be prepared for this you can use this money for drinks and food.
the drinks at this hotel are as usual very expensive compared to local bars,but the food is very reasonable and veyt nice.the pools are good,the beach very nice but very shallow and water can get murkey
chawang is a place that is good fun as a couple we were made welcome where ever we went and enjoyed but a walk along the beach at night is a must awesome
the only part of the holiday i did not like was all the indian taylors pain but a firm no they leave you alone but you say no at least 30 times a night to a taylor
we will be going back super holiday

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ollyswansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2009

We loved Amari for several reasons. The atmosphere is great in day..the pool is buzzing with people around.. Location is quite prime with Chewang beach in front and main shopping market.. which is two minutes of walking distance.. eating joint are on the beach as well in the market.. so you don't spend any money looking for cabs..

  • Liked — simplicity
  • Disliked — size of the rooms
  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ashish24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

We have just returned from the Amari Palm Reef, it was our 4th time there and there is so much to say about this fabulous hotel. We love the beach front location, the contemporary decor of the rooms, the trendy bars and restaurants, the spa, the new gym, the pool areas, the beautifully manicured gardens and the staff are so friendly and give 110% customer service. The chefs take alot of pride in creating the wow factor and the food looks and tastes amazing. They offer the widest selection of breakfast items I have ever seen - if you go for breakfast early at 6.30 or later at 10.30 you still get the same choices. They have delicious freshly baked breads, sushi, omelettes, cooked breakfast, muffins, fresh fruit, pastries, noodles etc - it's worth going just for the breakfasts!

At lunch time I'd recommend the corn on the cobs from the beach vendors only 50 baht.

Happy hour in bar @ c is really nice, they give you fresh ice cold hand towels on arrival and complimentary banana chips to enjoy. Prego is fabulous and chef Marco comes and greets you at the table.

The themed events in the Merante restaurant or in the gardens are amazing. It is a lovely setting with all the lights at night.

The tailor in the hotel is very good too, very quick turnaround and excellent quality. The shirts and trousers wash very well.

If you take a walk up the beach in the evenings you will be spoilt for choice for lovely seafood restaurants. We always go back to Montien House the singer is really good. The Ark bar is great for beach parties chilling out and watching the stars.

The Amari is the perfect choice for your holiday you will not regret it. We are already wishing we were back there for a 5th time!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sc0ttyD0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2009

Just back from 10 wonderful days in Koh Samui and loved this hotel. It's located in the quieter northern end of Chaweng beach about a five minute walk to the array of bars, restaurants, shops etc, close enough to enjoy the delights of Chaweng but far enough out to be peaceful.
We had a deluxe room right at the back of the garden area over the road from the main reception. We also had a look in one of the two storey family rooms and ours was far better equipped and better furnished. The en-suite wet room had a bath and separate large shower that was the most powerful I've ever come across. Bedroom had a massive queen size bed, minibar, flat screen tv, dvd player, patio area and lovely views of the gardens. Wardrobe had a safety deposit box built in, iron and ironing board, dressing gowns and slippers and a free umbrella in case it rains. As we had a ground floor room we had a few ants visiting but the maintenance team sprayed the place to get rid of them as soon as we mentioned it as a problem.
As mentioned in other reviews, the pools are great although a bit tight on space between some sun beds. The grounds and public areas are immaculately kept and staff are wonderful. Breakfast and dinner at the Merante restaurant were tremendous although we didn't get the best meal at Prego's but that was probably down to our choice of pasta so don't let me put you off going. Didn't use the Sivara spa as 800 baht for a massage was a bit steep compared to the 200 baht you pay on the beach or on the main drag. Also didn't use the dive centre although they were offering trail dives in the pool for beginners every day.
Wouldn't hesitate to go back to the Amari if returning to Chaweng.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daftlad1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

I have been to Samui a few times and I have stayed in cheap hotels as well as some of the expensive resorts. This time around I wanted to try somewhere new as my partner has not been to the island before, and I decided on the Amari Palm Reef. It is located at a quiet end of Chaweng beach (the busiest part of the island) and it is a great location as you can easily walk into the shopping, restaurant and nightlife areas but you are far enough away to not hear all the hustle and bustle. The hotel itself is beautiful, very traditional in style. The hotel has 2 locations separated by a road, one side is the main area with the reception, pool and beach, then the other side has more of a garden area with a pool. We were staying on this side and enjoyed it as it is quiter. The accomodation itself is fine, perhaps a little more basic than I had expected but nevertheless very comfortable. Both pools are large and very clean, the gym is small but fine for a quick workout. The food at the restaurants was always excellent, we went to many of the hotel food nights and they were great. Prego's Italian restaurant is very authentic and the food is delicious. The staff at this hotel are so lovely, they go out of their way to help. Everything went so smoothly from hiring a car to taking day trips. We took the cooking classes here and the chef is such a lovely man, we learnt how to make some delicious curries. All in all I had the most amazing time and I didn't want to leave! If you want to stay in Chaweng make this your first choice, we looked at some of the other resorts and the Amari stands out.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danibrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

This was my 2nd time at the Amari Koh Samui
Hotel is split into two areas, with the main road in between (we didnt notice any noise) - but you have patrol guys who stop traffic to let you cross the road.
Pool was slightly warm but not too warm- I dont think it was heated - more the sun heated but no problems jumping in - good for those who dont like cold pools!

Has two pools, great rooms, service fantastic, Prego restaurant is devine, beautiful outside dining/bar with mood lighting and day beds - fantastic spa - we had a couple massage which was in a air conditioned outdoor hut - we felt like royalty!
Beds were a little stiff but that might be the norm in Thailand.
Amazing well kept landscaping - its like a honeymoon!
The breakfast (buffet) is just amazing - cant recommend this place enough.
We will definatley be back and Amari is the first stop.

It is a bit expensive but its a real treat to stay here - you wont be disappointed! Service is fantastic. My favourite hotel in Koh Samui!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tingtongAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
1.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
1.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Property: Amari Koh Samui
Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Amari Hotels, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travelbag, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing