We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Muang Kulaypan Hotel
Ranked #60 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed 13 February 2013

On the first look, it looked like a deserted hotel. We thought that it was robbed...as there were no furniture in the lobby...the rooms are nice but there were mosquitoes and the location is not very good, it is not in the city center. the breakfast is very good and the tables are at the beach, the bed is comportable, the room size is good. The pool is very nice. but i would recommend on the Muang Chaweng as a better choice

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keren b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuangKulaypan, Manager at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Dear Signature Karen b Tel Aviv,- Israel, thank you very much for your detailed review during your stay. We are grad to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and breakfast on the Chaweng Beach, Actually we are not too far from the city center, guest can walk around 300 maters to the center area. Our hotel is in the good location, not in the middle of the center we have a long beach and charming for your holiday on the day time. The swimming pool right on the beach and our uniqe SALA for your breakfast and dinning. Thank you once again and please feel free to contact us should you wish to visit us again on your next return to Samui. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future Regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana Hotel Manager Muang Kulaypan Hotel and our MK team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a superior room as a family of three over 3 nights. We managed to squeeze in a 12 year old child on an extra bed at no extra cost.

The inclusive made to order breakfasts in huts on the beach are delicious! Definitely a morning perk.

Muang Kulaypan were also generous enough to provide us with free transfers to and from the airport so thank you.

Would not swim in the beach in front of the hotel! It's a bit rubbishy. I'd head towards the left end of the beach... Quite far down where the water becomes much clearer.

In the area I'd recommend eating at Prego (could not believe I could get Italian pizza this good in Thailand! For when you are Thai'd out) which is just across the street. And Stars Cabaret not far down the street puts in a really fun show that will only cost you what you drink.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evelynkywong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuangKulaypan, Manager at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Dear Signature Evelynkywong, thank you very much for your detailed review and positive feedback during your visit, we are glad you thoroughly enjoyed your breakfast in the huts on the beachfront. Please feel free to contact us for any assistance that you may needs, We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana, Hotel Manager and our Muang Kulaypan Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Beautiful hotel, Situated close enough to all the action about 5 minutes walk to the busy clubs restaurants and bars, but far enough that you can't hear the music from all the clubs at night. awesome spot right on the beach

LOVED IT will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuangKulaypan, Manager at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Dear Nicholas T and your family - Melbourne, Vitoria Australia, thank you very much for your good feedback review during your visit. We are deeply glad you and your family thoroughly enjoyed our facilities and beach. And nice to hear that you will come back staying with us. Please feel free to contact us should you wish to return to Samui. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, Regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana Hotel Manager and Muang Kulaypan Team. We love your family too

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Muang Kulaypan hotel for a few nights. We thought the location was ideal because it was a 5-10 min walk from the happening area of Chaweng, so it was quiet yet central. The hotel seems to be a little old now and could do with some renovation work. The pool, which is right by the beach is lovely. The food was decent too. Our overall experience was pleasant and I would recommend this hotel to those who want to be close to the action (as opposed to right in the middle of it).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJA77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuangKulaypan, Manager at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Dear Signature JJA77 - Mumbai, India, Thank you very much for your review during your visit, we are glad you thoroughly enjoyed our lovely beach and food at our hotel. Thank you once again, and feel free to contact us should you wish to visit us again on your next return to Samui. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future Regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana, Hotel manager and Muang Kulaypan Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed at the Muang Kulaypan for 4 nights and overall had a great time.

Pros:
-Undoubtedly the best location on Chaweng beach, 5 minute walk down the beach the the party spots like ark bar but still far enough away to avoid the noise. Further south from here, there is crap literally everywhere on the beach; plastic, hessian bags, straws and lots of other rubbish that I wasn't too keen to be swimming in.
-The pool and the beach sala huts are the best, pool is great and not crowded, there are massage beds where you can lie and get pampered and watch the world go by and the huts were a great way to enjoy all meals and some drinks!
-Laid back vibe in the hotel generally and I like that it wasn't quite so mass produced like many of the other hotels in chaweng

Now for the cons;
-we were required to move because they had fully booked our room. They did give us an 'upgrade' to a suite but I have to say that the suite was disappointing. Very little natural light and the air con was not smelling too good.
-the air conditioner in our 2nd room stuck so much we continuously awoke in the night several times and I am a serious deep sleeper. It stunk toxic and, although they replaced the gas when I complained the next day, this didn't last long either and we had the same problem the 2nd night. Basically, the air conditioners are ancient, probably pumping out cfc's still and the hotel could do with upgrading all of the units as this was really the only thing that was lacking in a big way.

If you manage to snare a room with working a/c then I am sure you will love this place as much as we still did. The staff are very friendly. That said, chaweng is a bit of a hole so I won't be going there again.

Room Tip: Upstairs garden view rooms, 204 air con was broken. They have a small balcony which is nice to sit o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPE78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuangKulaypan, Manager at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Dear Signature JPE78-Perth, Australia, thank you very much for your detailed review and positive feed back during your visit. We will have hotel renovation in Dec 2013 and re open on December 2014 with the new hotel and new style. We maintain and keep all hotel facilities in a good condition. However, Your comment is of highest importance to guarantee smooth running of our operation and to provide the highest standards possible. With the assistance of our valued guests we can further improve our services! Please feel free to contact us should you wish to return Koh Samui. We look forward to welcoming you back on the near future, Best regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana Hotel Manager and MK staff team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

The pool is nice nice and the room and bathroom is reasonable but everything else including the reception/entry area is extremely bare. The hotel is not worth the $150 I paid per night. It's a ten minute walk to the main busy area of chaweng.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank brettepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuangKulaypan, Manager at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Dear Signature bmei, I would like to extend my personal thanks to you for taking the time to comment on our services during your recent stay with us.

Your comment is of highest importance to guarantee smooth running of our operation and to provide the highest standards possible. With the assistance of our valued guests we can further improve our services!.

We will have the big hotel renovation in December 2013 and will reopen again in December 2014.

Your sincerely, Jirapa Lertkulthana Hotel Manager and MK staff Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

Check-in was by far the worse we have experienced in asia. Once dropped off at the hotel there was no one at the front to greet you or to show you where to check-in. The staffs were indifferent and not friendly. I have never been to a resort where staffs never greet you. Was told upon check-in that the rooms wasn't ready and that was it. Wasn't told where we can leave our bags, wasn't given drinks till 1hr later, wasn't given any update on what was going on and we had to ask for updates and was told plainly that its not ready.

The rooms definitely did not meet the 4stars standard. Bathroom looks dark and dingy, rooms looked rusty. Once stepped outside the smell of sewage overwhelms you. One of the umbrella in the room was broken, asked for a replacement that we never received. One of the room our party was in had a broken toilet that staffs refused to acknowledge was broken, took four tries to get them to bring in a technician to fix it. On the third night the fridge stopped working, called to get it fix, it never got fixed.

I am writing this while waiting in the front lobby after check-out, which was very quick and no mention of helping us with taxi to airport, when are we leaving and if we want to keep our luggages here, they just closed the door on us. It definitely feels like we are intruding and not welcomed here.

There is however some positives; the location is great close to chaweng main area but not in the thick of it, the setting of the restaurant is fantastic (little huts right on the beach, very relaxing) &the grounds are beautiful and well kept.

Overall, this is more like a 2stars based on service and rooms. Definitely not value for money and would not recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eatshoprelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuangKulaypan, Manager at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Dear Signature Eatshoprelax, thank you very much for your detailed review feedback during your visit, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our reception and room facilities. During your stay was a peak season time we would not like to upset our value guest in any case during you coming our staff went to take some bag from other room, many check in and check out during 11 -12 am time as a check out time. As our check in time is 14.00 pm. We always try our best to prepare the room before our guest C/I. We did inform you party that room will be really for 1 hr and we did that on time.
The smell for the sewage is from the local government trunk, we clean our sewage room every day after the trunk finished in front of our area to ensure our hotel cleanliness.
Moreover, we indicate our property as 3.5 star not 4 star but we try our best to deliver the friendly and standard service to all value customer.
Whilst I am pleased to see that your impressions were satisfactory in the main, I have made a special note of the point mentioned which did not meet your approval, and immediate action will be taken to rectify this.
Your comment is of highest importance to guarantee smooth running of our operation and to provide the highest standards possible. With the assistance of our valued guests we can further improve our services!

I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Muang Kulaypan Resort.

Yours sincerely, Jirapa Lertkulthana Hotel Manager and MK team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.2 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#55 of 104 in Chaweng
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Briza Beach Resort Samui
0.3 mi away
Casa De Mar
Casa De Mar
#13 of 104 in Chaweng
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Library
The Library
#27 of 104 in Chaweng
621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
0.1 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muang Kulaypan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muang Kulaypan Hotel

Address: 100 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach | Bophut, Koh Samui, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £244 - £418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muang Kulaypan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ConceptOnce upon a time, in the ancient kingdom of Muang Kulaypan, Java lived the beautiful Princess Budsaba and her brave Prince Panyee - a great warrior and lover. Their love story played muse to folk legend and dance, which travelled over the oceans to the Royal Courts of Ancient Siam. Muang Kulaypan, Koh Samui has drawn inspiration from the legend from which it derives many of its unique architectural traits ensuring the legend of the Budsaba and Panyee still live on today.All rooms and suites surround the expansive landscaping of the Muang Kulaypan central gardens, swimming pool and stretch of golden sand as the shallow cool waters of Chaweng Beach lap against the shoreline. The accommodation buildings merge seamlessly and effortlessly with the lush green foliage, whilst unique sculpture's and artifacts pose scattered throughout the grounds. The raw design and distinct use of culture provide the resort with a timeless appeal and guests an impression of true sanctuary. Location Nestled at the northern entrance to Chaweng Beach, Koh Samui's premier tourism arena, Muang Kulaypan provides convenient access to shopping, activities and nightlife without overcrowding or congestion. This ideal location is within a mere ten minute drive from Koh Samui International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Muang Kulaypan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muang Kulaypan Bophut
Hotel Muang Kulaypan
Muang Kulaypan Hotel Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing