We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel - very outdated.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Muang Kulaypan Hotel
Ranked #59 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Booked this with Avios vouchers - so not out of pocket. Hotel was okay - but nothing special. Seems like it was built in the sixties or seventies - very outdated. Lots of concrete areas - looking a bit like a concentration camp. Not at all picturesque - the building that is - the grounds were nice. Right on the beach, with lots of bars and restaurants close by, so very convenient. Didn't use the pool, but it looked nice. Lots of massage places along the beach. Walked into Chaweng at night which was fantastic. Easy few minute walk and you are right in the thick of it. Too many bars and restaurants to choose from! Fabulous! We sat on a big bean bag on the beach and listened to some funky house tunes at Ark Bar - definitely one to visit.
The beach immediately outside the hotel is lovely, very warm and very shallow sea for a long way out. Sand is soft and powdery. Bit busier than other beachs on the island - but great for a couple of mad nights!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuangKulaypan, Manager at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Signature BMRoxford - Oxford, thank you very much for your details review feedback during you visit, We will pass you words to our staff and we promise to maintain our charming and our friendly services. We would like to inform that we will have a big renovation through out the hotel at the end of this year to upgrade the hotel. We also will keep you updated our renovation at the end of this year. Thank you once again, and please feel free to contact us should you wish to visit us again on your next return to Samui. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana, Hotel Manager and MK team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in Feb-Mar this year. I would sum up by saying our stay here was average at best.

The hotel's greatest asset by far is its huts right on the beach - there's something so relaxing and refreshing about waking up and sitting down to eat your breakfast in a hut perched on the sand as you watch the sun shining over the beautiful waters of Koh Samui. Plus, there's the bonus of having breakfast served right at your hut, ensuring you a lazy start to your morning.

Another plus of this hotel was the great cocktails served up by the really friendly and upbeat barman.

Unfortunately though, those were the only pluses. This hotel is in great need of work - the stairs are dangerous (one flight of stairs didn't even have any side railings or support whatsoever, which meant you just had to rely on having really good balance to keep you from falling off!) Also, the safety of the wooden floors in the common areas was questionable, with several planks being very loose. On the morning of our check-out, the wardrobe in our room was also leaking water from its ceiling! It was just as well we'd packed our clothes the night before, or we could've ended up with a suitcase full of soaked clothes when we checked out.

Beds were uncomfortable also since they're basically just a mattress on a slightly raised floor, with a very small step from the mattress to the floor. We almost tripped a few times from walking from the bed to the bathroom, especially when trying to do this at night!

We also found the staff here to be very indifferent during our stay. We'd ask them a question, or for help with something, such as booking a tour or restaurant, and they'd simply brush us off, for example, by just telling us to call the restaurant/tour company directly instead of arranging the booking for us like any other hotel would do. At least the driver we had when we booked an island day tour (which happened to be run by the hotel itself - I guess that's why they booked it for us that time), was very friendly and accommodating, so a big thumbs up to him!

I would definitely look elsewhere for accommodation when planning a trip to Koh Samui in future. There seemed to be a lot of other hotels of a better standard on the island at around the same price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyStar81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuangKulaypan, Manager at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Signature Luckystar81 - Sydney, Australia, thank you very much for your details review feedback during you visit, we are glad you thoroughly enjoyed our hut and breakfast on the beach front and our cocktail at pool bar. We will pass you words to our staff and we promise to maintain our charming and our friendly services. We would like to inform that we will have a big renovation through out the hotel at the end of this year to upgrade the hotel. We also will keep you updated our renovation at the end of this year. Thank you once again, and please feel free to contact us should you wish to visit us again on your next return to Samui. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana, Hotel Manager and MK team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We went for a wedding next door, so only a few nights. The pool was awesome and cool...it was reasonable, however the food in the restaurant was very average, the stairs and patio are a bit dangerous. The staff were lovely, particularly the bar staff and the rooms were very clean. We were on the second floor and the air con was pretty weak....would have been cooler with a fan.

Room Tip: Great view from the second floor but very HOT as the air cons need an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiegirl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuangKulaypan, Manager at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Signature Aussiegirl32 - Melbourne, Australia, thank you very much for your details review positive feedback during you visit, we are glad you thoroughly enjoyed our swimming pool and our pool bar We will pass you words to our staff and we promise to maintain our charming garden and our friendly services. We also will keep you updated our renovation at the end of this year. Thank you once again, and please feel free to contact us should you wish to visit us again on your next return to Samui. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana, Hotel Manager and MK team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We spend only one night in Koh Samui as we had to catch a flight the next day. we had a good experience at that hotel. Breakfasts and lunched take place in wonderful scenery. Food is very good., worthwhile the visit!
ROoms are good and staff is helpful and friendly. only negative aspect: in some bathrooms there was a strange smell and water from tab is of a strange color... we thought that some bathrooms needed renovation works.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuangKulaypan, Manager at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Signature Yle1, Brussels, Belgium- thank you very much for your details review feedback during you visit, even short time. We will take your comments into account in order to improve our service. Thank you once again, and please feel free to contact us should you wish to visit us again on your next return to Samui. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana, Hotel Manager and MK team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I was a little disappointed and voiced my opinion to the reception staff who did not take well to my doubt that it was not like the pics on the internet, and for the rest of our stay they were polite but not friendly towards us but that was only the reception staff. Jae and all the other staff were wonderful in making our stay very pleasant. the location was perfect in Koh Samui, we enjoyed the breakfast and suppers on the beach, it was awesome.Very relaxing and i would probably go back there. needs a bit of a facelift. The rooms were clean.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charmaine128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuangKulaypan, Manager at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Signature Charmaine128 - Cape Town , thank you very much for your details review and positive feedback during you visit, we are glad you thoroughly enjoyed our swimming pool and were happy at the end after staying with us. We will take into account for your recommendation in order to improve our service. We will also pass you words to our staff and we promise to maintain our charming garden and our friendly services. We also will keep you updated our renovation at the end of this year. Thank you once again, and please feel free to contact us should you wish to visit us again on your next return to Samui. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana, Hotel Manager and MK team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I have stayed previously at the hotel, however for much shorter durations than this trip.

The staff went out of their way to look after me.

The location just away from the noise of Chaweng is perfect.

A minor annoyance is the peddlers on the beach who if you look at them approach you to try and sell anything from Hats to Hammocks. This is common all along the beach.

The pool area has a bar and a happy hour and good snacks.

The staff are obliging in the Restaurant and even if your late for breakfast are still keen to offer service and deviate from the menu.

The salas where you can take meals offer a great view on to the beach and a relaxed way to enjoy your meals.

A small snack is left each night by the housekeeping team.

I also was given a gift by the staff at the end of my stay which was very very kind.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to offer good facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuangKulaypan, Manager at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Signature Garel - Londo, thank you very much for your details review and positive feedback during you visit, we are glad you thoroughly enjoyed our swimming pool and were happy on your holiday and like our small snack for Good night gift. We will pass you words to our staff and we promise to maintain our charming garden and our friendly services. Wee also will keep you updated our renovation at the end of this year. Thank you once again, and please feel free to contact us should you wish to visit us again on your next return to Samui. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana, Hotel Manager and MK team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Had a wonderful family hoilday with 3 teenagers for 1 week.
Accom in the deluxe family suite with 2 bedrooms, 1 for the kids and 1 for us parents and a lounge-room downstairs.
Enjoyed the calm and quiet of the location, already aware that the resort was dated, so didn't have any massive expectations for the rooms, but really enjoyed the daybed and the shared lounge-room in the suite.
Staff were really friendly and accomodating, enjoyed the happy hours, seafood night, beach front, beach huts, thai food at the restaurant and the breakfasts. Set up special tables on the beach for dinner - everything no problem.
Loads of space and free fast wifi for the teenagers.
Were part of a wedding that happened next door at Amari - went to visit them a few times - looked awful, hundreds of people all rammed around the pool and beach-front, towels booking the sunbeds from early in the morning. Didn't have any of that at the Kulaypan.
Overall a great experience and a great relaxing hoilday - thanks to the staff at the Kulaypan.

Room Tip: 224 & 225 for large family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuangKulaypan, Manager at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Signature Family Grant M- Sydney, thank you very much for your details review and positive feedback during you visit, we are glad you thoroughly enjoyed your room at 224 & 225 and also swimming pool and were happy on your holiday. We will pass you words to our staff and we promise to maintain our charming garden and our friendly services. We also would like to inform that we will have a big renovation throughout the hotel at the end of this year and will keep you updated. Thank you once again, and please feel free to contact us should you wish to visit us again on your next return to Samui. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana, Hotel Manager and MK team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.2 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#56 of 104 in Chaweng
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chura Samui
Chura Samui
#22 of 104 in Chaweng
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa De Mar
Casa De Mar
#13 of 104 in Chaweng
419 reviews
0.5 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#70 of 185 in Bophut
509 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muang Kulaypan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muang Kulaypan Hotel

Address: 100 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach | Bophut, Koh Samui, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £279 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muang Kulaypan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ConceptOnce upon a time, in the ancient kingdom of Muang Kulaypan, Java lived the beautiful Princess Budsaba and her brave Prince Panyee - a great warrior and lover. Their love story played muse to folk legend and dance, which travelled over the oceans to the Royal Courts of Ancient Siam. Muang Kulaypan, Koh Samui has drawn inspiration from the legend from which it derives many of its unique architectural traits ensuring the legend of the Budsaba and Panyee still live on today.All rooms and suites surround the expansive landscaping of the Muang Kulaypan central gardens, swimming pool and stretch of golden sand as the shallow cool waters of Chaweng Beach lap against the shoreline. The accommodation buildings merge seamlessly and effortlessly with the lush green foliage, whilst unique sculpture's and artifacts pose scattered throughout the grounds. The raw design and distinct use of culture provide the resort with a timeless appeal and guests an impression of true sanctuary. Location Nestled at the northern entrance to Chaweng Beach, Koh Samui's premier tourism arena, Muang Kulaypan provides convenient access to shopping, activities and nightlife without overcrowding or congestion. This ideal location is within a mere ten minute drive from Koh Samui International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Muang Kulaypan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muang Kulaypan Bophut
Hotel Muang Kulaypan
Muang Kulaypan Hotel Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing