We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Girlfriend and I stayed in this lovely Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Muang Kulaypan Hotel
Ranked #59 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The Hotel was ideal and a very pleasant room and a wide varander with views over the lush gardens and the beach and sea within 5 minutes walking distance. The staff were all very helpful and the breakfasts and meals were very good and to be recomended, there was a fitness area with a variety of gym equipment and the landscaped gardens with a large swimming pool was a great way to unwind in the heat. There was no entertainment within the Hotel when we were there, but there was plenty of music and dancing in the other Hotels that all fronted the beach. A most pleasant stay and we will definately be visiting again as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Generally all the rooms we saw were of a good standard and were well equiped
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaelpwatsonco5986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuangKulaypan, Muang Kulaypan Management at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Michaelpwatsonco5986, thank you ever so much for such a wonderfully positive review on Muang Kulaypan Hotel of your stay. We shall ensure we share your comments with our great team here. Thank you again and please do let us know when you wish to return. Sincerest regards, The Muang Kulaypan Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for Muang Kulaypan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

Just back after 2 weeks here and knew what to expect from reading the reviews. The hotel wasn't as worn and tired as previous guests have made out. It was perfectly fine. Loved the swimming pool but get there early to reserve beds as there weren't a huge amount. Hotel right on the beach but definitely not the best part of the beach as there was a fair amount of seaweed and the water was not very deep and a bit rough underfoot.

However, breakfast was totally ruined by one male waiter who was miserable, rude and made each breakfast a really unpleasureable experience. All the other staff were wonderful but he will prevent me from booking this hotel again. I have his name and am very happy to supply it if needed. It is a shame that one breakfast waiter can ruin what would have been a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed here for two nights whilst touring thailand. I felt that the hotel was a little over priced in comparison to neighbouring hotels I stayed in which were to a similar standard. The location of the hotel is perfect, away from the hustle and bustle of the town centre with the noise but close enough for a leisurely walk into town within ten minutes. The rooms were ok with the exception of curtains which were tired and broke and the hotel had very nice toiletries. The hotel also had a nice touch in preparing the bed room for night with biscuits left on the pillow and an oil burner lit in the bath room. The pool didn't seem to get used much , not sure why but the sun beds on the beach were very popular. The massage area on the beach was very good and the girls were first class. In all a good hotel with very nice staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smoggy-boy1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We have picked to stay here no doubt there are bad reviews and after stayed here...we are totally agreed!!!! Please do not ignore the negative reviews!!!

We stayed here for 4 nights at Garden View room 204.....Please avoid this room!!!
Bathroom really stunk, shower water slow with no pressure & Air Con not working well thro the whole stay and worst...broken down at d 4th nite, "Box" TV?? & poor reception, tap water have funky smell, balcony railing is shaky. We have requested to change room but the front office said fully booked and in fact not. The room is not worth the $ we have paid.

When checked out, bills have mistake..

Apart from that,

Pool and the garden are alright.
Breakfast is a la carte and ok.
Turn down service with little local sweet is nice gesture.
Location wise is 10mins walk to the main chewang street and quiet convenience

The main building and rooms are very very old and seriously need to be refurnished as very dangerous, gentle TLC is not enough....

To avoid disappointment like us, stay here only after it is renovated and refurnished which advised by them will be in 2014 or you may have the same bad room experience like us.

Good Luck!!

Room Tip: Pls pls avoid Garden View room 204 and requested to change room immediately if u are unlucky to allo...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amerasian69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for five nights in June, although I agree with earlier reviews that the rooms need some modernisation, the service and location by far make up for it. The staff were so helpful, they arranged an excellent tour of the island for us, which included everything we wanted to see. The breakfasts on the beach are very special, I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel. Lovely rooms and bathrooms. Very friendly and staff who prepared our rooms for sleeping each evening, lighting oil burners in the bathroom. A great place away from the hustle and bustle - a 20 minute walk along the beach to nightclubs etc. The beach bar was quite expensive, unless it was happy hour. Lovely breakfasts on the beach. Great pool.

Room Tip: We had adjoining rooms on the ground floor which worked well for 2 families. Quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed here for 8 days. The staff are amazing! Polite, friendly and helpful, trying to accomodate any needs we had. Our room was clean and spacious, and a nice touch was every evening, the staff would deliver home made sweets. If you were out, they would leave them on your bed and light an oil burner in the bathroom. The pool area was lovely, plenty of beds and towel service. Breakfast was great too, served down on the beach in the wooden huts. The grounds to the hotel are lush, lots of wildlife and the staff work hard at the gardening and upkeep of the grounds.
Only negative was parts of the hotel look a little shabby now, and need some due love and attention. For example, up where our room was, there were wooden slats to walk across that were quite shifty, and rotting. Also, the pool / beach umbrellas were dull and faded, some even thread bare with holes in them. A little TLC, and this would be paradise :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jugz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.2 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#58 of 103 in Chaweng
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 103 in Chaweng
2,487 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#6 of 103 in Chaweng
890 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Library
The Library
#25 of 103 in Chaweng
611 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Briza Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muang Kulaypan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muang Kulaypan Hotel

Address: 100 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach | Bophut, Koh Samui, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £256 - £382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muang Kulaypan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ConceptOnce upon a time, in the ancient kingdom of Muang Kulaypan, Java lived the beautiful Princess Budsaba and her brave Prince Panyee - a great warrior and lover. Their love story played muse to folk legend and dance, which travelled over the oceans to the Royal Courts of Ancient Siam. Muang Kulaypan, Koh Samui has drawn inspiration from the legend from which it derives many of its unique architectural traits ensuring the legend of the Budsaba and Panyee still live on today.All rooms and suites surround the expansive landscaping of the Muang Kulaypan central gardens, swimming pool and stretch of golden sand as the shallow cool waters of Chaweng Beach lap against the shoreline. The accommodation buildings merge seamlessly and effortlessly with the lush green foliage, whilst unique sculpture's and artifacts pose scattered throughout the grounds. The raw design and distinct use of culture provide the resort with a timeless appeal and guests an impression of true sanctuary. Location Nestled at the northern entrance to Chaweng Beach, Koh Samui's premier tourism arena, Muang Kulaypan provides convenient access to shopping, activities and nightlife without overcrowding or congestion. This ideal location is within a mere ten minute drive from Koh Samui International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Muang Kulaypan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muang Kulaypan Bophut
Hotel Muang Kulaypan
Muang Kulaypan Hotel Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing