We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most bad and dirty hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Muang Kulaypan Hotel
Ranked #59 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed 31 January 2014

by looking on photos from the website ,we were thinking nice hotel and clean , but this i never see in my life!!! photos NOT real like they act! asking for kingsize and get 2thin matras put together and on a hard wooden bottom on the floor, result= broken when u get up in morning,breakfeast worse!! chairs on the beach :( bathroom= :( hardly water out of shower, toilet=dirty, been 5times to Thailand , NEVER seen this before , and than they have 4* OMG! MANY PICS!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandraleny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuangKulaypan, Muang Kulaypan Management Team at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear sandraleny,

Thank you very much for your details on reviews during your visit. We would like to inform that we will have major renovation through out the hotel in May 2014 to upgrade the hotel and make it more convenient to maximize our guests. During this time, we do have schedule on maintenance and cleaning daily to keep the hotel run until the major renovation. Our engineering team are working on hotel maintenance. Also our housekeeping is working on cleaning the guest rooms and hotel area to keep it cleaned and nice.

For the bedding in the room type you booked is Deluxe Garden, our bedding style is putting the mattresses on upper level of the wooden floor not on the same floor same the walkway.

For breakfast - we have menu for guests to choose and the bread and fruits are always served with every breakfast choice of guests.

However we also will keep you updated our renovation. Thank you once again, and please feel free to contact us should you wish to visit us again on your next return to Samui. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Muang Kulaypan Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed one night before flying back home. The staff is helpful and friendly. The beach is very nice with several huts and tables located next to it. It is quite relaxing to sit there and drink a cold beer. Also, breakfast is served there, with a wide variety of dishes. It is awesome to see the sunrise, while drinking your morning coffee. Room is spacious and also very positively, the wifi is working fine and fast! Will definitely stay there again, as you can relax and enjoy the ocean over there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shleeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuangKulaypan, Muang Kulaypan Management Team at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear shleeger,
Thank you very much for your details on reviews during your visit. We will pass you words to our staff. We would like to inform that we will have major renovation through out the hotel in May 2014 to upgrade the hotel and make it more convenient to maximize our guests. We also will keep you updated our renovation. Thank you once again, and please feel free to contact us should you wish to visit us again on your next return to Samui. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Muang Kulaypan Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I stayed here twice - once a few years back when it was still family owned and again about a year ago. The first time the trip was magical. The service was so warm and so sincere that I never wanted to leave (in fact, I changed my flight out to stay another day). The second time, after it was sold to a new owner, it was still ok, but lacked that special touch that made the first trip so exceptional. I'll probably go again next year, though, since the rest of Koh Samui is, well, pretty developed. If you are looking for something family friendly and a bit removed from the bustle of Chaweng, it's a great place. If Green Mango is your thing, it's probably not the place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuangKulaypan, Muang Kulaypan Management Team at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Paul B,
Thank you very much for your details on reviews during your visit. We will pass you words to our staff. We would like to inform that we will have major renovation through out the hotel in May 2014 to upgrade the hotel and make it more convenient to maximize our guests. We also will keep you updated our renovation. Thank you once again, and please feel free to contact us should you wish to visit us again on your next return to Samui. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Muang Kulaypan Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We only stayed two nights before moving onto Krabi.

It was a great place. The rooms were comfortable and the shower was large. Had free wifi in the room which was great.

We had breakfast which was served on the beach in wooden huts. Did this the first morning, but moved to tables and chairs as more comfortable. still a nice breakfast with a good selection.

We had dinner here one night at the Budsaba Restaurant. Very nice thai food.

The beach was nice and quiet, further along and you get to the Ark Bar which is very noisy! So coming here was just what is needed to relax. Hotel towels are offered which is great too.

You will have to get up early to claim your sun bed as those not staying at the hotel were able to pay to get a bed which was slightly annoying as there aren't many.

I must say the pool didn't look great but actually once you dip your toe in to the warm water you just want to totally submerge yourself. It's the black tiles that make it look unwelcoming. We found it great for the end of the day when the sea starts getting a little bit chilly.

I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Monika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuangKulaypan, Muang Kulaypan Management Team. at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Monika R,
Thank you very much for your details on reviews during your visit. We will pass you words to our staff. We would like to inform that we will have major renovation through out the hotel in May 2014 to upgrade the hotel and make it more convenient to maximize our guests. We also will keep you updated our renovation. Thank you once again, and please feel free to contact us should you wish to visit us again on your next return to Samui. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards, Muang Kulaypan Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Everything was perfect. The location, the staff, the food, the pool, the beach.. Everything! Best Egg Benedict and massaman ever!
Price was low for the quality you get! I have no hesitation in Recommending this hotel to anyone going to samui! :)

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Camus101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuangKulaypan, Muang Kulaypan Management Team. at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Camus101,
Thank you very much for your details on reviews during your visit. We will pass you words to our staff. We would like to inform that we will have major renovation through out the hotel in May 2014 to upgrade the hotel and make it more convenient to maximize our guests. We also will keep you updated our renovation. Thank you once again, and please feel free to contact us should you wish to visit us again on your next return to Samui. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards, Muang Kulaypan Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel was beyond our expectation.. It was really not expensive for what it is. On chewang beach, the food in the restaurant was really good. I had the tagliatelle prawns and it was perfect. The girls in the reception are sooo helpful! Massage on the beach was amazing too and really clean.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anthea297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuangKulaypan, Muang Kulaypan Management Team at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Anthea297,
Thank you very much for your details on reviews during your visit. We will pass you words to our staff. We would like to inform that we will have major renovation through out the hotel in May 2014 to upgrade the hotel and make it more convenient to maximize our guests. We also will keep you updated our renovation. Thank you once again, and please feel free to contact us should you wish to visit us again on your next return to Samui. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards, Muang Kulaypan Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful. Perfect 10 days for us.

Having stayed at Muang Kulaypan for the last week or so I cannot understand the slightly negative reviews about the place needing a facelift etc, we found the hotel to be of a really high standard and excellent value for the location. We have been travelling round Thailand for a month nearly and it's been the best place we have stayed - we didn't want to leave (we actually extended our stay by an extra 4 nights as we enjoyed it so much.)

The room: we stayed in a double ensuite superior room (cheapest one you could get) it was decorated perfectly/tastefully and was spotless. Bedding was soft and clean and we got extra pillows too. The bathroom was clean and spacious and the water was a lovely temperature (in other hotels we have had horrible luke warm water but here was perfect and no odd smells either which we have experienced in other places.)

We felt safe and the place had a really nice feel about it, they've gone into a lot of detail about the history of the place and the way it has been decorated (nice touch I thought.)
One afternoon we came back from a day trip and the hotel had placed little Christmas reefs around every door saying merry Christmas.

The hotel grounds: swimming pool is excellent! Really big compared to a lot of pools around here. The gardens are kept really well and I would say are the hotels best feature, whenever we have been outside there is always someone keeping it all trim. Also another feature which is great are lovely little huts on the beach that look out at the water, you can sit at these and have food/drinks which I thought was a really really nice way of some privacy when your eating etc.

Breakfast: you eat these in the huts, this is something that a lot of people have complained about (unnecessarily I feel) it was included in the cost of the room for us and we found it to be of good standard (thailand breakfasts will never be the same as a good old English/American breakfast) but what we had was better than any other English breakfast we've had in thailand (2 sausages, bacon, mushrooms, beans, potatoes and tomatoe.) You also got croissants and toast and fresh fruit with anything you order. There was ALOT of choice other than what we had: steak, cheese and eggs, continental breakfast, thai style breakfast, omelette...) list was big and very impressive.
Don't know whether they had changed their menu since the last review but to me it was as good as, if not better than any other restaurant we've been to for breakfast.

Other things:
Wifi: really good connection in room and also at the pool/huts on the beach.
Staff: really helpful and extended our stay upon our request with ease as we enjoyed our first few nights so much.

Overall: 10/10 I really wouldn't pay too much attention to the negative comments below about the upkeep of the place, yes from the outside it doesn't look maybe as nice as other resorts down the beach but once you step inside the front door and out into the gardens, the rooms and the beach I was blown away and not expecting it either as I had read previous reviews and expecting the worse.
For us we couldn't have picked a better place and we were very impressed.

Thanks for having us Muang Kulaypan, if we are ever lucky enough to come back to Thailand we would stay again and certainly recommend you to others.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AimeeJ89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuangKulaypan, Muang Kulaypan Management Team at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear AimeeJ89,
Thank you very much for your details on reviews during your visit. We will pass you words to our staff. We would like to inform that we will have major renovation through out the hotel in 2014 to upgrade the hotel and make it more convenient to maximize our guests. We also will keep you updated our renovation. Thank you once again, and please feel free to contact us should you wish to visit us again on your next return to Samui. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards, Muang Kulaypan Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.2 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#56 of 104 in Chaweng
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chura Samui
Chura Samui
#22 of 104 in Chaweng
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa De Mar
Casa De Mar
#13 of 104 in Chaweng
419 reviews
0.5 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#70 of 185 in Bophut
509 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muang Kulaypan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muang Kulaypan Hotel

Address: 100 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach | Bophut, Koh Samui, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £279 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muang Kulaypan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ConceptOnce upon a time, in the ancient kingdom of Muang Kulaypan, Java lived the beautiful Princess Budsaba and her brave Prince Panyee - a great warrior and lover. Their love story played muse to folk legend and dance, which travelled over the oceans to the Royal Courts of Ancient Siam. Muang Kulaypan, Koh Samui has drawn inspiration from the legend from which it derives many of its unique architectural traits ensuring the legend of the Budsaba and Panyee still live on today.All rooms and suites surround the expansive landscaping of the Muang Kulaypan central gardens, swimming pool and stretch of golden sand as the shallow cool waters of Chaweng Beach lap against the shoreline. The accommodation buildings merge seamlessly and effortlessly with the lush green foliage, whilst unique sculpture's and artifacts pose scattered throughout the grounds. The raw design and distinct use of culture provide the resort with a timeless appeal and guests an impression of true sanctuary. Location Nestled at the northern entrance to Chaweng Beach, Koh Samui's premier tourism arena, Muang Kulaypan provides convenient access to shopping, activities and nightlife without overcrowding or congestion. This ideal location is within a mere ten minute drive from Koh Samui International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Muang Kulaypan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muang Kulaypan Bophut
Hotel Muang Kulaypan
Muang Kulaypan Hotel Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing