We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
Ranked #30 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2008

We stayed here for our honeymoon from June 20 till June 25 2008. Great room, lovely pool area and generous breakfast. The location is a little bit inconvenient and really takes about 25 to 30 minutes to walk to the town centre, but as in other reviews it doesn't cost much to get a taxi (dont pay more than 150 baht) or a tuk-tuk (don't pay more than 100 baht) to get to and from the heart of Chaweng.
A word on airport taxis - if you have not arranged an airport transfer to your hotel, do not be fooled by the people who greet you at the airport when you arrive in Samui who tell you that there are no metered taxis and the fare will be 400 baht to get to Chaweng. It is true that the taxi drivers do not put their meters on in Samui, but just walk out of the airport terminal and pay no more than 300 baht to get to Chaweng. This is overpriced compared to what you would pay in a Bangkok metered taxi but the best airport taxi fare you are likely to get on Samui.
If you are booking a tour, go to the tour offices in Chaweng and the prices are generally negotiable by about 100 to 150 baht. The tours are all run by the same companies so do not book these trips at hotels or with the American or English tour operators, it is obvious that they take a generous cut and are not willing to negotiate on price.
We did the jungle safari tour for 1500 baht each which was excellent and worth every cent. We also did the snorkelling day trip to Koh Tao which was also brilliant and well worth the 1500 baht each.
We found the restaraunts on the main street of Chaweng to be good value for money and great food, we highly recommend Weiner Snitzel or Will Wait restaraunt. The only hotel restaraunt we ate at was the one at the Muang Samui Hotel just to experience the beachfront dining atmosphere. The food here was great but these upmarket restarants charge you a 10% service fee as well as 7% VAT on top of their menu prices.
We loved Samui in general and were happy with our hotel but if we visit again we would probably stay a bit closer to the main part of Chaweng.

  • Liked — pool area
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SLPMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    185
    65
    23
    23
See reviews for
61
312
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2008

I just came back from Koh Samui, where my husband and I stayed at the Baan Haad Ngam for four nights. I usually get homesick on my vacations, but this time I realized that I was actually sad to leave this hotel.

The location of this small boutique hotel is great - it's in Chaweng, but about a 15 minute walk away from all the hustle and bustle of the center (the hotel has a free shuttle to the center, but oddly enough, only until 5pm - and if you've been to Koh Samui before, you know that last thing you want to do during the day is walk around and shop in the blistering sun). Do yourself a favor and take a taxi for 150 baht - there are always taxis hanging around the hotel corner, waiting to take you into the city.

We stayed in the deluxe room, which was simply perfect. They pre-cooled our room prior to our arrival, and lit an aromatherapy candle so that it smelled nice when we checked in, which was a nice touch. The maids make different animals from the fresh towels every day - which, however cheesy it sounds, was a cute detail.

The room was comfortable, the jacuzzi great. The breakfast was also nice, and the beach simply PERFECT! We did not eat at the restaurant Olivio, but I would suggest The Red Snapper in Chaweng Center, which was also Italian and very delicious.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again - would probably try to villa next time just to mix it up.

  • Liked — beaituful beach, great room
  • Disliked — the walk to Chaweng center in the blistering sun!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank levd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2008

The Baan Haad Ngam is located at the northern end of Chaweng Beach although not, by any means, isolated from the main shopping area or any of the action. The best way to get into town is a stroll along the beach.

The villa room we booked was perfect - huge bed, plenty of storage / hanging space and great bathroom with two sinks (essential!). The room was also very large, clean and fresh flowers always.

The restaurant (Olivio's) next to the pool was open and had a great view of the beach. The breakfast selection was fantastic and, although we ate Thai most of the time, Olivio's is considered to be the best Italian restaurant on Koh Samui and the food was terrific with a lot of fresh local seafood on the menu. While on the dining side of things, we highly recommend Eat Sense for dinner when in Koh Samui.

The pool is not quite as large as it appears in photos, however, still lovely and clean. We stayed in low season so I imagine that it could be difficult to secure a banana lounge when it is a little busier. That being said, we never had any trouble finding a spot to lay in the sun.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Would love to return (sooner rather than later!) and could not recommend the Baan Haad Ngam highly enough.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank EscapeeMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2008

We stayed in one of the villa's, the room was lovely with tv and dvd player with a huge bed.

We walked along the beach every night to go out as the beach resturants are alot nicer then the high st. Nightlife finishes at 2 am most people go to the beach bars first then head on to the bar/clubs in high st at about 11pm. walk from the beach into town only takes about 15 mins. If you get a taxi we paid 100 baht they always ask for 200 to start.

Staff where very friendly bringing us our cocktails to our room at happy hour. Food at the hotel is fab and getting the bar b q sweetcorn on the beach for 50 baht is lovely.

I recommend the blue lagoon resturant along the beach.

Recommend going to the full moon party, not just trance music but upto date dance music and everyone so friendly. We booked our speedboat through the hotel. The beach party at the arc is on wed and sats.

When using the internet which i found to be fast, please rem you mossi spray as thats where they all are. Seems to be the only time I got bitten was using the comp in reception.

I would go back and stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — Location and size of rooms
  • Disliked — not enough beds around pool, but they where helpful enough to keep you one everyday
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank leigh30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2008

What a great hotel north of the main area of Chaweng. It's only a few minutes by cab from the busy area (200 baht one way for 4 people) which was great as we could escape the hustle and bustle which is Chaweng.

The infinity pool was awesome. There's nothing like drinking a cocktail (go the 2 for 1 cocktails between 5pmto7pm) in the pool, leaning on the edge looking out towards the ocean that's only meters away and watching the day end, just perfect!

The staff couldn't do enough for us. They were so helpful and wonderfully warm.

The coconut jam and papaya jam at breakfast was delicious. So much so that after commenting how much i loved it one of the waiters arranged for two jars the next day. The espresso in the morning for breakfast was some of the best coffee we've tasted in the world and we're coffee snobs so appreciate the good stuff.

The rooms were very nice though a little too dark at night time. The shower head was massived, at least 20 cms wide. It was like showering under a waterfall.

The day spa was so cheap and we got a 45 minute body scrub and 1 hour oil massage for less than $60AUD. BARGAIN!

If we every went back to Koh Samui we would def stay here again.

WARNING on tailoring. We went to thaiarmanisuits.com and whilst the guys were happy with their suits, jackets and shirts the girls hated, yes hated their items. They decided that tailors are good for guys stuff but for girls items that require attention to finer details they just couldn't get it right with the fit. The jackets, skirts and suits just didn't fit how they wanted and they were extremely disapointed and will never do this again in Thailand. This is a comment about tailors in general and not directed to the company we used. The process, is you have two fittings and that's it. The next time you see your items is when you own then. WARNING. If the material you've selected for an item you're getting from a magazine is different to what's being copied it will not turn out the same. We learnt the hard way. We wanted a nice casual jacket, picked material that we thought we liked and it turned out looking like a corporate jacket. This was our fault as we picked material that looked nothing like what was in the magazine. It was a different material, colour entirely. Don't pick a suit materials for a jacket that looks casual/distressed.

  • Liked — Staff and the cocktails
  • Disliked — Slow internet and dark rooms at night.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mand06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2007

Stayed at the BHN for a week in December and were hugely impressed. We arrived late, and were given a comfortable chair, a glass of iced water and a warm towel while the reception staff checked us in.

We were in a standard room (booked through expedia – c. £80 pn excluding taxes), and this included a spacious main area with a large bed, a bathroom with two-person Jacuzzi bath, separate his and hers sinks, and separate shower room and toilet. These were all immaculate, and the daily maid service was extremely thorough. There was a small patio area outside the main door for sitting out, overlooking the beautiful landscaped terrace.

Staff came round every evening to turn down the bed, and the fresh towels provided every morning were skilfully arranged into a different 'sculpture' every morning. Also provided were a plug in mosquito repellent, and an oil burning repellent too.

The pool area was gorgeous. We visited at a fairly quiet time, so getting a bed wasn't a problem (I imagine that in peak season, it can feel fairly claustrophobic though, as the sun loungers were all fairly close together). The poolside service was excellent, and I can especially recommend the chicken satay, and the 2 for 1 cocktails from the poolside menu! The infinity pool was great, though to cool down properly, you had to take a dip in the sea, which was only a few steps further away than the pool itself.

We dined at Olivio's (the onsite evening restaurant) once, and it too was excellent, with a beautiful view down the length of Chaweng beach, and top drawer food and service. In the evening, once the tide was out, it was possible to walk directly down the beach to the busier areas.

In terms of location – BHN is positioned right at the northern extremity of Chaweng, and is therefore very peaceful day and night, and there's no passing foot traffic. It is far enough away from Central Chaweng to feel like it’s a different resort. To walk down to the main strip is a 20 minute undertaking if you walk down the road (quite uncomfortable in the heat, and not fully paved, though they put on a free shuttle 4 times daily), but only 10 minutes pleasant stroll past the more top end resorts if you walk down the beach.

Location – great. Service and facilities – great. Cost – damn good compared to what you'd get in the UK for that price! I'd recommend the BHN to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 77dockers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2007

We went here for our honeymoon and were greeted with exceptional service, a mocktail, then escourted to our room where they had spelt out congratulations on our bed, filled our spa and sprinkled it with petals, a bottle of champagne, flowers and a fruit basket... The staff were all very helpful, the room spectacular, the pool area pristine, we spent a lot of time there!!!

The only downside was how far down the beach we were, but mostly we just chilled by the pool, in the evenings got babs down to the hub, as it was too hot to walk...

Would highly recommend it as a beautiful getaway!

  • Liked — I cant choose, it was wonderful!
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Briza Beach Resort Samui
0.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#51 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
2.3 mi away
Samui Paradise Chaweng Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas

Property: Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
Address: 154 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the finest traditions of Thai architecture with modern European conveniences Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa is the ideal place to escape from it all. Fifty one luxuriously appointed rooms and villas, each with its own Jacuzzi for two have been designed to meet your every need and to allow you to rest and rejuvenate in a tranquil and naturally beautiful setting. From our Award Winning Italian and International restaurant, Olivio Italian cuisine, featuring the finest cuisine along our unspoiled beach to our signature Satira Herbal Spa offering the latest in all-natural therapeutic treatments, your every need will be catered to in legendary Thai style.Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa, a simply unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Hotel Chaweng
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing