We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run Forest, run!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
Ranked #37 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Run Forest, run!”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We - a family with young child - arrived at this hotel with great expectations for a wonderful holiday in Thailand. Unfortunately, it was a big difference from the pictures we have seen on the website and the reality. The hotel is placed on a top of a hill, so if you want to go to the beach you have to walk down a lot of steps, which you also have to climb up at return. The beach is almost inexistent, and it is completely covered by the sea during the tide. The existent pool is very small and it is almost impossible to find 2-3 sunbeds one near the other, as some smart guys are coming early morning and put some Tshirts or books on almost all the sundbeds at the pool. This was also the reason we asked our travel agency to move us out to another hotel (Anantara) after only 2 days spent here. The room (we choosed a superior vila) was very noisy, as it is next to a secondary street, and we could hear all the bikes and motors noise even earlier than the sun rises. The italian restaurant - Olivio - is very expensive, taking in account the plenty of similar restaurants you can find on the main street. The very nice view of the sea does not worth the prices you must pay versus the street restaurants (double for food, 3-5 times more for the drinks).
The only plus I can find to this hotel is the quality of the staff, who is very helpful and really wants to help you feel good, even if they cannot do anything to improve the premises.

Room Tip: The superior vilas are quite near the street, and therefore very noisy. Try to avoid, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katt21211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    194
    68
    23
    26
See reviews for
64
323
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We recently traveled to thailand for a bachelors party. Doing logistics for 15 guys is no easy feat. From the time we chose to stay at Baan Haad Ngam they assisted us with rooms and accommodated us without any hassle. When we eventually arrived at the hotel there was an issue with the fact that 2 rooms werent ready for us yet (however I think this was mainly due to the fact the previous guests did not leave on time). In any case this was a bit of a let down as we had made the booking at least a month in advance and expected that the rooms be ready when we arrived after our long travel from SA.

Other than this initial hiccup the service was great and we felt very well looked after. 15 guys can get quite noisy however they never made life difficult for us and instead aimed to facilitate our general good time.

The rooms were in great condition and quite spacious. The pool area was as one can imagine beautiful and picturesque. However the beach did tend to disappear with the tide on a daily basis, not a train smash though. This hotel is close enough to the main chaweng party area yet far enough to feel like you can escape.

All in all a great place to stay for groups. Good service and great value.

Room Tip: Try get a room on the lower half of the hotel. I.e. nearer to the pool. I think the rooms that start...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGMT_BaanHaadNgam, Manager at Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your recent experience at our Resort. We are pleased to hear your stay was exceptional. Hearing feedback such as yours is one of the many reasons our staff takes such great pride in being able to provide the most bespoke service possible.

We would love to welcome you back soon and hopefully for a Honeymoon or another bachelor parties?

With warmest regards,

The Management
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

It all began even before we arrived. Although we were required to pay at check-in, hotel emailed me a week before our arrival, saying we needed to pay half the price immediately because it was the high season. Also, since we were staying for the Dec 31st, we had to pay a COMPULSORY new years gala price (350$ for 2 people). I said neither was in my reservation and thus I wouldn't pay it. They threatened me with dropping my reservation days before my travel. Only when I called the agency and told them about this, they called the hotel and reversed the mistakes.

Mistakes followed at the checkin. They told us that our room was not available for the first night due to an AC repair and put us in a much worse room but tried to charge the same. I tried to argue saying that this can't happen, but since nobody speaks half-decent English it was in vain. They only made a symbolic discount.

When we finally got to our room on the second day, it was not clean. Huge windows overlooking the pool were so dirty we hardly saw outside. Ceiling over the shower leaked in the middle of the night. Sheets and towels were dirty, spotty and torn in places. Attention to detail was none.

The land next to the hotel was a construction site and we never got peace or the privacy we wanted. I guess that's not the problem of the hotel but Thailand Tourism Authority should not allow construction during high season, just like we have one in Turkey.

Overall, this hotel was one of the worst hotels I have ever been to. When you add that it was a 450$-per-night room, it's a disgrace. I am urging people not to go there at all, ruined our long awaited holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGMT_BaanHaadNgam, Manager at Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving feedback about your recent stay in Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa. We sincerely regret our accommodations and services did not live up to your expectations.

Do allow us to clarify, threaten is not something we practice. We have investigated and our reservations were nothing but polite. During your staying period we were running a high occupancy and it is the hotel duty to make sure that all booking is confirmed 100%. This is a standard practice as the hotel has blocked the room for you and should you unable to travel, we must reassign the room to the waitlisted customers.

Also, the New Year’s Eve Gala dinner is compulsory. This is part of the deal when staying over New Year and it is the policy of most of the hotels in Koh Samui. Many of the guests enjoyed the party because we put our hard work and dedications to ensure our guests will receive the best value for money.

When notified of any defects in the room will gladly repair and will take care of the issues promptly. However, you do not really give the readers the whole truth in your post. We did provided room rate discount to your so called “much worse room” which by the way, it is our second highly requested villa with private pool, large space and located close to the beach. It is not fair to exaggerate your comment.

Although we fell short to meet your expectations, we do want to acknowledge that we appreciate your business and value you as a guest of Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa.

Sincerely,

The Management
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balzan, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Squeaky clean rooms, friendly staff, gorgeous location........staying here was a lovely experience! The baan haad ngam is slightly out of the way compared to the other hotels in chaweng but the 20minute walk to the main street was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nardu33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGMT_BaanHaadNgam, Manager at Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for choosing Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa for your vacation in Koh Samui. Hearing feedback such as yours is one of the many reasons our Staff takes great pride in being able to provide the most exceptional service possible.

We appreciate all of your wonderful feedback and it would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back for many years to come.

With warmest regards,

The Management
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Baan Haad Ngam. It was very clean and our pool villa room was amazing! Breakfast was full of selection and the pool was very private. This resort lets you escape some of the craziness but still be within walking distance of activities. Would definitely stay here again. Oh, you can't beat 2-4-1s during happy hour!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGMT_BaanHaadNgam, Manager at Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your warm and kind review. We are glad to hear that your stay was wonderful at Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa. We are always working on having high standards in hospitality and we are glad to know that we are walking the right path.

Looking forward to your next visit.

With warmeat regards,

The Management
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stayed here with my partner for 6 nights over the Christmas period. We stayed in a deluxe villa which was big, clean, decent bed and a good bathroom including separate sinks, a jacuzzi bath and separate shower.

The hotel pool is gorgeous and looks out over the sea, the cocktails were slightly over priced but this can be expected from most resorts. The food served at Olivios was some of the best we experienced on the island, the breakfast served there too was also fantastic!

My only problem with the hotel was the members of staff who carried our bags to our room, they hung about awkwardly for a tip at the end, with this being our first stop of our trip we had little cash on us and we're laughed at for only being able to produce 100baht, we found this very offensive and slightly embarrassing.

However despite this I would still recommend anybody to visit this hotel, without that initial experience it would have been perfect.

Room Tip: Deluxe villas were very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGMT_BaanHaadNgam, Manager at Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa. We appreciate your kind comments about our amenities and about the wonderful swimming pool and food from our Olivio restuarant.

We are pleased to hear your stay was beyond expectations. However, we sincerely apologize, that one of our Bell staff may have had unintenionally offended you and we have shared your comment with our Front Office Manager so that we can address such manner. We strive to make sure our service is100 percent perfection and we hope you will return soon.

With warmest regards,

The Management
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for our honeymoon trip at January. There was a free shuttle car waiting for us at the Samui airport (5-10 minutes drive). Upon arrival we got a nice bouquet and a bottle of champagne. The room was very nice, but not new as appear in some the photos. The breakfast was very good, a lot of options. The hotel has a nice but small pool right on the beach. There is no private beach but the next beach is about 20 meters from there so this is not a real problem. The restaurant has daily happy hour for drinks and lunch, for very low prices and good food.
The only drawback was the hotel location. It is located at the far end of Chew and it is about 15 minutes walk to the center, not that bad, but part of the road is no lighted and not well paved. We walked it most times, when we used a taxi they charged between 200-300 BHT per one direction.

We got 2 complementary bottles of mineral water every day.
WiFi is free around the hotel.

They let you borrow books and newspapers at the pool and they also have sun screen to use at the pool.

We really enjoyed our stay and we highly recommend it.
Consider the location and if this is not a big issue for you, you will love it.
Enjoy :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Yehuda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa De Mar
Casa De Mar
#17 of 104 in Chaweng
381 reviews
2.1 mi away
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
#38 of 104 in Chaweng
699 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#6 of 104 in Chaweng
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,821 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,454 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Briza Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas

Property: Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
Address: 154 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#22 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the finest traditions of Thai architecture with modern European conveniences Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa is the ideal place to escape from it all. Fifty one luxuriously appointed rooms and villas, each with its own Jacuzzi for two have been designed to meet your every need and to allow you to rest and rejuvenate in a tranquil and naturally beautiful setting. From our Award Winning Italian and International restaurant, Olivio Italian cuisine, featuring the finest cuisine along our unspoiled beach to our signature Satira Herbal Spa offering the latest in all-natural therapeutic treatments, your every need will be catered to in legendary Thai style.Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa, a simply unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Hotel Chaweng
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing