We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gave us a perfect honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
Ranked #40 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Location: Excellent for us. If you want to party, maybe not as much for you, but if you want to mostly relax and don't mind a 15-20 minute beach walk to get to the party, it's perfect. We loved taking our long strolls, going to a bar or club for a few drinks, but then having the peace and quiet back where we were staying. I especially liked the way the waves crashed against the wall of the restaurant/pool area during high tide (only ankle deep or so at most, you can still walk in it easily). It was beautiful.

Property: Immaculate. The infinity pool was clear and perfectly clean and there was never a shortage of shady chairs to lounge in to gaze out at the pool and the ocean. The garden/hill area is beautiful as well, with koi ponds and waterfalls that make the walk down to the beach rather magical, day or night.

Service: Warm, friendly, helpful. Herbal drink and flowers given at check-in, people always happy to give us advice. Room service and room-related requests always prompt. Never felt like I was inconveniencing anyone.

Room: Very clean, romantically appointed. Lighting could have been a little brighter but the big windows onto the veranda fixed that most of the time. If you keep your windows uncovered, it's possible for others to see in, but even just the little white curtain can stop that while still giving you plenty of light. We didn't feel "exposed" or anything. I don't think I'd prefer a ground floor room (note, we requested non-ground-floor and they obliged.)

They light an aromatherapy burner when they do up the room so it always smells wonderful when you return. We enjoyed our daily towel animals as well. The bed was not "cushy" necessarily but it was very comfortable. Air conditioning worked extremely effectively.

We didn't see a single mosquito while we were there, though we did have a cute gecko one night, but I see that more as a bonus. ;)

Food: Breakfast had a large selection including fruits and meats and all sorts of good stuff. Lunch wise, we tried a few pastas and thai dishes, all good, I had a club sandwich one day that was nice but my husband's hamburger wasn't as good. We had dinner at the restaurant (Olivio's) a couple times, both good. Prices were a little high though, compared to the other restaurants in the area.

We didn't use the spa, because it cost too much.

I highly recommend this to anyone wanting a dreamy samui vacation!

Room Tip: Non-ground floor room seem nicer and more private. We requested one and got it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roguefishfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 597 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

We had a great time, the location was perfect, right in the middle of all the action. The rooms were just ok, certainly nothing fancy, but it was clean and did have a nice big balcony. The outside of the hotel was beautiful with tall lush tropical landscaping and a nice pool. The restaurant food was mediocre at best, it included a free breakfast, but don't expect much. The staff were ok, not as friendly or welcoming as most we stayed in. But it was right on the beach near :The Ark Bar" and close to all the bars and restauarants.

Room Tip: go for location and action not quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileenpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We - a family with young child - arrived at this hotel with great expectations for a wonderful holiday in Thailand. Unfortunately, it was a big difference from the pictures we have seen on the website and the reality. The hotel is placed on a top of a hill, so if you want to go to the beach you have to walk down a lot of steps, which you also have to climb up at return. The beach is almost inexistent, and it is completely covered by the sea during the tide. The existent pool is very small and it is almost impossible to find 2-3 sunbeds one near the other, as some smart guys are coming early morning and put some Tshirts or books on almost all the sundbeds at the pool. This was also the reason we asked our travel agency to move us out to another hotel (Anantara) after only 2 days spent here. The room (we choosed a superior vila) was very noisy, as it is next to a secondary street, and we could hear all the bikes and motors noise even earlier than the sun rises. The italian restaurant - Olivio - is very expensive, taking in account the plenty of similar restaurants you can find on the main street. The very nice view of the sea does not worth the prices you must pay versus the street restaurants (double for food, 3-5 times more for the drinks).
The only plus I can find to this hotel is the quality of the staff, who is very helpful and really wants to help you feel good, even if they cannot do anything to improve the premises.

Room Tip: The superior vilas are quite near the street, and therefore very noisy. Try to avoid, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katt21211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We recently traveled to thailand for a bachelors party. Doing logistics for 15 guys is no easy feat. From the time we chose to stay at Baan Haad Ngam they assisted us with rooms and accommodated us without any hassle. When we eventually arrived at the hotel there was an issue with the fact that 2 rooms werent ready for us yet (however I think this was mainly due to the fact the previous guests did not leave on time). In any case this was a bit of a let down as we had made the booking at least a month in advance and expected that the rooms be ready when we arrived after our long travel from SA.

Other than this initial hiccup the service was great and we felt very well looked after. 15 guys can get quite noisy however they never made life difficult for us and instead aimed to facilitate our general good time.

The rooms were in great condition and quite spacious. The pool area was as one can imagine beautiful and picturesque. However the beach did tend to disappear with the tide on a daily basis, not a train smash though. This hotel is close enough to the main chaweng party area yet far enough to feel like you can escape.

All in all a great place to stay for groups. Good service and great value.

Room Tip: Try get a room on the lower half of the hotel. I.e. nearer to the pool. I think the rooms that start...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGMT_BaanHaadNgam, Manager at Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your recent experience at our Resort. We are pleased to hear your stay was exceptional. Hearing feedback such as yours is one of the many reasons our staff takes such great pride in being able to provide the most bespoke service possible.

We would love to welcome you back soon and hopefully for a Honeymoon or another bachelor parties?

With warmest regards,

The Management
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

It all began even before we arrived. Although we were required to pay at check-in, hotel emailed me a week before our arrival, saying we needed to pay half the price immediately because it was the high season. Also, since we were staying for the Dec 31st, we had to pay a COMPULSORY new years gala price (350$ for 2 people). I said neither was in my reservation and thus I wouldn't pay it. They threatened me with dropping my reservation days before my travel. Only when I called the agency and told them about this, they called the hotel and reversed the mistakes.

Mistakes followed at the checkin. They told us that our room was not available for the first night due to an AC repair and put us in a much worse room but tried to charge the same. I tried to argue saying that this can't happen, but since nobody speaks half-decent English it was in vain. They only made a symbolic discount.

When we finally got to our room on the second day, it was not clean. Huge windows overlooking the pool were so dirty we hardly saw outside. Ceiling over the shower leaked in the middle of the night. Sheets and towels were dirty, spotty and torn in places. Attention to detail was none.

The land next to the hotel was a construction site and we never got peace or the privacy we wanted. I guess that's not the problem of the hotel but Thailand Tourism Authority should not allow construction during high season, just like we have one in Turkey.

Overall, this hotel was one of the worst hotels I have ever been to. When you add that it was a 450$-per-night room, it's a disgrace. I am urging people not to go there at all, ruined our long awaited holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sinanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGMT_BaanHaadNgam, Manager at Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving feedback about your recent stay in Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa. We sincerely regret our accommodations and services did not live up to your expectations.

Do allow us to clarify, threaten is not something we practice. We have investigated and our reservations were nothing but polite. During your staying period we were running a high occupancy and it is the hotel duty to make sure that all booking is confirmed 100%. This is a standard practice as the hotel has blocked the room for you and should you unable to travel, we must reassign the room to the waitlisted customers.

Also, the New Year’s Eve Gala dinner is compulsory. This is part of the deal when staying over New Year and it is the policy of most of the hotels in Koh Samui. Many of the guests enjoyed the party because we put our hard work and dedications to ensure our guests will receive the best value for money.

When notified of any defects in the room will gladly repair and will take care of the issues promptly. However, you do not really give the readers the whole truth in your post. We did provided room rate discount to your so called “much worse room” which by the way, it is our second highly requested villa with private pool, large space and located close to the beach. It is not fair to exaggerate your comment.

Although we fell short to meet your expectations, we do want to acknowledge that we appreciate your business and value you as a guest of Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa.

Sincerely,

The Management
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Squeaky clean rooms, friendly staff, gorgeous location........staying here was a lovely experience! The baan haad ngam is slightly out of the way compared to the other hotels in chaweng but the 20minute walk to the main street was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nardu33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGMT_BaanHaadNgam, Manager at Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for choosing Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa for your vacation in Koh Samui. Hearing feedback such as yours is one of the many reasons our Staff takes great pride in being able to provide the most exceptional service possible.

We appreciate all of your wonderful feedback and it would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back for many years to come.

With warmest regards,

The Management
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Baan Haad Ngam. It was very clean and our pool villa room was amazing! Breakfast was full of selection and the pool was very private. This resort lets you escape some of the craziness but still be within walking distance of activities. Would definitely stay here again. Oh, you can't beat 2-4-1s during happy hour!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGMT_BaanHaadNgam, Manager at Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your warm and kind review. We are glad to hear that your stay was wonderful at Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa. We are always working on having high standards in hospitality and we are glad to know that we are walking the right path.

Looking forward to your next visit.

With warmeat regards,

The Management
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0 mi away
Casa De Mar
Casa De Mar
#10 of 103 in Chaweng
485 reviews
2.1 mi away
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
#44 of 103 in Chaweng
751 reviews
1.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 103 in Chaweng
1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#12 of 103 in Chaweng
2,638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#6 of 103 in Chaweng
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas

Address: 154 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £52 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the finest traditions of Thai architecture with modern European conveniences Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas is the ideal place to escape from it all. Fifty one luxuriously appointed rooms and villas, each with its own Jacuzzi for two have been designed to meet your every need and to allow you to rest and rejuvenate in a tranquil and naturally beautiful setting. Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas, a simply unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Hotel Chaweng
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing