We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the pool villa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
Ranked #39 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go for the pool villa”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at tha pool villa on the first floor. Great view and the best part was the open jacuzzi just next to our private pool. Breakfast was just passable. Location wise its little far from all the buzz chwaeng has to offer.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Arjchawla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    187
    67
    23
    26
See reviews for
62
317
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Last hotel located at the end of the beach & quieter Northern side of Chaweng (reason why we chose this hotel). Hotel does not have a useable beach area due to the ocean tides. Very small and cramped infinity pool side area & some construction noise/activity from next door property. We stayed in the main hotel section where the superior rooms are located. There is very little privacy if staying in the “superior rooms” as no patio “barrier” between rooms; and two blocks of rooms face each other. We needed to constantly close our curtains, and did not enjoy looking into other guest’s rooms. Our room (201) was located next to the reception area, so even less privacy with the traffic which passes through there, and could hear the phones ringing in the reception area & staff arriving early in the morning. We stayed here during the Chinese New Year period, and the noise from these guests gathering at reception in the mornings was terrible. The worst was having to look at their laundry draped & hanging all over their patios … someone must have run out of patio space and decided the area next to our room front door could be used to dry their clothes! It felt like we were staying in a “Laundromat”! Breakfast was good with adequate selection. The tour desk staff was very helpful; the hotel manager assisted us with shower facilities in their spa on day we checked out; outside porter/s always assisted us to park our motorbike & a pool side waiter was always helpful & friendly….. Staff all round were always very friendly & helpful. We walked past the “private pool villas” which look like they would be a better option. For us, we would not stay here again purely because of the lack of privacy whilst in our room & cramped space around the pool area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 682Joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We had a de luxe villa. Perfect. Nice location and garden. Very fresh buffet breakfast and with dinner we had twice pizza's which were of excellent quality. Also the wine was perfect. Very friendly staff. Though the general location was, at he end of the beach, quiet and good, we expected more beach in front of the hotel. With high tigh there was no beach. With a little walk through the water the beach started at about 20 meters.
In total we can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBernaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daegu, South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Location: Excellent for us. If you want to party, maybe not as much for you, but if you want to mostly relax and don't mind a 15-20 minute beach walk to get to the party, it's perfect. We loved taking our long strolls, going to a bar or club for a few drinks, but then having the peace and quiet back where we were staying. I especially liked the way the waves crashed against the wall of the restaurant/pool area during high tide (only ankle deep or so at most, you can still walk in it easily). It was beautiful.

Property: Immaculate. The infinity pool was clear and perfectly clean and there was never a shortage of shady chairs to lounge in to gaze out at the pool and the ocean. The garden/hill area is beautiful as well, with koi ponds and waterfalls that make the walk down to the beach rather magical, day or night.

Service: Warm, friendly, helpful. Herbal drink and flowers given at check-in, people always happy to give us advice. Room service and room-related requests always prompt. Never felt like I was inconveniencing anyone.

Room: Very clean, romantically appointed. Lighting could have been a little brighter but the big windows onto the veranda fixed that most of the time. If you keep your windows uncovered, it's possible for others to see in, but even just the little white curtain can stop that while still giving you plenty of light. We didn't feel "exposed" or anything. I don't think I'd prefer a ground floor room (note, we requested non-ground-floor and they obliged.)

They light an aromatherapy burner when they do up the room so it always smells wonderful when you return. We enjoyed our daily towel animals as well. The bed was not "cushy" necessarily but it was very comfortable. Air conditioning worked extremely effectively.

We didn't see a single mosquito while we were there, though we did have a cute gecko one night, but I see that more as a bonus. ;)

Food: Breakfast had a large selection including fruits and meats and all sorts of good stuff. Lunch wise, we tried a few pastas and thai dishes, all good, I had a club sandwich one day that was nice but my husband's hamburger wasn't as good. We had dinner at the restaurant (Olivio's) a couple times, both good. Prices were a little high though, compared to the other restaurants in the area.

We didn't use the spa, because it cost too much.

I highly recommend this to anyone wanting a dreamy samui vacation!

Room Tip: Non-ground floor room seem nicer and more private. We requested one and got it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roguefishfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garland, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We had a great time, the location was perfect, right in the middle of all the action. The rooms were just ok, certainly nothing fancy, but it was clean and did have a nice big balcony. The outside of the hotel was beautiful with tall lush tropical landscaping and a nice pool. The restaurant food was mediocre at best, it included a free breakfast, but don't expect much. The staff were ok, not as friendly or welcoming as most we stayed in. But it was right on the beach near :The Ark Bar" and close to all the bars and restauarants.

Room Tip: go for location and action not quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileenpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We - a family with young child - arrived at this hotel with great expectations for a wonderful holiday in Thailand. Unfortunately, it was a big difference from the pictures we have seen on the website and the reality. The hotel is placed on a top of a hill, so if you want to go to the beach you have to walk down a lot of steps, which you also have to climb up at return. The beach is almost inexistent, and it is completely covered by the sea during the tide. The existent pool is very small and it is almost impossible to find 2-3 sunbeds one near the other, as some smart guys are coming early morning and put some Tshirts or books on almost all the sundbeds at the pool. This was also the reason we asked our travel agency to move us out to another hotel (Anantara) after only 2 days spent here. The room (we choosed a superior vila) was very noisy, as it is next to a secondary street, and we could hear all the bikes and motors noise even earlier than the sun rises. The italian restaurant - Olivio - is very expensive, taking in account the plenty of similar restaurants you can find on the main street. The very nice view of the sea does not worth the prices you must pay versus the street restaurants (double for food, 3-5 times more for the drinks).
The only plus I can find to this hotel is the quality of the staff, who is very helpful and really wants to help you feel good, even if they cannot do anything to improve the premises.

Room Tip: The superior vilas are quite near the street, and therefore very noisy. Try to avoid, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katt21211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We recently traveled to thailand for a bachelors party. Doing logistics for 15 guys is no easy feat. From the time we chose to stay at Baan Haad Ngam they assisted us with rooms and accommodated us without any hassle. When we eventually arrived at the hotel there was an issue with the fact that 2 rooms werent ready for us yet (however I think this was mainly due to the fact the previous guests did not leave on time). In any case this was a bit of a let down as we had made the booking at least a month in advance and expected that the rooms be ready when we arrived after our long travel from SA.

Other than this initial hiccup the service was great and we felt very well looked after. 15 guys can get quite noisy however they never made life difficult for us and instead aimed to facilitate our general good time.

The rooms were in great condition and quite spacious. The pool area was as one can imagine beautiful and picturesque. However the beach did tend to disappear with the tide on a daily basis, not a train smash though. This hotel is close enough to the main chaweng party area yet far enough to feel like you can escape.

All in all a great place to stay for groups. Good service and great value.

Room Tip: Try get a room on the lower half of the hotel. I.e. nearer to the pool. I think the rooms that start...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGMT_BaanHaadNgam, Manager at Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your recent experience at our Resort. We are pleased to hear your stay was exceptional. Hearing feedback such as yours is one of the many reasons our staff takes such great pride in being able to provide the most bespoke service possible.

We would love to welcome you back soon and hopefully for a Honeymoon or another bachelor parties?

With warmest regards,

The Management
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa De Mar
Casa De Mar
#15 of 104 in Chaweng
358 reviews
2.1 mi away
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
#35 of 104 in Chaweng
691 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,412 reviews
1.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,776 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas

Property: Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
Address: 154 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#24 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the finest traditions of Thai architecture with modern European conveniences Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa is the ideal place to escape from it all. Fifty one luxuriously appointed rooms and villas, each with its own Jacuzzi for two have been designed to meet your every need and to allow you to rest and rejuvenate in a tranquil and naturally beautiful setting. From our Award Winning Italian and International restaurant, Olivio Italian cuisine, featuring the finest cuisine along our unspoiled beach to our signature Satira Herbal Spa offering the latest in all-natural therapeutic treatments, your every need will be catered to in legendary Thai style.Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa, a simply unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Hotel Chaweng
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing