We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday stay with family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
Ranked #37 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed with another family for 10 days in August. Room was well equipped and spacious. Being 15 minutes walk from central Chaweng suited us as it gave our teenage children independence.
Staff were great, with exception that we arrived at 10:00pm after flight delay, restaurant closed, no bar, and staff could not point us to an open restaurant.
Slightly noisy early in morning from lorry traffic, and building works next door due to be completed September.
Great free breakfast if book 3 days stay or more.
Recommend Jeep safari into mountains and snorkel trip to Koh Thao.
Chaweng is definitely place a great place to stay, and recommend the hotel

Room Tip: As far from road as possible, try rooms 305 & 306
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johntharme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

just returned from a 10 day stay. Really enjoyable break. Lovely rooms and pool. breakfast very good as were the lunch time snacks and the happy hour cocktails. Staff were very helpful and attentive especially OH who is a complete star !
We enjoyed the poolside and the kayaks and the beach was also good despite the high tide.
the only downside was that when we arrived at 10pm there was no food available and no one gave us any advice as to where to go to get any.
There was building work next door but that wasn't too noisy. Be advised that the roads around the hotel can be noisy especially at 6am when delivery vehicles and refuse lorries are struggling up and down the incline. The back up generator is also very loud and as there are regular power cuts you will hear it .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank force9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Me & my wife were celebrating our second honeymoon and there could not be a better place than Baan Haad Ngam. The pool villa was at its best in giving us those intimate moments and the room was spacious and clean.
The staff was so courteous that at times we felt we were at home.
The food at Olivio restaurant was outstanding and they cooked vegetarian also.

I strongly recommend this resort to those who love some quiet time with amenities being a stone throw away.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Samirthakkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is situated about 10 minutes from the airport, which is very convenient. The hotel itself is fine, rooms neat and clean, setting is lovely, view is magnificent and staff very friendly. If you have lively kids I would not recommend this hotel. There is no place for kids to play around the pool and if it is high tide there is no beach for them to play on either. (I would not classify this beach as one of the cleanest.) If you like walking around and exploring by foot, this one is not for you. It is about a 30 to 40 minute walk from Chaweng centre. The hotel do offer a free shuttle service into town, but only at certain times - which is not always convenient. There are a couple of restaurants, massage places and cafes, but that's it. I would recommend this hotel for honeymooners and people that would really just like to be on their own and do nothing.

Room Tip: Make sure your room do not face the service road running through the establishment. It becomes quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My husband and I did a tour of Thailand and Vietnam for our honeymoon and made Koh Samui our last stop. It was more of a quiet personal vacation feel rather than a big resort feel which was nice. It never felt too crowded or too busy as it is a little farther away from the main downtown areas of Chaweng. We stayed in a pool villa which was really awesome to have our own pool. We used it every single day mutliple times. It was nice to come back at night after being hot from our walks and just jumping into the pool. The separate door into the bathroom was pretty neat so we didn't have to drag in water into our room. The room wasn't in the best condition but we didn't mind since we didn't plan to spend much of our trip in the room anyway. The waterfall style shower was also really cool as i've never used one before and always wanted to try it. The resort itself was pretty well maintained and the staff members were all very nice. There were however a few downfalls about the resort. When low-tide comes which is usually around 9 am til about 3 pm, there is pretty much little to no beach. You could walk out into the ocean for a while and the highest the water will get is maybe up to your knees. I actually didn't mind, and it seemed the same with a lot of the other guests, because it was nice to just sit in the shallow water and bake in the hot sun. Also, there is some serious construction going on next door that they said will not be finished til about September 2014. From the looks of it, I really don't think it will meet that time frame. The construction started at about 9 am and lasted til about 7 pm the latest one night but is "supposed" to stop at 5 pm. Wasn't the most tranquil noise we wanted on our honeymoon but it is what it is. Baan Haad is probably the last resort on the long strip of resorts on Chaweng beach so to get to the downtown area it took about 15-20 minutes to walk to. They do provide a free shuttle service to downtown at 10 am, 11 am, 4 pm, and 5 pm which was nice. If you weren't able to make it those times, they charged 200 baht per ride to take you anywhere you wanted which was really convenient. The airport is SUPER close and only took about 5-10 minutes which we had them take us. Our flight was at 6 in the morning and when we had checked out, they had provided us with these adorable breakfast boxes to go which I thought was really nice. The breakfast in the morning was mediocre but who wants a huge buffet in the morning at the beach anyway? We loved just about Koh Samui except for the serious mosquito problem. I HIGHLY suggest bringing bug spray with a decent amount of deet in it. I literally sprayed bug spray everywhere I went because they are everywhere. One night I even sprayed before I went to bed because one morning I woke up with a ton of mosquito bites. Other than that, everything was perfect and we really look forward to our next trip here!

Room Tip: Upgrade for a pool villa! It's like your own little piece of paradise. You can't beat having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Susanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Great room, amazing beautifully garden, restaurant at the sea, delicious food and a great massage. And the hotel is pretty close to the promenade (with the taxi). Clean and quiet rooms, friendly staff, taxi pick up service...
I would like to come back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank lorena2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We booked this hotel because of the view from the pool, and when we got there after a 26 hour journey and 3 flights it definitely didn't disappoint. The beach is a couple of foot steps away from the pool, which is perfect as with some hotels and places we've stayed in we've had to travel to the beach. So when you've had enough of sunbathing you can seek shade at the sun loungers by the pool. The beach is very clean and spacious outside the hotel. Sometimes the tide comes in right to the hotel pool steps which isn't really a problem as you can just walk a little further down to find plenty of beach space.

LOCATION - is ideal if you want to stay away from the hustle and bustle of the nightlife (Chaweng strip). It's walking distance from the main strip. However sometimes after a long night out we'd get the taxi back to our room, which only cost about 250 baht (approx £4.50).

ROOM - the room was clean and maintained well during our stay. Sometimes we'd come in to find towels in the shape of swans or palm tree leaves in the shape of flowers and roses. The room was very spacious, with a balcony overlooking the garden which resembled a tropical rainforest, it was very beautiful. The only thing which again wasn't a problem is that the hotel advert on expedia didn't explain is you'd have to cross the road to get to the pool, so the pool was like a separate entity to the hotel. It might be a bit difficult for people with disabilities.

The main reason why i didn't give the hotel 5 stars rating is the following;
the reception staff were quite unfriendly and unhelpful (don't trust their advice for which moped rental to go for as they will pick the ones across the road which weren't very good, walk a bit further down and you'll find a much better one with better bikes).
The breakfast buffet was a disgrace - i've stayed in a lot of hotels but this breakfast really disappointed me and after a few days i didn't bother getting up for it. The choice was very limited. The fruit was warm, the eggs were cold need I go on?. Also the staff at the restaurant seemed like they couldn't be bothered to do their job and made us feel unwelcome. Please note the Olivio restaurant menu is very over priced compared to the other restaurants in Koh Samui, the food again is very average and nothing to write home about.

All in all i would stay here again, mainly for the view and the pool

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Miamibaby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
2.1 mi away
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
#40 of 104 in Chaweng
732 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,557 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Sarann
The Sarann
#32 of 104 in Chaweng
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,920 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa De Mar
Casa De Mar
#12 of 104 in Chaweng
434 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas

Address: 154 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#23 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £45 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the finest traditions of Thai architecture with modern European conveniences Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas is the ideal place to escape from it all. Fifty one luxuriously appointed rooms and villas, each with its own Jacuzzi for two have been designed to meet your every need and to allow you to rest and rejuvenate in a tranquil and naturally beautiful setting. Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas, a simply unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Hotel Chaweng
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing