We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Boutique Hotel and Location on Chaweng Beach!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
Ranked #37 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Boutique Hotel and Location on Chaweng Beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

We had the pleasure of spending 7 glorious nights in this beautiful property.

We reserved a superior room in the tasteful 'hotel building' which is 3 stories tall. Our room was quite spacious and tastefully decorated (and included a jacuzzi bath for two, and a separate enclosed rain shower). The private balcony overlooked the hotel's gorgeous water garden. The hotel also has several private bungalows which are available at a higher rate. We took a look at one, and it was quite nice. Our room in the hotel building served our purposes, and was very adequate.

The infinity swimming pool was a delight, and from the poolside chaise loungers you had a spectacular view of the entire Chaweng Bay.

Olivio, the hotel restaurant, was fantastic... not your typical 'hotel restaurant'. In the evenings, this is a 'destination place' and folks come from neighboring hotels for dinner. Luiggi, the chef, is Italian - and the cuisine rivaled what we've experienced in San Francisco's "North Beach Neighborhood" or New York City's "Little Italy". We ate here 3 of our 7 nights!

The staff was very gracious, and by day #2 - they already knew us by name & already started doing little niceties for us... very keen on anticipating our every need. It's very evident that Baan Haad Ngam's management is customer focused. When we checked in, both the resident manager and general manager introduced themselves. And several time during our stay- the managers would check in on their guests.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone that likes a good 4 Star Boutique Property. The beautiful hotel buildings, tranquil surroundings, and wonderful beachfront location are just the best & we will return again, soon.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DunnLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    184
    64
    23
    23
See reviews for
60
306
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
carolemh
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2009

Great Staff, Good rooms and Very Good included Breakfast. Good 15 minute walk down to Centre but thats a good thing and you would not even now you were staying in Chaweng. Lots of local fisherman at this end of the beach. Happy hour Cocktails at 4pm were the best!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolemh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

On arrival in Koh Samui I was a little apprenhensive as I knew that accommodation on the island and vary tremendously. I had no reason to worry however, this hotel is gorgeous and truely the best place I have stayed.

On arrival you are greeted with friendly faces, a welcome drink and a flower necklace. We booked our accommodation through agoda.com and found a very good deal, £52 per night with breakfast in a superior room. This room is not the best of the rooms on the offer but to be honest it didn't matter. Our room was huge, with a king sized bed, jacuzzi bath, separate shower and toilet and two sinks with complimentary water, soap etc. We had flat screen TV and DVD player ( useful during thunder storms!), mosquito net over the bed, fruit plate on arrival and every morning they would sculpture animals from the towels, elephants, cats, mice, monkeys, you name it they can make it with towels!

The swimming pool isn't huge but more of a perfect size for this resort, we spent a total of 11 nights here and there was never more than 8 people around the pool.The pool attendant was kind and always provided fresh towels and umbrellas for shade. The pool water was clean and it was an infinity pool so you can easily spend hours just looking out over the water. Happy hour is at 4pm and you get buy on get on free beer and cocktails and free snacks with your drinks. We ate twice in Olivio's restaurant, very good Italian food, a bit on the pricey side but the puddings are amazing, try the Molted Chocolate, perfect! Breakfast is buffet style but has everything you want and is very well prepared, thoroughly enjoyed the fresh fruit!

The location was perfect for us, a young couple. It takes about 15 minutes to walk into the centre of Chaweng but there are bars and restaurants on the beach that are 2 minutes walk, very good food and friendly service too.

The hotel was quiet at night, hence a perfect location, the grounds are manicured perfectly and the water features are wonderful. The staff were friendly, kind and sometimes chatty and they were willing to help if you had any questions. The hotel spa is expensive, we recommend going to one of the 'shacks' on the beach for an hour massage, just as good and they are very sweet and you get to look out over the sea whilst being pampered!

Ignore comments about smells and insects. There is sometimes a small smell from the sea when the tide has gone out, but it is normal and you are on a tropical island where the sewerage and drainage isn't as efficient as other countries. We had no problems with insects, the odd mossie bite, but that's just normal for a tropical island.

All in all this was a perfect holiday in a perfect hotel. We had a great time and don't beleive any bad reviews, this hotel is great.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheesebrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2009

There are around 300 hotels/ resorts on Koh Samui, and probably the same number of Villa type accommodation. Was a big task to select somewhere for our 8 night holiday so we decided to spend 4 nights in Chaweng area and 4 nights elsewhere. In deciding I eliminated the higher priced, lower priced, larger places and places without "Bungalow type" rooms which left me with appx. 20 resorts to choose from in Chaweng area. Turning to Tripadvisor, reviewers gave Baan Haad Ngam very good reviews generally and it was on the northern, quieter part of Chaweng. Got an excellent deal through Lastminute.com about 4 days before departure from home at around AUD$220- per night with 1 night free including breakfast which calculated to appx. 3630Baht for a "deluxe villa" room which is the better of their 2 types available.
Baan Haad Ngam was less than 10 minutes from the airport. The lower priced rooms are at the top of the complex, arranged on 2 levels. The Villas are seperate Bungalow type closer to the beach. The resort is spectacular built around streams, waterfalls and bridges, you feel like are surrounded by water as you walk over the bridges and steps to reach your room. OurBungalow was closest to the restaurant (10 metres) which I thought might be a problem but it turned out to be great, a few steps to the pool, breakfast and no noise or smell intruding from the restaurant. Room was clean, spacious with a King bed, bathroom with 2 person Jacuzzi. Bed is covered with hanging net which you can drop down at night time. During our stay did not see any insects or mossies as other people have mentioned. Breakfast was buffet and OK but Asian hotel breakfasts generally are not that tasty. The pool is reasonably large and is an infinity right on a 5 foot high sea-wall with the beach below. In the morning the tide is in and right up on the sea-wall meaning you can step straight from the hotel steps into the ocean which is no more than 4 foot deep and clear for probably 200 metres out. In the afternoon the tide goes out and you will need to walk over the sand maybe 100 metres to reach the water. Finally I have found a clean beach in Asia that I can swim at. You can walk south along Chaweng Beach to numerous massage, bars, and restaurants setup right on the sand. There are vendors selling things but they are never intrusive and you just shake your head if they do approach you and they move on. Further down the beach, say 1km is central Chaweng.Within easy walking distance or you can get transport from the road 50 metres above the resort for 50Baht into "town". The resort has only 40 rooms and you never see more than a dozen people, they have free Kayak use which we paddled over to an island one morning. They have a spa which we had a complimentary treatment at but it is expensive compared to other places available to the public. Our first night we sat down at the resort restaurant which specialises in Italian food but we expected would have Thia also. When given an Italian only menu we decided to go elsewhere as we wanted to experience Thai food as much as possible. When we told the staff we would not be staying they produced an excellent Thai menu with very good, well priced Thai food. Be sure to ask for both menus if dining there. Very happy with this resort/ hotel, staff are great, have no negatives at all except for having to pay for internet access when most others have complimentary Wifi.
My first visit to Samui and loved it. I have read a couple of negative reviews but one wonders if they are genuine as we could not fault this place.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2009

Koh samui was part of our 2 week vacation in thailand.

This hotel was decided on the spur of the moment on a recommendation by a friend. Must say its probably one of the most beautiful boutique hotels i've seen with a waterfall running through the hotel. The pleasing sound of running water through the day was beautiful.

We had initially planned a 3 day stay but that was extended by another 2 days on the second day itself. The staff at the reception was very helpful with regards to getting all the changes done with airline tickets and the hotel in bangkok...really prompt.

The location is great, 5min. away from the busy Chaweng market but its advisable to rent a car or a bike as a cab to the market costs between 150-200 Baht. The reception will also help in car rental and bike rentals.

Will definitely recommend and return.

  • Liked — The beautiful rooms with a jacuzzi in the bathroom.
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank simplesachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2009

This hotel is a wonderful little hideaway at the end of the busy Chaweng. The rooms were fantastic, very clean, comfortable with great towel origami! The infinity pool, although small, got sun for most of the day and had a great view especially as the tide comes in. The food in the hotel is good, especially Olivio's cuisine if you're looking for a change from Thai. The hotel is well located as it is very quiet but a good, enjoyable 20 min stroll along the beach to the busier parts of Chaweng.

A great hotel if you want to be away from the Chaweng ferang filth!

  • Liked — Fabulous views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Booksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2009

We stayed at the Baan Haad Ngam in early June 2008 and it was just what we were looking for in a hotel. We thought it was worth what we paid for the quality and the peace and quiet.

If you are after a small hotel away from all the noise of the central part of Chaweng Beach with friendly staff (especially in the restaurant and around the pool), a superb restaurant, lovely clean rooms in traditional Thai style and a gorgeous pool where everyone gets a lounger, this is the place for you.

The property is stepped with a water feature running through the middle and is therefore not suitable for children – just what my husband and I wanted.

There are two points of contention with the Baad on Trip Advisor. Firstly, the beach. The sand is squishy and some people on here say they were disappointed with this. It didn’t bother us. Chaweng Beach is very shallow and not great for swimming or snorkelling so you tend to swim in your hotel pool anyway.

Everyone dreams of lying on the sand relaxing on their lounger in Samui. You can’t do this because of the beach merchants. The infinity pool at the Baad overlooks the beach but is high up above a stone wall where the merchants can’t reach you. We both said we would have been disappointed to stay somewhere like the Amari thinking we would be on the beach all day, only to be constantly harassed to buy jewellery, clothes, massages etc.

The second point of contention is the location. For us, it was perfect. The beach bars are loud and go all night and skyrockets sold by merchants are constanly let off - they are REALLY loud! We were happy we were able to walk along the beach for dinner and to the bars (about 20 minutes to the main part of town) then return to our quiet, secluded hotel to sleep. Alternatively, it is only about $3 AUD taxi ride to town and the hotel offers a free shuttle at set times of the day.

Watch the incoming tide when you walk back along the beach. It is quite high at the steps. We cut through the adjacent resort and took a right into the side street next to the Baad.

The restaurant - Olivio - is great with a Thai and Italian menu and an Italian chef. Much better quality food than many places downtown and worth the money. We paid between $6 -$10 AUD for lunch by the pool each day. The cocktail happy hour is great – about $4 AUD for cocktails with premium spirits.

Someone on here commented on “the smell”. It’s the tropics for God’s sake! The rain and humidity are what give Thailand its lush surroundings and the damp, musty smell is part of that. You particularly notice it in bathrooms in many places in Asia. It’s not because they’re dirty – and the Baan Haad Ngam was spotless. Don’t blow out the tealight candle in your room, it’s for the mosquitoes, and drop the mozzie net around your (massive) bed at night.

If you’re looking for a larger, more central resort and have a bigger budget, my choice would be the Muang Samui. We went there for dinner (about $60 AUD for entrees, mains and a bottle of wine) and it was superb. We had a look around and the resort was gorgeous – traditional Thai style. Would make a great honeymoon resort.

  • Liked — Location, pool area, quiet tastefully furnished & clean room.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CeeBee1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#6 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#48 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Briza Beach Resort Samui
2.3 mi away
Samui Paradise Chaweng Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Casa De Mar
Casa De Mar
#17 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas

Property: Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
Address: 154 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the finest traditions of Thai architecture with modern European conveniences Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa is the ideal place to escape from it all. Fifty one luxuriously appointed rooms and villas, each with its own Jacuzzi for two have been designed to meet your every need and to allow you to rest and rejuvenate in a tranquil and naturally beautiful setting. From our Award Winning Italian and International restaurant, Olivio Italian cuisine, featuring the finest cuisine along our unspoiled beach to our signature Satira Herbal Spa offering the latest in all-natural therapeutic treatments, your every need will be catered to in legendary Thai style.Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa, a simply unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Hotel Chaweng
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing