We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise found”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
Ranked #33 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise found”
Reviewed 13 November 2010

My husband and I stayed for a week here after 3 days of crazy Bangkok. We literally felt like we had arrived in paradise. The hotel is lovely; we were in a standard room and before we arrived, we'd thought we might upgrade but we were perfectly happy with the room we were given. The staff are wonderful - so friendly and the manager is always around and stops to chat. The hotel restaurant is excellent - lovely Italian food, which was great when we fancied a change from Thai food. Breakfast was fine.

The best feature is the pool - literally on the beach. On one day we could almost have jumped from the pool straight into the sea. Apparently the tide was very high when we stayed, but even when the sea was in, you can just walk through the restaurant and onto the beach from the hotel next door. Massages by the pool were great too!

The hotel is in a quiet part of Chaweng beach, which suited us. A few minutes walk along the beach and you come to restaurants and bars. About 10-15 mins and you're in the livelier part of Chaweng. Close enough if you want it, and far enough away to feel secluded.

All in all we loved it and would go back. A wonderful, relaxing break.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlemisslou100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    186
    67
    23
    23
See reviews for
61
313
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We visited Koh Samui for a wedding and booked this hotel thinking it was in Bophut which it turned out not to be... However, the staff were fantastic, the pool was beautiful and the sea was warm. We mostly just relaxed except one day where we went out to the Marine Park with 100 degrees east, for a day snorkelling and kayaking and visit to the Emerald Lake. I highly recommend this company and have posted a separate review about them. The hotel was very helpful in organising transfers for us to the wedding and to meet our friends staying on other parts of the island. The rooms were a reasonable size and well decorated, although a few chips in the paintwork in bathroom and not a flatscreen TV - all minor and didn't bother us. I had the opportunity to use the spa, and had the best massage I have ever had at a very reasonable price!!! Breakfast was included and OK, however the Olivio restaurant is fantastic for dinner, the food is exceptional and the setting is very romantic especially if you get a table outside looking out over the sea. Allow plenty of time for check out as for some reason this seemed to take a really long time (and we were the only ones checking out and two staff to assist!). Overall, this was a great place to stay and have a quiet, peaceful and relaxing time.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LionHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2010

This hotel is beautiful with fantastic staff that were friendly & helpful. We stayed with our 1 year old & mum. We had a bungalow & mum had a room, both were great, clean & big. We had a cot in each room which was helpful with mosquito net supplied. The food is great, we ate lunch around the pool everyday & went into Chaweng every night with the pram in a "baht bus". We found no problem with the tide coming in, just go to the beach through the hotel next door, had massages with the ladies next door which were the best, we tried others & kept going back to them. The pool is lovely & the view out over the beach relaxing. We could not fault the hotel or staff it was all fantastic & a great holiday for 8 days. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familytravelsPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We stayed here for one week as a part of our honeymoon. The staff were very friendly and attentive.As it was our honeymoon they gave us flowers, fruit and champagne on arrival. Our room was exactly as shown on the web site. The bathroom was slightly tired looking but on the whole ok ( why do they paint over the tiles? ) The room was kept spotlessly clean and every day there was a different towel animal on the bed!
The breakfast was more than adequate. We didnt actually eat at the restauarant as we were in Samui with friends and family so we usually went out to meet them. ( 'Your place 'resaurant on the beach was good, great seafood and fish for a reasonable price) Some reviwers have complained that the sea comes right up to the hotel boundary so you cannot get directly on to the beach. Well, this happened once where the sea was too high to wade through but that was because there had been heavy rain, generally you may have to wade through 50cm of water for about 5 metres to get to the beach. By the afternoon the tide is out so then there isnt this issue!! I suposse if you are elderly....but then you can walk to the beach from the next door hotel.
The infinity pool is great, over looking the beach and right next to the resaurant for refreshments. I loved this hotel because it was lovely and relaxing through out the day so we could sit and read but a shortish stroll along the beach at night took you into the centre of Chewang for a bit more action. It was easy to jump in to a 'van' for the ride back to the hotel if you could'nt be bothered to walk back form the centre.
We booked all our tours/ used the internet and had our laundry done at the shop at the top of the road.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RFB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

The aesthetics of the place is unique down to the smallest detail.

The very lush garden comes complete with names of plants in Thai and Latin. The design of the garden is fantastic! The exterior of the buildings is painted in a bold green colour to match it. There are lots of little streams, ponds, and water cascading from big urns. It's a joy to walk on the meandering path from the room to the pool and restaurant right next to the beach. Days were spent alternating between the gorgeous pool and the beach right below.

The restaurant is top quality. We ate there for lunch and dinner - great Italian quisine.
Breakfasts were very good (European and Asian) with a big selection of fruit.

The staff is the single most courteous I have ever met at any hotel - friendly, polite and service minded. Everything was so easy at Baan Haad Ngam - taxies, tours, info - they'll go out of their way to fix it for you. Even on our last day, when we had a 10pm flight from Koh Samui, they let us stay in our room as long as they could - until 2pm. Then they offered to let us shower and freshen up at the hotel's spa facilities. Much appreciated!

The rooms are spaceous, bathrooms elegant.
We all liked the location - being at the northern end of the beach suited us because we were away from the big crowds (and souvenir sellers) further down the beach.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuclearfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
china
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

This is the first time I am writing a review, although I have been using TA as my travel bible. Baan Haad Ngam was an excellent stay. We travelled with our family of 5 and stayed in 2 connecting rooms for one week. The rooms were clean, well equipped, and had a beautiful garden view. The beds were a bit firm, but otherwise, nothing to complain about. The hotel does tout an "on the beach" location. This would be my only complaint...as the beach only existed at low tide, when the water was out...otherwise the pool (which we loved) was actually in the sea, so playing on the beach directly in front of the hotel was not an option for the children.
The hotel staff was extraordinary! Our son got sick and the GM made arrangements for us to go to the Bangkok International Hospital (which I can also highly rate) - and even called ahead to the hospital to let them know we were on our way. The whole experience was professional and high service.
The food at the hotel was also excellent. We found that we came back to our hotel for lunches, as it was better than what else was on offer nearby, and not too expensive comparatively. The pool staff and restaurant staff were also outstanding!
All in all an excellent experience for our family.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

We stayed at the resort in a Superior room on the 2nd floor. Our room was just beautiful with our huge king size bed in the middle of the room, adequate furnishings a large bathroom, seperate shower, seperate toilet, two wash basins and a jacuzzi. On arrival we were greeted by one of the Managers who insisted on carrying my hand luggage to the room as "i was his guest". He showed us all around the room and how every thing worked. Every day when we returned to our room, our towels had been made into little animals (little pigs, monkeys etc) and each evening there was a turn down service and our oil burner refilled and lit. Breakfast had a very good selection, standard fare, asian and even some pasta and a view to die for overlooking the water. My partner celebrated his birthday whilst we were there, and with no prompting they knew it was his birthday and delivered a birthday cake to our door. On checking out we were given a packet of biscuits and we used the resort shuttle for our transfer to the airport. Clean towels were provided daily for use at the pool and down a couple of steps and you were straight into the sea. The one slightest problem was it is a small pool area and the resort was not full, sun lounges could become a problem in peak season and the pool decking area is small and lacks shade. You can walk into the main strip easily, if not that way inclined you can catch a songheow which was a $100 baht each way. Mini Marts are close by. Managers were seen and mingled with the guests, which was good to see. we cannot recommend this resort enough in a lovely quite, relaxing location.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paturs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Briza Beach Resort Samui
0.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#54 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
2.3 mi away
Samui Paradise Chaweng Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas

Property: Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
Address: 154 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the finest traditions of Thai architecture with modern European conveniences Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa is the ideal place to escape from it all. Fifty one luxuriously appointed rooms and villas, each with its own Jacuzzi for two have been designed to meet your every need and to allow you to rest and rejuvenate in a tranquil and naturally beautiful setting. From our Award Winning Italian and International restaurant, Olivio Italian cuisine, featuring the finest cuisine along our unspoiled beach to our signature Satira Herbal Spa offering the latest in all-natural therapeutic treatments, your every need will be catered to in legendary Thai style.Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa, a simply unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Hotel Chaweng
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing