We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost great... But not quite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Impiana Resort Chaweng Noi
Ranked #14 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Almost great... But not quite”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Having recently stayed at the Impiana Resort in Koh Samui, I can honestly say that this hotel was not bad but could be great.

I stayed in 3 rooms during my stay at the resort, one change was unplanned due to a leaky air conditioning unit.

Room 1: Standard room, clean, large enough for 3 single beds, with a great view of the sea. The only things that we had issue with was the leaky air conditioning unit, and the comment about opened (but untouched) items in the mini bar. As we had not even opened the mini bar the charges felt unfair and forceful (my friend was threatened that they would fine him via the credit card used if he did not comply with the additional charges).
Room 2: After raising the issue of the faulty air conditioning unit twice (over 2 days) we were changed/ upgraded to a deluxe room (next door to our original room). The larger room was very spacious and had a nice balcony facing the ocean/ beach.
Room 3: I was required to stay an additional day in Koh Samui to complete a PADI diving course, and left 1 day later than my friends. This additional day was unplanned and so I checked the cost of a room in the same hotel (mainly for convenience), the price quoted by the hotel was higher than that of a price comparison website ((~1700 baht higher), they were either unable or unwilling to match the price. The 3rd room was much brighter and modern than the previous 2 rooms, this probably ties in with the on-going renovations taking place at the resort. Although the room faced the road the slight noise was not a problem for me.

Staff: The staff at the hotel were professional but rather cold. For me this was not an issue.

Hotel Overall:
-Condition: my general impression was that the hotel was a little aged and this was the reason for the renovations. Any rainfall meant the leaks were appearing in the reception area (they were dealt with sufficiently). I noticed that the pool did not have a filtration system, and was instead filtered over 2 days via an unaesthetic method on an external unit, I pottered to swim in the sea instead of the pool.
-Breakfast: very good selection of food with welcoming staff.
-Meals: I only ate a couple of times at the hotel (out with breakfast), however the food was very nice and filling.
-Location: the resort is situated on a beautiful beach, however any trips into the nearby town should be done via taxi (there is a shuttle bus. But it ran at time that were not convenient for my friends and I), walking the few kilometres is not advisable with the driving sense of the local population and the lack of pavements at points. The local taxis were quite expensive when compared to Bangkok and Chiang Mai, but this is still relatively cheap (£6/ 300 baht, resort to main area of Chaweng).

Room Tip: The renovations should be complete by 2014, hopefully all rooms are completed to the same standard o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    424
    152
    56
    29
See reviews for
229
648
40
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel is right on the beach
Good points - good sized room
beds good
minivan to town nice
breakfast is good
clean - with good housekeeping
Areas of improvement - more seating around the pool, when the jellyfish were in there was not enough poolside area, and the pool is fairly small.
Staff - mainly reception were not great with hospitality. Often no English speaking staff on and there was only one person at the desk that ever smiled at us
Better dinning down the beach for dinner and there is a great little Thai place next door on the beach which provides good food, at local prices
Spa was OK, but the masseurs where not hired for competency.

Overall we had a great stay

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjanecoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Overall it is a pleasant hotel on the beachfront in Chaweng Noi. It is clean and breakfast is a buffet with a variety. The Superior rooms have nice furniture and bathroom fixtures. However, they are not spacious. Our in-room safe broke several times, but was fixed. The light in the built-in wardrobe does not switch off, so must be a waste of electricity.There is a small garden with green grass and a few trees. The pool is not big, but enough to splash around in and enjoy the breathtaking view of the Siam Bay right in front. The floating bar on the seafront is really an eye-sore and, in our opinion, should be removed altogether. It is anchored close to the shore and does not seem to serve a purpose, as there is a proper nice bar right on the beach. In addition, the ropes that hold this reinforced white plastic structure from floating away, are tied to several posts located at the foot of the resort and, thus, are stretched across the beach. At night this is a menace for those who wish to stroll along the beach's water edge. Flood-lights are turned on, so these ropes would be visible, but they do hinder one's movement on a public beach. During the week at the resort we saw this floating bar being used only once by a group of routy clients who apparently thought it was awesome to jump from it into knee-high water. They also put out their cigarettes directly against the platform's floor and had their drinks in 'real glass' glasses. This is unacceptable, as accidents happen, and stepping onto broken glass, would ruin anybody's vacation. We asked the F & B staff why the drinks intended to be had on this floating structure are not served in plastic glasses, but they pretended not to understand and were overall unpleasant to deal with. Our deal upon booking the room included a 20% discount from the restaurant/bar and spa bills, but we did not receive it, as the staff who checked us in neither gave us a voucher or coupon for that, nor briefed us on how to apply this discount. The prices at the spa for massages are very expensive. This spa has a real competitor in the form of a make-shift massage place on the beach next to it which is very busy due to very affordable prices. In general, we had a good time, but hope that our suggestions mentioned above will be considered by the management.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kipmarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed for 4 nights with my husband and three teenagers after moving from the hotel next door Imperial Samui' as they were full. We loved the Imperial Samui so we were anxious this hotel may disappoint. But no - all was good and we enjoyed our stay. There was a special on so we paid half the price of next door and it was excellent value - 4 star hotel. We had adjoining rooms on the 2nd floor above reception with sea views. They don't have interconnecting doors. The rooms are reasonably small but as the kids had a triple we both ended up with larger rooms. The bathrooms are small but functional. The pool is OK - not a lagoon pool - just a standard one. So guests tend to relax on the beach lounges under the palm trees rather than around the pool. The beach is lovely and wide, nice sand and good for swimming. There is something in the water at Chaweng that nips at you occasionally - but interestingly you get used to it over time. The hotel has lilo's that you can float in the ocean on - very relaxing. The food was great. We ate there several times for lunch or dinner. Breakfast was a standard buffet with most foods available. The food prices are slightly higher than at other restaurants nearby. They have 3 happy hours throughout the day - 2 for 1 at the bar on the beach. Lovely to have a piña colada on the beach. The staff are perfectly helpful but do lack some warmth and friendliness compared to next door. The male staff are better informed and helpful. We hired a car for the day 1500 baht. More expensive than in town but it was worth paying a little extra for the convenience of having the car delivered to us - no hassle. Driving on the island is fine. It's a challenge to go faster than 40 km/hr!! We had a late afternoon flight and they were happy to give us a later checkout from our room. Happy to recommend this hotel. Excellent value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford West
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Our travel agent picked this place for us as she had been here before and for the $73 per night with an ocean view it was just what we wanted, a room to shower in and a bed to sleep in. I do agree with other reviewers that the staffing should consisted of 1 English speaking staff member per shift as sometimes it is very hard to get your question answered. We chose to eat and drink out of the resort and the walk into Chaweng centre is only about 1/2hr walk and just brilliant. Only negatives would be the air con in our room not cold enough for the tropical temps and the non English speaking staff. Other than that we loved our stay and I now have a fiancé as we got engaged here last night!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Angmich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adana, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We chose the Impiana after finding the hotel through a "family hotel" search on the internet. While this may have all the things for a family there were very few families at this hotel during our stay. A big dissappointment for our daughter. (NOTE: This hotel does not have a pool slide - something we had in Phuket last year which our 5 year old daugther really enjoyed.) While the pool is not the highlight, it is rather small with only 4 deck chairs for people to sit on. The beach on the other hand is wider than the main Cheweng beach and a pleasure to walk down.
There are no elevators in the hotel but this was not a problem for us.
The quality of the rooms are what you would expect in a 4 star location. Nothing luxoury but sufficient.
The rooms were well kept and the hotel cleaning staff were not intrusive. Well done on that side.
For those arriving from the airport, you can take a mini bus transfer for 350 for the family of 3. Taking a taxi would be more expensive.
Everyone warned us of the high / overpriced taxis and we managed to get around with the local transports (covered pickup with two benches on the back) at around 50 baht per person (worst was 200 baht for the three of us from the hotel to the fisherman's villiage.

Positives:
1.) Hotel is right on the beach. No busy road to cross!
2.) The sea on this side was beautifully calm and like a lake in the early morning. We found the beach on the north (at the fisherman's villiage) rather choppy and rough.
3.) The sundowner bar next to the hotel has an excellent massage area and the food we ate there was excellent. We do not get sick or anything and I am confident to say that the food was safe to eat. The food from this place was more Thai than the Thai selection is the local resturants onthe beach. The beer is also good!
4.) There was beach equipment (lilos, snorkels, deck chairs, sunshades) readily available and free to use. This is great and more appreciated.
5.) There is a hotel shuttle a four times a day to the city.

Improvements:
1.) The hotel staff have a rather limited English capability. Don't go to the hotel thinking that you can get all the information about the island from the staff. Do you homework before you leave. You can get your point across but be patient.
2.) Don't trust the tall hotel driver. There is a shuttle bus service to Cheweng Beach and this is a plus. However, one day during our stay, we asked the hotel reception and driver whether the hotel could drop us off at a local resturant down the road. The driver then went on at lenth that it would cost us 60 baht per person for them to take us. I was not too interested to pay it and said that we would walk. The driver then tried telling us that it would take us 30 minutes to walk and that if we would pay him 100 baht, he would take us. The resturant was 10 minutes walking from the hotel. The hotel staff's barganing attitute is similar to the local taxi drivers and was rather dissappointing.

The hotel was prepared to take us to the airport for 500 Baht at the end of our say. Needless to say, they refused to give a receipt.

Room Tip: I agree with the comments on the internet that rooms on the mountain side are noisey. Sea or garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatTrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We traveled first in Oct 2012 and again in 2013. We have fallen in love with the property and the staff. Special thanks to the Front Office Manager......I forget her name.....always never fail to deliver the best in service and efficiency...
Impiana has one of the best beach in Koh Samui, free from rocks and clear waters. The food in the main restaurant is fantastic that leaves us to have all our meals in the hotel.... superb thai cuisine with so much of flavor and spices.
The culture of the staff are just amazing with so much of respect and care for their guests. AS per our title..... we will be back every year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian_s_francis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.6 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,782 reviews
2.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,401 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
1.5 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impiana Resort Chaweng Noi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impiana Resort Chaweng Noi

Property: Impiana Resort Chaweng Noi
Address: 91/2-3 Moo 3, Chaweng Noi Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Impiana Samui Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#11 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#20 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Impiana Resort Chaweng Noi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The boutique Impiana Resort Chaweng Noi is on a secluded, white sand beachfront with sunrise views. Set among lush tropical gardens, the 96 contemporary Thai inspired rooms are a great base to explore the island’s beauty or laze by the pool or beach to fully recharge. Enjoy friendly service and tantalizing cuisine at Sabai beachfront restaurant, chill at the beachfront bar or treat yourself to a pampering treatment at Swasana Spa. For something really special, indulge in a private dining experience on the beach with your loved one. Located only 5 min from Chaweng by shuttle bus, you’re very close to the shopping, restaurants and nightlife Samui has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Impiana Resort Chaweng Noi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impiana Samui Hotel Bophut
Impiana Samui Resort And Spa
Impiana Resort Chaweng Noi Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing