We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect to Chill”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Lagoon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Lagoon Hotel
Ranked #65 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect to Chill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Our family and I recently stayed at Blue Lagoon for 12 nights amd what a delightful experience it was. The hotel is perfectly located on the beach with a great pool that my daughter loved. The STAFF were exceptional and wnet out of their way to ensure our expectations were exceeded. Specific mention needs to be made of ET and Tiu. On one of the nights it was my daughter's birthday and they arranged a table on the beach, decorated it with flowers and then proceeded to presnet here with a birthday cake arranged by the hotel. Thank you for making her day special!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BryanMulliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sirowanp, Front Office Manager at Blue Lagoon Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your super kind review! It is so nice of you to mention our colleagues ( FB Team ) they will be super happy to know it . We are delighted that you and family enjoyed the stay at Chaweng Blue Lagoon hotel and It is also such a pleasure replying to guests that have experienced our resort at its finest.

We very much look forward to hosting you and your friends and family once again.

All the best

Sirowan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    94
    53
    19
    37
See reviews for
59
105
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sea Point, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Visited this hotel recently 27 Mar to 08 Apr 2013- had a wonderful stay, lovely location, wonderful staff nothing too much trouble, lovely rooms, teak furniture, granite bathrooms, basic but clean and functional. Can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manuela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sirowanp, Front Office Manager at Blue Lagoon Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our property . We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Chawng Blue Lagoon Hotel. We aspire to create memories and are always happy to hear that our guests left with beautiful memories .

Very much looking forward to having you back with us!

All the very best

Sirowan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

I was quite surprised at some of the negative comments on your site regarding this hotel. One of the reasons people travel to Koh Samui, and Chaweng Beach in particular, is that all the hotels are local Thai hotels no higher than 3 storeys. They typically feature Thai architecture, local employees and have old world charm. If visitors expectations are perfectly manicured impersonal branded hotels then Chaweng is not the place for them. You cannot expect 5 star standards at 3 star prices.

We were a group of 13 from South Africa and Australia and stayed for 2 weeks. Not one of us had a bad experience during our stay. We stayed in the deluxe rooms which are spacious and near the pool overlooking beautiful gardens and in a quiet location. All the employees were friendly and attentive, especially E.T. at the pool bar and also the restaurant and Front Office employees. The Front Office manager was as delightful as she was efficient. All reservations and airport transfers were in order upon arrival. Our rooms were all allocated on the same floor without us even having to request this. The breakfast choice was extensive with eggs made to order. If fact all food both Western & Thai could not be faulted. A bit slow coming out but who cares when you are on holiday in paradise? We can therefore highly recommend this hotel which is located on the quieter northern part of the beach but only a 10 minute walk to all the beach bars and night-life at the southern end.

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe rooms. They are located in the deluxe wing away from the road and overlook the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CPTLAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sirowanp, Front Office Manager at Blue Lagoon Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for noting of every impressive detail you experience during your stay with us. We are overjoyed that we could enhance your stay !!
We are thrilled that we were able to accommodate you in every way ( especially from the person who works in the same industry ) , our efforts made your stay, from start to finish, enjoyable. We take great pride in going the extra mile for our guests, and your comments will serve as our motivation to keep up with good work

We wish you all the very best and look forward to your return.

Sirowan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Having read several 'poor' reviews since December 2012 we (a group of 6 rooms and several families) became notably concerned so we called and corresponded with the hotel several times prior to our arrival in March 2013.
Despite assurances by the hotel management that the hotel was up to our expected standards we were all still wary until our arrival but fortunately we were pleasantly surprised from the time we arrived until our leaving 12 days later.
The staff were always polite and helpful beyond expectations and our special thanks go to the Front Office Manager, Mameow, who went beyond the call of duty. She assisted us with restaurant recommendations, bookings and even helped one of our party to find and book a physiotherapist as well as arranging the transport. We sincerely hope that she sees this review so that she will know how much we appreciate her service.
Our special thanks also go to ET and Thu who delivered excellent and friendly service to all of us at the beach bar with cool drinks, fruit juices and milkshakes during the day and drinks during happy hour and through dinners on the beach in the evenings.
Although the hotel and rooms are not new and ultramodern they are well maintained and well serviced by the 'housekeeping' and 'maintenance' staff. We had a problem with one of the room air conditioners not cooling and the 'maintenance' man sorted it out immediately.
All of us in our party have decided that the hotel deserves to have the record set straight after what was written by a select few.
Anybody who wishes to contact me for further reference is welcome to do so at wayne@megafreight.co.za

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WayneLazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sirowanp, Front Office Manager at Blue Lagoon Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Mr. Wayne & The Gang

Thank you for your super kind review ,We highly appreciate your positive comments about our team member , rooms and resort . It is always our biggest goal to make our guests feel welcome and valued.

I have passed on your comments to all of our team member. They were overjoyed to hear that you had an exceptional stay here at Chaweng Blue Lagoon Hotel .
We believe the only way to succeed in this industry is to make sure we exceed our guests expectations so they will leave happily , then return to us again and tell their friends and I am so sure that you are one of them :)

It was great to have you all staying at Chaweng blue Lagoon hotel this summer and we very much look forward to hosting you and your friends and family once again.

Sirowan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Have stayed here a few times, rooms are adequate, location is close enough to the strip but far enough away to avoid noise, the pool & beach are very good, staff are somewhat indifferent with a few exceptions (Wilai), the restaurant/breakfast is very good, there is a lack of water pressure on Samui which makes showering a laborious process, water pressure is poor in this hotel

Room Tip: Try and get a bungalow over the road (part of the hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidhWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

A very quick, and delayed review for the Blue Lagoon. My wife and I stayed here 26 Jan - 13 Feb 2013. We stayed in the garden bungalows across the road from the main hotel. OK, they could do with a little TLC; generally though, the bungalow was clean, air conditioned, adequate for our needs (we don't live in the room except to sleep and perform are ablutions!). Being across the road you would think you may pick up the noise of the street, but not so - very quiet and peaceful. We did not even notice the fact that we were not far off the end of the runaway. The staff were attentive, polite and helpful - couldn't fault them. With regards to the main hotel: pool was clean and luxurious, beach was right there (brilliant!). We did not use the restaurants or the bar, accept for one drink on day one. On the down side; we didn't include breakfast in our booking - we went one morning and they wanted the equivalent of 10 GBP - we gave it amiss and walked up the beach to one of the many cafes and restaurants. We would have liked the internet over the bungalow side - maybe something they could look at the future!? The pool side umbrellas need updating. For those who can do local - there are a couple of characters on the beach that supply beer cheaper than the hotel and a nice lady who rustles up a great lunch of chicken on a skewer and a unique, pestle and mortar battered bean salad (tidy!). We'd stay there again if we thought we would ever go back to Koh Samui. Special thanks to the front desk, day time manager - she was a great help.

Room Tip: if you're looking for room only, the garden bungalows will meet your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wilco-holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

We missed the ferry to Ko Tao so we needed to find a hotel for the night for next days sailing. After looking at several hotels that were suggested by our driver that were not acceptable and
were tired we saw the Blue Lagoon and decided on it. Big mistake! The hotel rooms were old and rundown and basically clean so we went ahead since we were staying only one night and did not want to waste any more time. This hotel is not worth 5000 baht ($175 US). Mold, dated and scraped walls. This hotel is no more than a 2 star at best. If we were not so tired from travel we would have passed immediately. Don't waste your money there are plenty of hotels on Koh Samui for 5000 baht that are much better.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chaweng hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#51 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#31 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa De Mar
Casa De Mar
#18 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club
0.5 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Al's Resort
Al's Resort
#76 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Hotel

Property: Blue Lagoon Hotel
Address: 99 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Lagoon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaweng Blue Lagoon Hotel is a 4-star hotel nestled in a tropical garden between palm trees, lush bushes and flowers, and the beach.At our resort, we offer Superior Rooms, Deluxe Rooms and Deluxe Suites in our five 2-storey buildings. If you would like to spend your holiday in a more private way you can also book one of our Deluxe Villas right next to the beach or pool.Although being one of the smaller resorts on Chaweng Beach we have excellent staff who know how to make you feel comfortable from the very first minute to the very last. This is certainly one of the many reasons why we enjoy a long list of repeating guests throughout the year enjoying our family-style atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Lagoon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Koh Samui
Blue Lagoon Hotel Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing