We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service at its worst”
Review of Blue Lagoon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Lagoon Hotel
Ranked #67 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Customer Service at its worst”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Having spent over £1500 for 3 rooms (2 bungalow rooms and 1 sea view villa) booked via Agoda i was expecting a 4* hotel with good customer service and nice rooms.

Far from it unfortunately, the bungalow rooms are dated and have old furnishings, the sea view villa is via the swimming pool which is navigated via a small very poorly lit path. In the day this is not an issue, at night it is a nightmare! i am not sure why the management do not light the paths up better but any one returning after 6pm will have issues wondering around the pool to find your villa.

The Villa its self was ok, the rear door onto the beach is locked with a make shift lock which would take all of 30 seconds to break into from the outside. The air condition did not work and the roof leaked in the rain!

When advised of the issues the staff are not interested and every request was a chore for them, the key cards repeatedly didnt work. We were offered to move to a lesser room as the AC was broken but at 1/2 the price and nothing offered in the way of an apology it was pointless.

Dispite checking myself and my Thai wife in one of the staff had the audacity to ask for her ID when we came back on the first night as though i was bringing a bar girl back to the hotel. Very insulting to say the least.

All in all there are much better selection of hotels on the island and the Blue Lagoon is one to avoid unless you like poor service and an overpriced hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamB001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    99
    53
    20
    39
See reviews for
62
108
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vientiane, Laos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Paul S.
My team and I recently stayed at the Blue Lagoon, however, despite staying at the bungalows which were across the road (Because we wanted the cheapest price) our stay was excellent. We were actually working at the resort next door which was 3 times or more the price, but for comfort and surroundings the blue Lagoon equaled or was better than next door.
Overall, good quality, great breakfast, nice and quiet and if we had only realized earlier, the cost of evening meals was equal or cheaper to most places in the busy part of the town.

Room Tip: We found the bungalows to be a little old and run down and our aircon wasn't the best, and if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul0072013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I recently booked for 9 days at the Blue Lagoon and ended up staying 21 days. I have stayed on Samui previously and in several other hotels in other parts of Thailand. I was very impressed with this hotel.

Location
On Koh Samui location is essential. If you want to enjoy the nightlife and be right in the thick of it, noise and all, then choose the Ark Hotel/Party bar. If you want to be able to have the option of enjoying the nightlife yet sleeping and swimming in a quiet location, then the Blue Lagoon is ideal. The Blue Lagoon is ideal for families too.

The hotel is situated within walking distance of downtown (downtown being one road with loud and lively bars, shows, and restaurants). It is however situated on an almost white sandy beach gently sheltered by two small islands. The result is that the water is smooth and quite shallow. I walked out into the ocean a few hundred feet and it was no more than 1-1.5 metres deep -- ideal for swimming and playing. Water sports rentals are available just a short walk down the beach.

The hotel maintains many chairs on the beach to enjoy the view and enjoy the sun or shade. Just along from the chairs is a local fresh fruit seller and it’s worth ordering a pineapple for Bht100 just to watch how he cuts it.

The Blue Lagoon hotel is nestled between two hotels that charge far higher prices and having spoken to someone who stayed at the Amari, he described that as a little newer and three times the price.

On a practical side, the hotel is close to other restaurants and shops. Taxis and locals buses are available right outside the hotel and the front desk staff will guide you on what you should be paying or you may pay too much.

The hotel is less than 10 minutes from the airport and they offer a shuttle both ways.

Food
The Kantara Restaurant is lovely and the food very well prepared. The location of the restaurant is right next to the beach and you have a choice of eating inside or outside or just taking your plate and eating on the sand. At night, tables are set out on the beach and you can enjoy your meal while wiggling your toes in the sand. The breakfast offered with most rooms is a full western breakfast with Asian options. The options change daily and after 21 days at the hotel, I wasn’t bored with the food.

Pool
This hotel probably has the largest pool along the beach. We walked along the beach and checked out several pools in other hotels. Some were tiny. The Blue Lagoon’s pool is gorgeous. There’s also a Jacuzzi and a children’s area. It isn’t a very deep pool except in the deep end (up to 1.8 M), so it’s ideal for children. There were plenty of chairs around the pool and umbrellas for shade all around.

The pool bar was very convenient but unlike some hotels, the staff did not walk around pushing drinks all day. The bar is part of the Kantara Restaurant and you could order a meal, sit by a table next to the pool or, as I did, eat a meal right on your pool lounger. It was very nice having options.

Room
The room was spotless. It wasn’t up to Western standards if you’re looking for 5-star rooms, however, it was clean. The furniture is quite new but locally made and it has a “stressed” look and not the high gloss finish we tend to see in the west. There was plenty of storage too. We had an older TV but I noticed that they were in the process of installing flat screen TVs in some rooms.

The air conditioner in the room was modern, quiet and efficient.

Bathroom
The sink and surround was black granite and nicely finished. There was an in-bath shower with a curtain and it worked very well. I liked the fact that two bottles of drinking water were provided daily and bathroom supplies topped up as needed. Another “like” was the bright lighting in the bathroom.

Beds
Like most of Asia, the beds were really very firm; however, I slept like a log and have no complaints. The linen was crisp, clean, white linen. The towels very large and were clean but both the linen and the towels showed signs of age. However, I was more concerned with cleanliness. Beach towels and a lovely big woven bag were provided for beach and pool use. All linens were replaced daily.

Service
One of the most pleasant things was to receive small portions of fresh fruit in the hotel room every day around 4:30 pm. I would eat lunch, swim, walk and then return to my room to relax on the balcony with a cup of coffee (provided in each room) and then a plate of fruit would arrive just as I was wondering what I could eat to take me through to supper. Perfect!

Staff
Not all the staff members spoke English, but it was amazing how well they understood hand gestures from all the guests whether they were speaking English, German, French or other languages. They were patient and only too willing to help however they could. If you really needed a conversation or a request that was beyond hand gestures, the front desk staff spoke fluent English.

I think that covers most things. The big question is would I stay here again? The answer is “definitely”.

Room Tip: Rooms are either beach side or garden rooms. The garden rooms/wing is located across the road from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Recently stayed in this hotel with my husband, sister and her partner - we booked for 6 nights but stayed for 8. Lovely friendly staff who couldn't do enough for us. Fabulous pool and bar area, and nice rooms with a balcony to sit outside. The last morning our guys organised a special `'private' breakfast setting on the beach - it was awesome, and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Great location, and we would definitely return here if visiting Koh Samui again (which we will hopefully do).

Room Tip: We booked an upstairs room for the view - but I think all the rooms would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

As always the Blue Lagoon was a great place to stay. We had around 50 in our group staying for our sons wedding which was held at another venue.
Everybody was very pleased with the Blue Lagoon rooms,breakfast & pool. Only thing was last few days pool was green so no swimming but everything else was great. I'm sure there will be a few returning in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pickos7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordertown, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This resort was very cheap. Initially booked a garden bungalow but when we arrived were upgraded to a superior room. Room was nicely decorated but the beds were typical asian beds - hard as a rock. Towels needed replacing but it was clean and functional. The pool was lovely and breakfast was very good. Reception staff had little English but that is quite normal in Asia. In all we had a nice stay and the beach is lovely.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are good. Poolside bungalows amazing but garden bungalows across the road in the old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We have just returned to NZ from Koh Samui. We planned to spend four weeks in Thailand, three of these around Koh Samui, Koh Toa and Koh Phagnang and a few days in Bangkok. We started off in Bangkok and then three days later made our way to Koh Samui. We had no accommodation booked as we wanted to check out the property ourself before committing. We arrived in Koh Samui at 6:30pm, started off at the Iyara (where we had stayed previously) but after a cold reception we wandered into a neighbouring property, the Blue Lagoon. We were greeted by Achara who introduced herself as the Assistant Manager. My partner and I instantly warmed to Achara's friendly disposition, helpful manner and willingness to negotiate a good price for a room, she was just brilliant. However, we did want to compare with another property next door, the Amari. Eventually, after a "not that interested" reception at the Amari we decided to go back to the Blue Lagoon.
I am so glad we did. We had only intended to stay a week but we spent the whole three weeks of our vacation at this property. There were a few hiccups, to be honest, but these were addressed immediately by the staff. Our room was really good, good bed and bathroom/toilet and lovely clean sheets and towels every day. Great balcony with a view to the sea and pool. The property is beautifully landscaped and right on what we thought was the best part of Chaweng Beach because it is the quieter end and away from the very famous and noisy Ark Bar. I would hate to be down that end!!!
The swimming pool is probably the best around that area as it is huge and I would imagine in the busy season it would be essential to have a pool of that size. We did notice that a lot of the hotels along that strip do not have very large pools.
The breakfast is fantastic but best of all about the breakfast is the location of the restaurant the Cantara (right on the beach) And talking about the Cantara, we ate dinner there quite often and do recommend it. It is so romantic at night.
But most of all, what stood out for us during our stay at the Blue Lagoon, were the front of house staff. We felt like part of the family and didn't want to go. Achara and Laura..... thanks for making our stay so memorable. Art and Antoine thank you to you too.
Thank you for responding so quickly to our requests. We will return.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 517! It's right on the corner and upstairs. Has a sea view from one window and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marg888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.1 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#54 of 104 in Chaweng
405 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#70 of 186 in Bophut
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chaba Samui Resort
Chaba Samui Resort
#34 of 104 in Chaweng
602 reviews
0.6 mi away
Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
1.5 mi away
Chaweng Resort
Chaweng Resort
#65 of 104 in Chaweng
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Hotel

Property: Blue Lagoon Hotel
Address: 99 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Lagoon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaweng Blue Lagoon Hotel is a 4-star hotel nestled in a tropical garden between palm trees, lush bushes and flowers, and the beach.At our resort, we offer Superior Rooms, Deluxe Rooms and Deluxe Suites in our five 2-storey buildings. If you would like to spend your holiday in a more private way you can also book one of our Deluxe Villas right next to the beach or pool.Although being one of the smaller resorts on Chaweng Beach we have excellent staff who know how to make you feel comfortable from the very first minute to the very last. This is certainly one of the many reasons why we enjoy a long list of repeating guests throughout the year enjoying our family-style atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Lagoon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Koh Samui
Blue Lagoon Hotel Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing