We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on the beach, nice pool, smelly smelly room”
Review of Chaba Samui Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chaba Samui Resort
Ranked #31 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great location on the beach, nice pool, smelly smelly room”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We extended our stay in Samui for one extra night although our hotel was booked so we relocated to Chaba for one night in the ocean wing.
My benefit of the doubt offers the fact that we may have got the worst and one of the last rooms as we booked very last minute but... the room smelt terribly of mildew, the furniture and linen was stained with a terrible strong mouldy smell, including the bed pillows.
We were going out for the day so I couldn't be bothered mentioning it to staff at that point, we realised it was the AC causing the smell so ended up sleeping in the heat as it became unbarable.
I planned to mention the terrible, unbarable smell to staff the next morning upon checkout (after a terrible breakafast) although the checkout process was terrible and I was not given any opportunity to give feedback.
We were sat down, given our final bill which we paid in the correct cash. The reception staff walked off with our cash never to return, no thank you for our stay, no question as to whether we enjoyed our stay or needed any onward travel assistance, no receipt, nothing.We sat there wondering if it was ok to leave, very rude.
I dont mind a dated room or some backwards service when staying in Thailand but this place was very poor.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a newer room, and if you choose to stay here stay on the ocean wing closer to the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    232
    117
    44
    44
See reviews for
106
268
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Just returned from our 2nd stay at the Chaba and which will most definitely be our last. We first stayed here in 2007 and had a brilliant time which is why we decided to return, what a mistake. The service from the present staff was very poor, the beach bar crew just sat behind the counter on their mobiles and never spoke to you unless you asked for something, same for the breakfast staff we had to help ourselves to tea and coffee on quite a few mornings. Then there was the customer services guy Tony (mr fix it) when we checked out we had 2 hours to wait for our pick up mr fix it said leave your cases here they will be 100% safe, could not believe it upon our return to collect our case he had sent them to the airport with another party, anyone could have tampered with them for all we knew. Customer service did not exist, safe to say we will not be returning again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 501John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chaweng hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The airport at Koh Samui is better than this hotel (and when you arrive you will see). No one uses the pool and the quality of this hotel is reflected by the fact that its guests leave to use other hotels facilites. The breakfast is possibly the worst I have ever seen, do not pay for breakfast included. Do yourself a favour and eat elsewhere at all times. The staff speak very poor english so therefore are not helpful AT ALL, very unorganised and always forget who you are. The lobby and the rooms both smell, the bed is hard, the bathroom is too small. In need of desperate renovation. Do not stay here. We found MUCH better hotels that also back onto the beach and offer better food and facilities for $20 LESS a night!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view room i suppose..at least there is a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank triese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Just back from staying at the Chaba Samui, We were a bit concerned on reading previous reviews about this hotel before we travelled, although the hotel is admittedly a bit dated and slightly tired we were overall pleased with our stay. Our room was always kept clean, with fresh towels and linen when requested. On arrival there was a complimentary basket of fruit and each day you were given two free bottles of water - if they had been used, a previous review mentioned that they didn't get the two free bottles a day but this may have been because they only replenished the supply if either of the bottles had actually been emptied. You are also provided with bathrobes, beach towels (fresh available each day), beach mats and golf umbrellas to use during your stay. The room also had a hairdryer (wish i had known before travelling as had taken my own along with beach towels) and a kettle with complimentary tea/coffee. The hotel is situated in the centre of Chaweng beach which is ideal for strolling in either direction either on the beach or street. Breakfast had a selection of cooked items (my only grouse would be that these only seemed to be 'warm' rather than 'hot'), and continental items. We stayed in the Lake View side of the hotel, our room was nice, quiet - once the air con is on you really can't hear noise from outside, and although the view wasn't the most exciting we didn't go on holiday to stay in our room and look out of the window!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The hotel was very tired looking and could do with a good paint and refurbishment. The location s very good as it is right on the beach although it was rough and the red flag was flying for 10 days of our 12 night stay. We paid for rooms on the Ocean side of the hotel and were glad we did as this side is much nicer but as others have said there really is no view of the Ocean but it is still much prettier this side. Also we had rooms on the 4th floor which was much nicer. The rooms on the ground floor were quite dark. The room was ok. The bathroom was small but that diid not bother us as it was adequate.

We were returning to Chaweng for the first time and 6 years. It has grown massively and I do not think it is for the better. We went down the other end of the resort and it was very noisy and chaotic an we stayed up the Chaba Samui end after that. The other minus side of this hotel is the unpleasant smell out of the front. It smells like a rubbish dump.

Overall the hotel was kept clean. The staff were quite friendly. I would not stay here again however some people return year after year so I suppose it is a matter of preference .

Room Tip: Choose a room on the Ocean side on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seym7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Just returned from the Chaba hotel Koh Samui after a nine night stay. Never again.
As soon as we arrived at the hotel my heart sunk, we were shown into the 'poor side' of the hotel and not the new Ocean View complex.

In all the years my wife and I have been travelling around the world I can categorically state that room 237 was the worst room we ever have stayed in. There are three inferior rooms on this 'side' of the complex which are rooms 227/237/247. If offered these rooms PLEASE REFUSE THEM IT WILL SPOIL YOUR HOLIDAY. You would not believe the difference in these rooms when compared to the 'normal rooms'

When we first arrived at the room I immediately asked to be relocated which prompted the reply ' you pay 800 Bart extra each per person per night" what another 1600 Bart PER NIGHT on top of the £3200 I had already spent on this holiday. I was not aware of how bad our room was until we were invited into another guest room. BOOM......WHAT A DIFFERENCE. And we are paying the same money as these other guests.

Our LAKE VIEW was directly looking over a derelict building and in the distance there was the building site. GREAT VIEW.

The rooms was not the cleanest, paint peeling from under the windows, dirty stained sofa (personally I would not sit on it for the duration of our stay) and a bathroom that had not been dusted in weeks, and I mean weeks. ( I have the photos to prove this.)

When we complained again to the manager she tried to inform me that all the rooms were the same, until I mentioned that I had just left another guests room and her attitude changed completely, stating that the hotel was running at 100% occupancy, BUT we could move rooms on the last night of our nine night stay. WHAT A JOKE.

PLEASE if you are staying at the hotel side of CHABA please ensure that you are not allocated the following rooms 227/237/247 IT WILL SPOIL YOUR HOLIDAY.

NO Free Wi Fi

Would I stay there again NO WAY ON THIS EARTH.

Room Tip: Do not accept rooms 227 237 or room 247 they are sub standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkWorldTraveller67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Big room but small bathroom.Only given free water twice the whole week.Beds a little on the hard side and only changed twice.Breakfast was okay,but not room for everyone inside.If you had to sit outside you have to hold on to your food because of wind blowing down the alley.Pool is okay but pool bar a tad expensive.The beach is dirty.Maybe not the hotels fault as it is the same all along the bay.You can hire a bike from 150 baht and find better beaches.

Room Tip: Ocean wing is the best. Also not the ground floor as everyone walks past looking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sonofe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.7 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#35 of 104 in Chaweng
594 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#74 of 187 in Bophut
478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Samui Resort
Baan Samui Resort
#6 of 104 in Chaweng
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaba Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaba Samui Resort

Property: Chaba Samui Resort
Address: 19 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chaba Samui Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
93 Rooms, located in the heart of Chaweng, set beside a sandy white beach. Accommodation is split between two wings; the Lake Wing is across the road from the beach with the Ocean Wing located by the beach. Rooms have air conditioning, TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Ocean Wing rooms have a private balcony. Swimming pools, kids' playground, exercise room, sauna, pool bar and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chaba Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaba Samui Hotel Chaweng
Hotel Chaba Samui
Chaba Samui Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing