We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our holiday in chaba” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chaba Samui Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chaba Samui Resort
Ranked #38 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Our holiday in chaba”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Just got back from koh samui,we stayed in the chaba for 14 nights,it was wonderful,great location,on the beach,staff are amazing,breakfast was very good,beach/pool restuarant excellent food very good value for money,tony (mr fixit) manager couldn't do enough for us,we can't wait to go back next year

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank lorraine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    218
    117
    43
    42
See reviews for
97
252
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
milton Keynes
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed at Baan Samui further along the beach a few years ago and loved it,could not get in this year so we stayed here at Chaba Samui which was 100 yards away.
We stayed in the ocean side,which was a good choice,in room 316 which was as close to the beach/pool as you could get.
Good room, as you could see the sea to your right from the balcony,
The rooms were slightly dated but on par with most rooms you get out here.Beds were lovely and plenty hot water in morning/evening for shower.
Brekkie was good, buffet and egg station and staff v good.
Pool and sunbeds were excellent would def stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 316 as good as it gets
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swanny7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cora G, Exec. Secretary to EVP at Chaba Samui Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for the lovely review and for choosing Chaba Samui Resort. We are delighted to hear that you consider staying at our resort in your previous visit to Samui. We sincerely appreciate your kind compliments. It is gratifying to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again soon for another awesome experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved this place! We will be coming back for sure! Great service and good buffet breakfast! And two awesome pools on each side! Room service room is also great and you don't have to wait long! We highly recommend this place to family and also to party animals!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Paige R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here just recently at the start of February for 4 nights. It was a lovely hotel with friendly staff who were helpful. We stayed on the 4th floor (top level) so view was great. We were on the ocean wing side so we were basically a hop, skip and jump from the beach. (Get down to the beach early if you want to get a chair on the beach, very busy most of the time). Has a gym (pretty small) but the pool area was nice with the bar next to it and a massage area. Breakfast was nice each morning and eggs cooked as requested. Room was good, a bit old, but nothing to complain about as it was kept clean and tidy. We got woken up a few nights from the loud fireworks down the other end of the beach, but that is not the hotels fault. The location was wonderful, as I said earlier, right on the beach and you can just walk out onto the street and you have restaurants and markets right near you. Overall a good hotel with a lovely location. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Choose at least level 2 or higher on the Ocean Wing Side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jess_k_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Extremely not happy! Customer service was very poor. Hotel was average. Wifi didn't work. After staying at amazing places in Phuket I was very disappointed with this place. Had to ask for our rooms to be cleaned.
Only good thing about it was the location, perfect spot on the beach, with a short walk to all the bars and clubs and shopping areas. Would not recommend

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Ernestchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chaweng hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

I travelled to Koh Samui with a friend in June 2012. Wehad a 10 night stop at the Chaba Samui after 2 nights in bangkok. when we booked we were originally going to stay at the chaba cabana which is the 4* sister hotel to this one but it was fully booked and also further out so we didnt mind too much that we were going to be on the beach. so here goes the good points and the bad:

good points:

- literally on the beach so its really convenient in terms of location
- right on the strip - so if you're looking to go to bars/ clubs/ restaurants theres loads within 5 mins walk
- Tony was very polite - he came and spoke to everyone whilst on the beach - happy go lucky kind of guy


now for the bad points:

- firstly - there we saw a lizard in our room!! the staff came to take it out when we called them but by the time they came and the door open the lizard jumped away
- when coming back late at night the lights in the hallway were turned off and we had to do a quick manoevre to enter the room as along the whole wall outside the room there were so many lizards! was quite scary!
- we had food included and when we went down to eat our evening meal they gave us seats in reception - there were loads of flies around and we were the only ones there so it was quite awkward
- the rooms need a major update and so do the bathrooms

This hotel was more like a 2* and I would definitely not stay here again!!

Would not recommend this place at all!

Room Tip: IF you have to stay here get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

It seems as though I'm in the minority when I say that I didn't enjoy Chaba. Be that as it may, my experience involved dealing with surly, lazy staff and unkempt accommodation that was generously 2.5-star. For example, I'm not sure it's too much to expect the room to be made up daily, and yet...
The restaurant is pleasant enough, but most everything else is slightly off. The hot water didn't work perfectly, the pool was closed for a week longer than advertised;. The gym roof is littered with mould and looks minutes from bursting with pooled water.
I would recommend many of the other above-average places on Samui and stay away of Chaba - it is certainly not worth the price. Small rooms and unhappy staff are not what I've come to expect from Chaweng.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Beachcomber
Chaweng Beachcomber
#85 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#32 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chaweng Resort
Chaweng Resort
#64 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#76 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seascape Beach Resort
Seascape Beach Resort
#66 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaba Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaba Samui Resort

Property: Chaba Samui Resort
Address: 19 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chaba Samui Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
93 Rooms, located in the heart of Chaweng, set beside a sandy white beach. Accommodation is split between two wings; the Lake Wing is across the road from the beach with the Ocean Wing located by the beach. Rooms have air conditioning, TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Ocean Wing rooms have a private balcony. Swimming pools, kids' playground, exercise room, sauna, pool bar and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel and Booking.com so you can book your Chaba Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaba Samui Hotel Chaweng
Hotel Chaba Samui
Chaba Samui Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing