We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our holiday”
Review of Chaba Samui Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chaba Samui Resort
Ranked #29 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our holiday”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Well,We enjoyed our holiday in march/April so much we have decided to return again in 3weeks time Koh samui is amazing and we will stay at the chaba again,I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else,the hotel is on the beach,great food,wonderful massages,and amazing staff ,we have also booked to return in march for 3 weeks to meet up with new friends we made whilst there in march

Room Tip: Ocean wing (not ground floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorraine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    229
    117
    43
    43
See reviews for
105
262
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

It was a plesant and clean hotel,well located.
The main disappointment is that there is no sea view even though it is called an Ocean wing room.
The manangement refused to entertain any discussion on the subject.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seremban, Negeri Sembilan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My parents and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The hotel is just 5 min to 10 min walk to Central Festival. Good location. However, the reception staff was not friendly at all. They did not smile or greet you in the morning.
When asked about restaurants or places around the hotel, their standard answer was no. No effort was made to help. In addition, all of them do not speak English well.
Hotel is old but clean.
Wifi is just terrible. Besides logging in each time you are back to hotel, the signal is weak and sometimes disconnected.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TongPeiNee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in november last year n we had a great time wasn't a 5 star but it didn't really matter as the view n the very helpful and friendly staff made it a great stay the rooms were spotless and the bbq night was amazing and we must not forget about captain MR FIX IT who was very funny and really looked after us ! :)

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phillipa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I came here a couple of years ago and absolutely loved it. The hotel is in a great area, close to all the shops, restaurants and right on the beach front. What more could you want. The hotel has all the amenities you need and the food served there is ideal. The swimming pool and swimming pool bar area is great, and even better is the massage beds where you can have an array of treatments for a reasonable price. I absolutely loved Koh Samui and had no problems at all with this hotel, our family have been here 3 or 4 times now and I would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kims2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We read the reviews and with trepidation booked anyway. We thought, what the heck, its a great location, central, pool looks ok and good part of the beach. the only thing they could stuff up on us is the room. Can you imagine then our reaction when we arrived on the 3rd July at 5pm to be told our Family Room booked 2 months in advance and 50% deposit paid was not available as they had given it to another guest. The 2 girls at reception were the worst hospitality employees I have ever encountered, (We have travelled for 30 years all over the world and have been to Thailand over 20 times) they were incredibly openly rude, treating us like a burden and made us feel terribly upset. We were told we would have to have a standard room with 3 beds for our family of four and that was that. Understandably we were not happy and asked for the manager, Mr Sakol to help us resolve a terrible situation. Unfortunately for us he was no better than the 2 reception girls. When we advised that the room offered was unacceptable we were told bad luck and that it was a busy period and we would be moved several days later when and if a room became available. No apologies were offered, our request for financial compensation was sneered at and dismissed despite the room offered being cheaper when we booked than the Family Room. Perhaps the ultimate disgrace was when we were yelled at " You Listen to Me' repeatedly by this so called hospitality professional when we voiced our disappointment at being treated so poorly. The whole time the 2 girls just rolled their eyes and gave us filthy looks. When we were taken to the room by one of the girls it was next to the restaurant, tiny and did not have enough beds (3 single beds for a family of 4) for our family and the lack or help to sort out where we would all sleep was nothing short of staggering. The manager appeared with another room key and in Thai discussed offering us another room with the reception girl. The girl obviously told him we would just have to take the room and he proceeded to walk away. When I questioned him about the key in his hand he reluctantly showed us another room with enough bedding for us. At no point was there any apology, remorse, sympathy or any display at all of even basic Customer service. The next morning 2 things happened. 1. We emailed Cora (who we booked through) and is the secretary to the exec VP of the Chaba group. 2. I walked 100 metres down the beach and came across a brand new resort named OZO which is simply outstanding. We went to Reception to check out after 12 hours and were immediately approached by the hotel GM who offered us all sorts of things including the best suite at the sister hotel Chaba Cabana. Unfortunately this hotel was a long way from the centre of Chaweng and we declined the offer based on our desire to be central. Our email to Cora triggered what should have been the appropriate response from management at check in. Both Cora and the GM were fantastic. Unfortunately it was all too late and the whole attitude of the staff and management at check in left such a bad taste in our mouth we just wanted to get out of there. This Hotel is tired, the management on site are complacent and rude and need to be replaced, we were forced to look elsewhere and can tell you all first hand there are at least 6 hotels in this location that are better and cheaper. For those thinking of going here "DONT". For those who don't understand these reviews and have enjoyed Chaba Samui for years do yourself a favour and explore options, its time for a change and I assure you there are much better, newer, cheaper hotels in the same great location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tillfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cora G, Executive Secretary to EVP at Chaba Samui Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi Kylie! Kindly accept our sincere apologies with what you had experience at Chaba Samui Resort. I do regret of the untoward incident you had which could have been avoided if the necessary arrangements were accorded in assigning the room you actually booked. I was also worried of the children so I then called on our Hotel Manager to the point of taking you to our sister hotel, Chaba Cabana, in the hope that you could agree to stay there. I know that any apologies cannot make up for that incident.
We also thank you for taking time for this review, which we do collect and then have it shared with our staff especially with the staff concerned of this incident ,who have been re-briefed to ensure that there are no similar occurrences in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chaweng hotels

Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Upon arrival at the resort at night after our flight, we made enquiries with the 2 lady receptionists on afternoon/night duty about our free late check out at 2pm on our last day. Prior to my arrival, it was confirmed via email with the hotel. They blatantly refused it, claiming that there's a full occupancy from 9-15 July 2014, despite me showing them the email confirmation print out. That particular lady was very rude and impatient while answering our questions. Their attitude and way of speaking was very unfriendly and impatient. We were given a free upgrade to the ocean wing, however they overlooked our beds preference (twin beds) and we had to wait for her to go back to get the key. She didn't even bother to apologize for the mistake. During her brief explanation of the room, she wasn't very friendly. Her job was more like a "robot" to her, too montonous. She didn't display passion for her job. When I requested for 2 extra pillows, she gave a big frown and my friend told me that she raised our voice at us. She could be more polite and try to explain nicely. *shakes head* The rest of the staff were more friendly than these 2 receptionists.
Our transport transfer was confirmed with Tony who acceded to our request for the free late check out. This was only our consolation.
Location wise, it's okay, accessible to the shops and Central Festival shopping centre which opened this March.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelicdolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cora G, Executive Secretary to EVP at Chaba Samui Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
The Management thanks you for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us. The behavior of our staff was not the normal CHABA response and we would like to offer our apologies for the inappropriate attitude you faced on this particular occasion.

With reference to our colleagues at the reception, they have been re-briefed to ensure
that there are no similar occurrences in the future.

Thank you for staying with us and sorry that you had encountered such situation at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.7 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#31 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Beachcomber
Chaweng Beachcomber
#86 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chaweng Resort
Chaweng Resort
#66 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaba Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaba Samui Resort

Property: Chaba Samui Resort
Address: 19 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chaba Samui Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
93 Rooms, located in the heart of Chaweng, set beside a sandy white beach. Accommodation is split between two wings; the Lake Wing is across the road from the beach with the Ocean Wing located by the beach. Rooms have air conditioning, TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Ocean Wing rooms have a private balcony. Swimming pools, kids' playground, exercise room, sauna, pool bar and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chaba Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaba Samui Hotel Chaweng
Hotel Chaba Samui
Chaba Samui Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing