We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would never stay here again”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Chaba Samui Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chaba Samui Resort
Ranked #37 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would never stay here again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2009

Stayed for 3 nights in Feb 09 and had really mixed feelings of this place.
Rooms are very dated and small. The lake view rooms look onto a murky green "lake" and are NOTHING like the pics.
Had 2 rooms between 6 people. One night the toilet stopped working and took about 20 mins minimum before someone turned up with a plunger to fix it, then it broke again and again had to wait for anything to happen. Finally moved to another room which STUNK!!! It actually smelt like sewage!! All day and night and the air conditioning only made it worse. when we complained it was like pulling teeth to get anything done. The staff were very unhelpful and reluctant to do anything to help us. Also didnt help that none of the staff spoke very good English.
If you are travelling in a group with 3 to a room = I wouldnt. The extra beds are trundle beds with pillows that look like they came from a lounger as a mattress and they dont come with duvets, unless you ask for one.
the pool and view are quite nice, as is the pool side massages etc and breakfast is very good.
While this is a relatively cheap place to stay I would never stay here again!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anna_mcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    222
    117
    43
    43
See reviews for
100
255
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2008

We have now stayed at this lovely Hotel four times since 2004. This last time, a family party of twelve.
Why go somewhere else when you find a gem? The location is ideal, right on the beach. The staff are efficient and friendly. The rooms are comfortable, clean and have all one needs. The breakfast selection is more than adequate and catersfor all nationalities. Two well maintained pools, and always a sunbed, either around the pool or on the beach.
We love it, and will probably go back again .

  • Liked — Accommodation, location, staff
  • Disliked — Not a lot to dislike enough to add a comment
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMK12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2008

We stayed at the Chaba Samui for 17 nights in June/July and had a great time. We had a room in the Ocean Wing and because we were on the top floor could actiually just about see the sea. The room had recently been refurbished and was spacious and pleasant. Apart from the poor facilities in the fitness centre which I had wanted to use I could not fault the hotel especially given the low cost. Breakfast was plentiful and loads of variety. My husband especially liked Kens omlettes. The sun loungers on the beach were in need of replacing and I think it would be agood idea for the beach boys to rake the sand daily as people were happy to just drop cigarette ends into the sand. I would have to agree with the other writers in that the tailors were a royal pain along with the time share touts. The resort seemed to have been taken over by Indian shop keepers rather than the Thais' who were running the businesses last time we visited. The tailors all seemed (with the exception of Timmys- no hassle and very pleasant owner) to adopt annoying cockney accents and are best avoided at all costs. One look at the window displays should keep you walking in most cases. as for eating out there is a fantastic choice, I would recommend Crystals which is out of the hotel and to the left towards the part of the street where the one way system ends. Cheap food and excellent cocktails. Will Wait were also very good - out the hotel and turn right about half a mile. Definately eat from the sellers on the beach they are good value and the food is really good

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgiarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2008

My wife and i stayed at the Chaba Samui july 08 really pleased with the hotel in general. There are a few minor points e.g. decor is a bit outdated and the cosmetic attention is needed to the paint works around the pool area (Lake wing) Other than that we found the Chaba a perfect base to explore Koi Samui, Staff are extremely attentive and always have a smile. We stayed in the Lake wing rather than the ocean wing and was pleased it was pleasently quiet and besides very few ocean wing rooms have direct ocean views which i think is misleading in some of the travel agent literature. All in all a above average hotel, located right in the heart of chaweng beach, which is another matter alltogether, the main seafront road may as well be any kiss me quick holiday resort shop after shop of tourist junk, suit sellors or massage lounges, once you have walked it once you have seen it all. At night it is transformed into a foodies paradise with resturants specialising in fare from across the globe, we were there for 11 nights ate in a different place each night and never once had a bad meal (hence the size of my stomach on return).
In summary a great destination and location for exploring the island. Just be wary of the timeshare touts that will pounce with scratch cards, howvever be polite but firm and they are no bother.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of bar area in main reception
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank buddabellyTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2008

I couldn't agree more with the past reviews of this resort. Sun, sea and lots of fun- Everything my family could possibly want to experience away from the city life is here within our budget.
I travelled with my husband, daughter 4yr and son 3yr. We were given a warm welcome with fresh juices upon arrival at the lobby. Most staffs are good with children which make our stay of 5days feeling warm and nice.
The room which we book is spacious and well equipped, though there's no bath tub, it makes showering kids a breeze. Rooms are clean and kept clean everyday by the housekeepers as we are very particular about dust and cleaniness of room cos our son is asthmatic.
Food is within reach either left or right of the hotel. My kids especially favour those pushcart pancakes along the roadside. Enjoy a massage by the poolside which is resonably cheap and good or simply relax by the pool or sea on their sundeck chair and sip on a cool cocktail or singha beer while looking at the horizon, clear blue sea that's full of activities like jet-ski, banana boat and parasailing.
We'll be back to discover more.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salymeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Herradura
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2008

We read the reviews first and made sure we booked an ocean view room. No the rooms dont have an ocean view (we had a view of the tops of buildings) but it is the better wing on the beach side. We did find it hard to get a sunbed on this side as there just are not enough. It became impossible to get one on the beach unless you had a word with the attendant the night before. He would then reserve you a bed for the next day. One day we could not get a bed at all on this side so we crossed the road to the other wing and found that we had the pool to ourselves. The reason being this pool is on the 1st floor, no beach view and very small but it was lovely to have it all to ourselves and you can use the phone to order drinks down at the bar ! The staff are very friendly, good food in the beach bar and the evening restaurant., very relaxing atmosphere. Chaweng is a bit crazy but the hotel it away from the main busy area. You walk out of the hotel and there are still shops,bars and restaurants but its not in the thick of it ,so to speak.There are alot of sellers on the beach but just ignore them and they soon leave and dont bother you again. We had a few problems with the safe...not opening but was resolved the next day (luckily we had enough money for that day already out!). We didnt really bother with breakfast as there wasnt much of a selection. Above all a lovely stay !

  • Liked — friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — no view from balcony
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jetlaherradura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2008

Booked this hotel based on price as there was a buy 6 nights, get 6 free plus a free upgrade to the Ocean Wing, which was supposed to be the better side of the hotel, which is literally on the beach.

Rooms were very clean and the housekeepers were very friendly and marvellous, clean towels & sheets every day, beach towels, beach mats & bathrobes supplied in the room.

The Chaba beach massages were excellent, the Aloe Vera one is definitely recommended and I'm sorry I didn't have more!

However, the rooms were definitely ready for a refurb and were a little tired compared to some of the quality you can get at Chaweng Beach in low season for the price. In fact, as we were reaching the end of our stay, we noticed that the recently vacated rooms around us were being totally gutted and updated, so anyone staying in the Ocean Wing this year should benefit from this.

In addition, during the first couple of nights, Ithere seemed to be mosquitoes in the rooms at night, although when I asked at Reception, they immediately sprayed my room for me and I seemed to have no problems after, especially after purchasing a mossie machine in the local supermarket just down the road!

I'd also recommend that anyone staying at Chaweng invests in some 95% Deet spray rather than the cheaper 15% versions, as they are definitely worth it, the mossies are particularly virulent this year!

The pool at our side of the hotel seemed clean, if a little dated, but the pool bar never seemed to be open although there is a beachside bar a few feet away serving food and drink during the day.

In addition, there seemed to be a strong sewage smell wafting by the pool from time to time. When we reported this to reception the maintenance crew did their best to try and get this sorted for us by draining all the pumps in the pool and draining & refilling the Coy Carp pool in the gardens, although the smell could admittedly have been blowing in from the road as we noticed it was stronger after there had been rain during the night so could have been coming from the sewers.

The beach here was beautiful, and the hotel supplied us with free sunbeds on the beach with parasols if required.

Breakfasts were good, with plenty of selection, the scrambled eggs were particularly excellent!

All the staff were very polite, friendly and helpful, and were a credit to the hotel.

In all, the 3-star rating was about right for the standard of rooms we got, although we thought the general rates of 3600B per night had we not had this offer were extremely high for this time of year in these quality of rooms.

It's worth mentioning to anyone staying here - take a visit to The Wave bar just down the road, owned by two ex-pat Brits, excellent food and service, good value for money, very clean with a friendly, fun and chilled out atmosphere not to mention the cheap internet access & massive selection of books!

  • Liked — The staff and the clean rooms
  • Disliked — The quality of decor in the rooms which was much in need of refurb
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MonkeyStroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.7 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#32 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Beachcomber
Chaweng Beachcomber
#86 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chaweng Resort
Chaweng Resort
#66 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaba Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaba Samui Resort

Property: Chaba Samui Resort
Address: 19 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chaba Samui Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
93 Rooms, located in the heart of Chaweng, set beside a sandy white beach. Accommodation is split between two wings; the Lake Wing is across the road from the beach with the Ocean Wing located by the beach. Rooms have air conditioning, TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Ocean Wing rooms have a private balcony. Swimming pools, kids' playground, exercise room, sauna, pool bar and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelbag, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chaba Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaba Samui Hotel Chaweng
Hotel Chaba Samui
Chaba Samui Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing