We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mercenary hotel tactics very annoying”
Review of Chaba Samui Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chaba Samui Resort
Ranked #31 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed 8 April 2009

Do to a relatively minor travel agent oversight when booking the room they only made the reservation for 1 person. So when my friend and I arrived at the hotel which we had already paid for they insisted that we pay an extra THB1000, each night. We contacted the travel agent who faxed over a letter stating that it was their fault. Even had the reception staff admit, that single occupancy rooms and double occupancy rooms are priced the same. But they had their mind set on the extra money because they had the paperwork to "prove" that the booking was for 1 person. Reception staff hounded us, left notes, rang our room, knocked on our door and in the end threatened us with the police. This went on right up till check out 6 days later. In the end we managed to get them to come around after talking with a more reasonable manager. All of this unnecessary conflict could have easily been avoided if the hotel was more amenable to their guest’s best interests. Unfortunately this is not the case and if its peace of mind you want, stay at another hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thhuxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

468 - 474 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2009

After Visiting Thailand many times.. 9 in 10 years this was our first and only visit ever to Samui and especially the Chaba Samui Resort. Its the pits compared to any other hotel we have stayed in in Thailand.. The rooms are poor standard, dirty in need of refurb ugently along with some privacy nets etc..We had a peeping tom one night at 1am. We had a room that stank of urin to start with, moved to another that had no privacy at all.. the noise is stupid from the lake till 3am. Some staff need re training at best.. not all being fair though. The towels were sure are just dried and handed back to whoever.. they stink so beware!! The pool is crowded at the front and the sunbeds poor dirty with cracked smelly filling..They serve and allow glass in and around the pool area, the parasols rusting and filthy. Drinks expensive food expensive more than UK prices thats a fact.. ...... The fitness centre is a joke, no air at all and worn out! Truly a hotel to avoid in our opinion, so many better deals around for the same if not less money! We could go on... you make your own choices.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 10 nights from 3rd March 2009. Our room was on the lake side facing the lake and the road. BEWARE the disco over the lake continues untill 3.00am and it is LOUD. The rooms although very clean are in need of serious renovation. On the plus side the staff are very pleasant and nothing is to much trouble, the pool are was very clean and always sun beds available. The beds and brrollies on the beach can be in short supply and need updating especially the brollies. We stayed on a B&B rate and found breakfast to be good.
The hotel is at the quieter end of Chewang Beach, make sure you eat at the resaurants on the beach, there are loads of them all serving good food.

For a good basic hotel at a reasonable price a good choice, if you want a bit of luxery look elsewhere.

Beware when checking out, they check your mini bar before you are allowed to give your key in and we were charged for things we had not consumed. Make sure you check out in plenty of time before your transport arrives to take you to the airport to sort this out. We ended up paying as we were short of time.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susie144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

Our 5 day stay became 3 after having to endure construction noise from remodeling work. Worse yet, management seemed indifferent to our complaint: no offer to relocate us to another room or compensate us in anyway. We were located in the Ocean Wing. The headboard of our bed wasn't attached properly and fell to the floor twice. My fiance, who is Thai, was the recipient of insulting remarks by the pool boy and that was enough; our holiday completely ruined.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueboy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

Stayed for 3 nights in Feb 09 and had really mixed feelings of this place.
Rooms are very dated and small. The lake view rooms look onto a murky green "lake" and are NOTHING like the pics.
Had 2 rooms between 6 people. One night the toilet stopped working and took about 20 mins minimum before someone turned up with a plunger to fix it, then it broke again and again had to wait for anything to happen. Finally moved to another room which STUNK!!! It actually smelt like sewage!! All day and night and the air conditioning only made it worse. when we complained it was like pulling teeth to get anything done. The staff were very unhelpful and reluctant to do anything to help us. Also didnt help that none of the staff spoke very good English.
If you are travelling in a group with 3 to a room = I wouldnt. The extra beds are trundle beds with pillows that look like they came from a lounger as a mattress and they dont come with duvets, unless you ask for one.
the pool and view are quite nice, as is the pool side massages etc and breakfast is very good.
While this is a relatively cheap place to stay I would never stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna_mcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2008

We have now stayed at this lovely Hotel four times since 2004. This last time, a family party of twelve.
Why go somewhere else when you find a gem? The location is ideal, right on the beach. The staff are efficient and friendly. The rooms are comfortable, clean and have all one needs. The breakfast selection is more than adequate and catersfor all nationalities. Two well maintained pools, and always a sunbed, either around the pool or on the beach.
We love it, and will probably go back again .

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMK12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

We stayed at the Chaba Samui for 17 nights in June/July and had a great time. We had a room in the Ocean Wing and because we were on the top floor could actiually just about see the sea. The room had recently been refurbished and was spacious and pleasant. Apart from the poor facilities in the fitness centre which I had wanted to use I could not fault the hotel especially given the low cost. Breakfast was plentiful and loads of variety. My husband especially liked Kens omlettes. The sun loungers on the beach were in need of replacing and I think it would be agood idea for the beach boys to rake the sand daily as people were happy to just drop cigarette ends into the sand. I would have to agree with the other writers in that the tailors were a royal pain along with the time share touts. The resort seemed to have been taken over by Indian shop keepers rather than the Thais' who were running the businesses last time we visited. The tailors all seemed (with the exception of Timmys- no hassle and very pleasant owner) to adopt annoying cockney accents and are best avoided at all costs. One look at the window displays should keep you walking in most cases. as for eating out there is a fantastic choice, I would recommend Crystals which is out of the hotel and to the left towards the part of the street where the one way system ends. Cheap food and excellent cocktails. Will Wait were also very good - out the hotel and turn right about half a mile. Definately eat from the sellers on the beach they are good value and the food is really good

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank Georgiarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.7 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#35 of 104 in Chaweng
631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#54 of 104 in Chaweng
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,921 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaba Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaba Samui Resort

Address: 19 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £38 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chaba Samui Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
93 Rooms, located in the heart of Chaweng, set beside a sandy white beach. Accommodation is split between two wings; the Lake Wing is across the road from the beach with the Ocean Wing located by the beach. Rooms have air conditioning, TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Ocean Wing rooms have a private balcony. Swimming pools, kids' playground, exercise room, sauna, pool bar and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chaba Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaba Samui Hotel Chaweng
Hotel Chaba Samui
Chaba Samui Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing