We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure I liked it as much as I thought”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Ranked #18 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not sure I liked it as much as I thought”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Due to illness we arrived a day late at the hotel. We understand that we would not get refunded for the day that we missed which is quite normal since we only called the night before. What I did not like is that we asked the hotel to stay and extra 4 days but we wanted the same rate as we had normally paid and they could not do it even though we had paid for he first night and were not able to make it and also the fact that it was not peak season and they were not full. We stayed in bungalow 505. The bungalow is very small but the gardens are spectacular. All in all i found the room quite pricey fr what we got elsewhere gravelling through thailand for ovr 5 weeks. The only problem with the gardens is that they water and they water and they water which creates a gorgeous garden but at the same time the room was extremely muggy. We were unable to dry anything for 4 days. The air conditioning is situated on top of rom I believe and it brought all the dampness in the room. Very hard on asthma. I swear to you everything in our suitcases was damp. Nothing ever dried. We ate other places as they said we had a discount but again we found everything quite pricey.

The buffet is great but the coffee is horrible like most places in Thailand. You can get a cappuccino in the restaurant for 150 baht which I thought was very pricy. The staff works really really hard and long long hours.

Location is great. Great beach and pool and a hop and a skip to chaweng street which is full of life.

All in all hotel was overpriced but ok. Not very accommodating room wise and we ended moving due to their non flexibility to a hotel call Baan Chaweng to our own private beach villa right on the ocean with living room jacuzzi tub and huge bedroom for one 25.00 more. Bungalow 505.

We checked out their regular bungalows also and they are twice as big for less money. Te grounds at not as nice but when you are situated right on the beach who needs a big pool when you have such a gorgeous ocean.

If the hotel would have agreed to us staying there for an extra 4 nights at the original price we would of probably stayed but thanks to them we ended up finding something bigger and better for more reasonable price.

One other thing that made us feel uncomfortable was the we got noticed during the afternoon the previous day to make sure tht we were leaving by noon. As soon as we called the bell boy to get out bags two staffs were standing in front of our bungalow to get in and clean it. Our bags were not even picked up yet and we were not even out of our room. It was only 10am in the morning and we felt like we were being pushed out for the room. My advice to he hotel is wait for the guests to be at least out of their room before you have two staff waiting to get in. It is rude and not proper etiquette. If it would of been noon then we would of understood. But 10am, it was unecessary. We were actually happy that we were leaving the hotel after that instance.

I have not written many complaint issues in the past 12 hotels that we have stayed in but this one deserved a bit of a wake up call,

Room Tip: Bungalows are muggy due to the gardens. Keep that in mind
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diamondeyhes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay with us and we appreciate you sharing your extremely valuable comments with us and others!

It was indeed a great pleasure to have your company and we shall be looking forward to welcome you soon back the The Melati!!

Sincerely,

Denis Martin
GGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    601
    200
    71
    61
See reviews for
466
902
43
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We have just returned from the Chaweng Regent in Samui and was not disappointed. This hotel is conveniently located next to the beach and all the tourist shops. The staff were always working hard to make our holiday more enjoyable and a special thanks to Estee for her welcoming and wealth of information. There was always plenty of choice at breakfast to suit all tastes. We did not use the Red Snapper restaurant as there are plenty of choices to eat out in Chaweng. Two swimming pools and a gym set in lovely tropical surroundings a world away from the hustle and bustle of Chaweng.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsHappyCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear MrsHappyCoventry,

Thank you for taking the time sharing your feedback on your recent stay at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort. It is always encouraging to hear that our guests enjoyed our many of our facilities and have so many positive things to say. It is much appreciated.

We will take your feedback as motivation to work even harder to exceed our guest’s expectations and beyond.

The Team looks forward to welcoming you back to Samui in the hopefully not too distant future.

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

This is our 3rd time visiting this hotel - first in sep 99 for our honeymoon and then in 09 and in 3dec this year.

Location is right in the heart of chaweng shopping belt and in terms of amenities, this hotel is better than most in this stretch of chaweng beach- had surveyed all the beach facing resort along the beach during my stay here , and besides amari hotel, this is a hotel with a nice swimming pool and resort styled spa suite.

The only chink in the armor is its wifi paying service - only free wifi is available in the 2 eateries ( chomtalay and red snapper only from 11am to 11pm). Had paid for Bht 999 for 7 days of wifi connection - the wifi signal in the room is abysmal although its a paid service. Also the connection download speed is a mere 0.2Mbps (Ookla speed test ) although it was touted as a high speed internet wifi.

Had attached 2 screenshots on the wifi signal and connection speed.

All in, a decent hotel with a team of passionate service workers especially in chomtalay restaurant - Kai was exceptionally enthusiastic in his work and I am impressed with his service.

Will I return for the 4th time - maybe , if free wifi is available.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lesliecwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Lesliecwm,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. While we were pleased to hear that you enjoyed our facilities, we were equally sorry to hear of your disappointment regarding our Wifi services. Customer service remains our top priority at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort and feedback such as yours enables us to improve; we are very grateful to you for bringing the issue to our attention.

On behalf of the management, please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused, please trust that your experience in no way reflects our dedication to our valued guests.

We are happy to hear that you will consider our hotel the next time you are in Samui and will be pleased with our improvements.

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The Hotel is perfectly located on Chaweng Beach - despite some beach/location reviews of this place being noisy and seedy - much like Patong in Phuket - I felt the opposite, The hotel is right on beach with great service from the bar and towel providing staff. The welcoming crew were very nice on arrival with cold towels and welcome drink. Our room was not ready but that was expected so spent a glorious 3 hours on beach and the room we chose was away from beach (our chosing) and was very nice. Good firm bed
The best part of this hotel was walking onto the main Chaweng Street and literally the shops (all usual Thai tourist beach wear shops) were clean and people friendly. The Red Snapper restaurant was very good and again staff very helpful
A BIG thank you to Estee (manager relations at Regent Chaweng & Red Snapper) she worked the breakfast area each morning welcoming and talking, giving advise to all who asked. By the amounts of waves and smiles from patrons you could tell she was very welcomed by all
Pool area is small - but thats fine when the beach is right there.
for the price which was very reasonable - a good hotel & location
Will come again for a 3-4 day type stay

Room Tip: Room near Street side - can be a little noisy during the afternoons with the bands all practising fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynmar61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear cynmar61,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, the Team will be thrilled to know that your stay with us was enjoyable.

All your indications will be very useful for future guests; please trust that your comments will be shared with Esthee and all members of the team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon and thank you again for your feedback.

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PerthWA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My wife and I stayed for 7 nights in early November. As we had never been to Koh Samui and the trip was organised by a travel agent, everything on this holiday was going to be a surprise. From the moment we arrived at the delightfully quaint airport, we had a smile on our faces. Our first impressions of both Koh Samui and the Chaweng Regent Beach Resort were very positive. Our room was ready for us, despite our early morning arrival. The Chaweng Regent is a really nice 4 star resort. It extends from the main road all the way to the beach and so has plenty of accommodation away from the street noise and also from the beach noise (not that there was much). We had a basic room by the garden pool which was quite large and had a nice balcony area. Lovely gardens, two pool areas, a large fish pond, gym and massage areas all go to make up a place that was a pleasure to be in each day. The beach and the pools were fine to swim in and the swim up bar was a hit. We enjoyed breakfast each morning by the beach and tried the Red Snapper and the Chom Talay restaurants at night, both of which had very nice offerings. The company that organised the airport transfers did have a presentation to give on our second morning. I found this to be a no-pressure sell, and they arranged a great day trip out to Ang Thong National Marine Park. There is a clothing shop and scooter hire within the resort which make shopping easier. There is a 7/11, market, ATM machine and half a dozen massage shops right outside the door. The Resort is within easy walking distance of many of the bars and nightspots along the main street and also many of the restaurants along the beach. We found the staff excellent with their service, especially after my wife fell and injured both her ankles. From the security guard who picked her up, to the office and restaurant staff who looked after her, they were brilliant. We found all the pool and housekeeping staff always willing to give us a smile and say hello. We were a bit worried about reports of planes flying overhead, and they do. To be noted is that they fly over many of the resorts along the strip and are a part of life in Chaweng. From a personal point of view, the lack of wifi in rooms was a blessing, but I can understand it will not suit everyone. All in all, we had a wonderful time (thanks also to our Sydney and Baldivis friends) and we are already looking forward to planning a return visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finally_Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Finally_Europe,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we are delighted to hear your stay at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort was memorable.

The Team will be happy to know you enjoyed the gardens and friendly service you received during your stay. First impressions last forever.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you all in the near future. Thanks again for your fantastic comments.

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

The location is excellent right in the middle of chaweng. The beach is nice and the staff at the bar was very fun and attentive. Service was top notch and the rooms we're well put together. No free internet which is why it doesn't get 5 stars from me.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rastko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Rastko S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, the Team will be thrilled to know that your stay with us was enjoyable.
We appreciate your sincerity about our internet services, which we are currently looking into. That being said, we do provide free Wifi in both restaurants unlike many other properties of the same star ranking.
Still, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon and thank you for your feedback.

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Hotel is in a great location close to everything Chaweng has to offer.
We did not receive the bedding options we requested on arrival, after 2 days of bad weather we woke to a leaking roof. We then we moved to the rear of the hotel to a garen pool room.
The gardens are beautiful & the breakfast is fantastic! However as we paid more for this hotel I found it to not as nice as other hotels we stayed at in Thailand for much less.

Had a hard time communicating with staff & after adding all hotel tax & service charge the hotel becomes pricey. Travel to Thailand often & wont be staying again.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are dark and dont offer a lot, rain caused a leak & was moved to a garnden pool r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chantelle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear chantelle s,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. While we were pleased to see that you enjoyed our gardens and location, we were very sorry to hear of your disappointment during your recent stay at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort.

As customer service remains our top priority, feedback such as yours enables us to improve our service, facilities and therefore we are very grateful to you for bringing the issue to our attention.

On behalf of the management, please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you and your partner, please be advised that your experience in no way reflects our dedication to our valued guests.

You will be pleased to know that we are constantly conducting intensive language training programs for the entire Team to ensure that no similar incidents occur. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort has served Koh Samui for over 20 years and has done so by offering wonderful accommodation in a warm and caring environment.

We would also take this opportunity to thank you for your patronage - we do hope that the above misgivings will not prevent you from considering our hotel the next time you are in Samui.

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.7 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,454 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,451 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,353 reviews
1.3 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaweng Regent Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Regent Beach Resort

Property: Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Address: 155/4 | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#13 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#21 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaweng Regent Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your own paradise, enveloped in breezy elegance and shaded by majestic coconut trees. Enjoy a taste of tropical living, bask among blooming native flowers and sweeping ocean views and delight in an idyllic holiday of relaxation and pampering. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, where impeccable service and luxury accommodation await, offering a refuge to promote health and wellness with palate-pleasing experiences.This is the place to relax. There is nothing to disturb the blissful tranquility of Samui. This is a place to explore. There is much to see and do, but only at a pace you set yourself. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort is a stunning beach front resort, situated on the famous Chaweng beach on Koh Samui. Conveniently located only a short walk away from the vibrant excitement of Chaweng with its many entertainment spots, restaurants and shopping centers, our resort offers the very best location to suit all tastes. Whether you want to get away from it all and relax in our tranquil surroundings or shop till you drop, Chaweng Regent Beach Resort has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Chaweng Regent Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Regent Beach Hotel Chaweng
Regent Koh Samui
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing