We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit = amazing, Second visit = let down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Ranked #19 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My partner and I first visited this hotel in 2012. The experience from the moment we arrived was fantastic!!! We had a spa suite and could not find one fault in the rooms or hotel grounds at all. The pools were clean and refreshing, the staff were amazing, the breakfast daily was to die for and the location right on the beach and in the heart of Chaweng itself is unbeatable.

You really do have the best of both worlds - out on the street is the hustle and bustle but in your hotel it is quiet and relaxing. Sometimes the beach can get quite busy with people walking past or people trying to sell bikinis, ice cream, clothes etc but the hotel has a security guard on 24 hours and there is also a line in the sand where they are not allowed to go over.

Our second time visiting the hotel was in April 2013. We actually brought along our two best friends this time as we were certain they would love it as much as we did. Unfortunately upon our arrival we did not receive the same high quality service from the staff and were then told we had to be downgraded as they had overbooked!!! This didn't start the holiday off very well. They gave us some vouchers to use at the spa, pool bar and a free dinner at one of their theme nights but still ruined the beginning of our holiday a little.

On our second trip we were actually looking at this hotel for a potential wedding destination but because of the first encounter at reception - this changed our mind. We wouldn't want our wedding guests being downgraded!!

Overall we had an amazing holiday and the beautiful island overrides any bad experiences at hotels etc!!

Room Tip: The spa suites are well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelleyandCoreyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear ShelleyandCoreyB,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very saddened to hear of your disappointment and unsatisfactory experience during your second stay at Chawegn Regent. We are also so incredibly sorry to hear that you will be choosing another hotel for your wedding venue and that we lost this opportunity to host such a special event.

On behalf of the management, please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you.

We would also like to thank you for your patronage - we do hope that the above misgivings will not prevent you from giving us another chance to offer you an amazing experience same as your first stay with us.

With Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

830 - 836 of 1,919 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

First came here 20 years ago with the kids and wanted to relive some of the beauty we'd experienced all that time ago.

Had a fabulous 10 days of complete rest and relaxation here, having arrived exhausted and in need a well-earned bit of peace and quiet - we really restocked our batteries here.

Lovely staff and a beautiful campus located at the beginning of a long shopping street which we tended to avoid apart from when we wanted a cheap cocktail or needed to get on the internet for free.

Our room was stunning with an amazing bathroom suite and lovely views out of the windows. The huge bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever slept in and the breakfast buffet is to die for! Great beach, fab swimming pools and total attention to detail made this a perfect holiday for us both.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balloonexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear balloonexpert,

We are delighted you enjoyed your 2nd visit to Koh Samui and that we were able to create another memorable experience for you and your family. Thank you for the feedback, it is wonderful to hear from our valued guests. Your comments are much appreciated.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

With Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Key question for me is what is wrong here? I doubt to give it a "two" or a "three" rating. But certainly not more and I would not recommend it to my friends.

The hotel/resort has a good look and feel. No problems checking in, most of the staff are friendly, rooms are clean and good. Location is perfect, front on the main beach road with shops, restaurants and bars and back at the beach. The Spa and the Chomtalay restaurant are good, as well as the buffet breakfast. Drinks and food service on the beach and at the pool side with a good selection of food and drinks. Nice pools and the public toilets clean all day. So all good and than there is this big BUT.......

Koh Samui is a relative small Island, so I understand that planes are coming and going, but in this case they fly over the resort mainly between 6 and 11 am and end of the day. They fly so low that you have to stop your conversation. And if you are a light sleeper.....

When you book make sure you ask for a room in the middle of the resort (garden location) this will also prevent you from loud noises coming from the nightlife.

From 11 AM till 11 PM there is free WiFi at the restaurant. Otherwise you need to pay about 3 to 4 euro a day to be online. If you buy Wifi be mindfull that you buy access for just one device at the time. So enjoy log on and log off and log on and log off... WHY??? Just add 1 or 2 euro to the room charge and offer everybody 24/7 free Wifi. What a different customer experience this will be.....

Beach chairs reservation is not allowed. However you need to do this in order to secure a beach chair. So get up before 9 AM and claim your chairs. It seems there are not enough chairs and during our stay the first row of chairs on the beach were under water due to the tide......

Food and drinks are served at the pool and on the beach. However you need to push the button several times before service will come and it is better and faster to go to the bar to order. Staff is friendly but seems not so motivated to serve and clean food and drinks. Maybe an option if the hotel doesn't include a standard 10% service fee on the bill, but incentify the staff with tips from the guests.....

We also missed a lounge/bar area were you can have a drink at the end of the day or after your dinner. The bar area is small, but also closses at 10.30 PM and they are strict on this. The will turn down the light and close the place even if you have not finished your drinks....

The Spa is good, but the Gym is very small. They only offer one tredmill and at the second day of our stay it was broken, taken out so no tredmill and no sports for us......

Apart from the above it is also worthwile to mention that we might have been unlucky during our stay. We were with two families of ten people in total. After the new year dinner party 4 of us got sick, most likely from eating the oysters. During the lucky draw we won some vouchers but directly after the fireworks the tables were cleaned and our vouchers gone (after some serious talks we got new ones). Four people had to move rooms due to the fact that a rotten smell was coming out of the airconditioning and also this was not so well handled by the management.

Overall this resort has the potential to be good or even great. All in all we left with mixed feelings.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Ronald3D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Ronald D,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Koh Samui and for taking the time to share your experience. Your feedback is valuable and constructive. We are deeply sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and for that we sincerely apologize.

The location of Chaweng Regent and the other resorts along central Chaweng hear the airplanes especially when you're staying this time of year as there are many people traveling to and from Koh Samui and unfortunately this is beyond our control.

Due to the layout of the property and the garden surroundings it's been a challenge to provide internet access to all the rooms. However we are in the process of improving our wi-fi signal and offering free wi-fi within the resort.

For the other issues you've mentioned above please be assured that we have addressed them to the team and that we will work on improving.

Once again, we are very grateful for your feedback and deeply apologize. We hope that you will give us a chance to serve you again in the near future.

With Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

After many holidays spent in Koh Samui - we were blown away with our stay at Chaweng Beach Resort. Great location - right in the heart of the hustle and bustle of Chaweng and yet once you enter the lush surrounds of the resort you are welcomed by the sounds of silence - bliss. Our deluxe spa room was lovely and comfortable. Eating breakfast each morning right on the beach was invigorating. The Christmas Eve dinner show was delicious and entertaining. The pool and sun beds was also great with plenty of staff to cater for your every need.

If there was any fault - the pre paid wifi was incredibly slow and often unable to join in the rooms although free wifi was available but slow at times. Suggest more boosters are installed to cater for the amount of guests using the wifi

Special mention to the staff - I was humbled by their pride and dedication to their jobs. Forever cheerful and happy to help you in any way. I am also sincerely grateful for their concern when I was hospitalised - heartfelt and genuine.

It will now be our holiday destination every year. See you in 2014

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Wantoktravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Wantoktravellers,

Thank you for choosing Chaweng Regent among so many resorts on Samui; we are thrilled by your feedback. It is always a pleasure to read positive feedback from our guests, thank you very much for taking the time to share.

The Team will be so happy to see their hard work praised in your review, as we do strive to provide the best possible experience to all our guests.

Regarding the wi-fi, we are now working on improving this service.

We will be thrilled and quite privileged to welcome you on your next visit this year.

With Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Really upset with needing to pay a lot of money for a compulsory NYE gala event that I was not going to be attending. I understand if it's a couple or a few thousand baht, but 8000b per person is obscene!!! To then charge for wifi on top of that. My room is not in the location where I asked for it to be and now house keeping have thrown out a towel that I brought from home. Unless I get a substantial upgrade my 2 week stay will be nothing but tainted.
When you pay an inflated price for a 4 star hotel things like wifi should be included. I can get free wifi for the duration of my stay at all of the hotels and backpackers just down the street!!
I have stayed at this hotel previously and thought I would stay again but I am just utterly disappointed and upset at how much this is costing me. :-(

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
4  Thank Sharna_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Sharna_k,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Koh Samui and for taking the time to share your experience. We are deeply sorry to hear that you were disappointed while staying with us.

The NYE gala dinner is compulsory and is mentioned in the booking details, while many did enjoy our Gala dinner that evening it's a shame you couldn't attend.

We understand that your stay was not as enjoyable as it could have been and for that we do apologize. Please assure that the other issues you brought up have been addressed.

We hope that you will give us a chance to serve you again in the near future.

With Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Loved it ! Stayed for a bit here during our mini moon in Koh Samui and the pvt villas are beautiful ! Place was recommened to us by our aunt and she got it right for sure. Luxurious and fun all in one. Great location - central to all the parties in the area and the spa is amazing. They have a mini lagoon on their beach that I think is really romantic. We really enjoyed and totally recommend it to all , even those who want a well priced holiday and even those who do only luxury holidays.

Good food , great staff , 2 pools - so if you want to hit the bar the 2nd pool has an inbuilt one which is great and very private.

Room Tip: Ask for a villa closer to the beach , i think we were in the 2nd villa closer to the beach. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AartiuKapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear AartiuKapoor,

First, on behalf of the entire Team, congratulations on your recent wedding! We hope that your life together will be full and happy. Thank you for sharing your mini moon experience at Chaweng Regent, the Team will be thrilled to know that it was an enjoyable one especially after being recommended.

We truly appreciate your comments and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you both again very soon.

With Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We spent seven days here and enjoyed it very much. It has a nice beach and bar area and is located very close to all of the action of Chaweng. The breakfast was wonderful and they did a great job of setting us up on excursions on the island as well. We stayed during Christmas and they brought us a stocking full of goodies as well as a gift for our son. We loved how the resort was laid out and enjoyed or bungalow. It has a nice porch area. Overall, it was a pleasant stay and we would return if we travel here again.

The negatives: These are only minor inconveniences but I do feel they are worth mentioning.

1. The resort is located near the airport so you do get some noise from departing/arriving aircraft.

2. The room key has a magnet in it that must be placed in a holder in order for the lights to come on. So when you leave your room, everything turn off including the air conditioner. So when you return, the room can be hot. It does cool back down quickly.

3. Bed was firmer than I cared for it to be.

Room Tip: We bought a magnetic money clip from town and propped it up in front of the key holder to trick the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Jeff M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Chaweng Regent, the Team will be thrilled to know that your stay with us was enjoyable and glad to hear that your son enjoyed his Christmas gift from us.

I would like to take this opportunity to explain why we only give 1 key card per room. Due to the increase in hotels and resorts each year we have decided to implement this as one of our energy efficient solutions and we have a goal to reduce our negative environmental impact and conserve energy especially on this little island of paradise. Huge amounts of energy are used by hotel facilities worldwide, most being derived from fossil fuels, thus generating huge amounts of greenhouse gas. By improving the energy efficiency of our hotel and by avoiding waste of energy, our hotel is taking an important step to reduce its greenhouse gas emissions and to contribute to the preservation of the earth’s natural resources. We hope you can understand our reason behind this and please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you when you travel to Koh Samui again.

With Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#12 of 103 in Chaweng
2,638 reviews
0.7 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 103 in Chaweng
1,985 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 103 in Chaweng
1,418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muang Samui Spa Resort
Muang Samui Spa Resort
#4 of 103 in Chaweng
949 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaweng Regent Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Regent Beach Resort

Address: 155/4 | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#17 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £82 - £443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chaweng Regent Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your own paradise, enveloped in breezy elegance and shaded by majestic coconut trees. Enjoy a taste of tropical living, bask among blooming native flowers and sweeping ocean views and delight in an idyllic holiday of relaxation and pampering. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, where impeccable service and luxury accommodation await, offering a refuge to promote health and wellness with palate-pleasing experiences.This is the place to relax. There is nothing to disturb the blissful tranquility of Samui. This is a place to explore. There is much to see and do, but only at a pace you set yourself. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort is a stunning beach front resort, situated on the famous Chaweng beach on Koh Samui. Conveniently located only a short walk away from the vibrant excitement of Chaweng with its many entertainment spots, restaurants and shopping centers, our resort offers the very best location to suit all tastes. Whether you want to get away from it all and relax in our tranquil surroundings or shop till you drop, Chaweng Regent Beach Resort has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Chaweng Regent Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Regent Beach Hotel Chaweng
Regent Koh Samui
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing