We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Ranked #18 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very good place to stay”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

While we did have a few issues with this hotel the overall stay was positive. When we first arrived our room was double booked for the first night so the happily downgraded us for the first nigh then had to switch rooms mid morning the next day. We also had a few communication issues with the receptionist at times which was frustrating. However the room we booked was really awesome and included a Jacuzzi. The breakfasts, staff and the cocktails were also amazing and by the time we left we both really loved our stay. This hotel is close to a lot of other restaurants and bars and so there is plenty to do and see outside of the hotel as well. We would definitely go back on our next Ko Samui trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay with us and we appreciate you sharing your extremely valuable comments with us and others!

It was indeed a great pleasure to have your company and we shall be looking forward to welcome you soon back the The Melati!!

Sincerely,

Denis Martin
GGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    900
    589
    196
    71
    60
See reviews for
447
894
43
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Our transfer from the airport and welcome we received at reception was perfect. However, there was a slight glitch following this. The suite we booked was double booked our first night. I had read this in previous reviews but having booked in January and paid in full (50% in Jan/50% beg July) we did not think this would happen to us. We can't work out if this is a money making scam by the hotel or that their admin is disorganised, but having read previous reviews we fear this happens too often to be the latter. After some sensible liaisons we were offered the compensation we felt was appropriate, equivalent one night fee on credit for spending in hotel, so liaise for what you think is fair. The alternative accommodation was very nice and when they moved us the next day, we even considered requesting to go back! All things considered though, it was worth the move from a Spa to a Royal Suite, given it's close proximity to the beach, and away from the expected noise of children at the main pool.

The Royal Suite we had was unfortunately not beachfront (#302) but from the lounge the sea could just about be seen through the trees. With separate lounge/TV room, walk through wardrobe with large sink area, shower, toilet and jacuzzi (each separate) it was lovely. As a couple though we didn't really use the lounge but it would be perfect if you had a child as it doubled up as a separate bedroom. Comparing the two types of accommodation, the Spa Suite was more modern/contemporary, had a sofa within the bedroom and desk/dressing table, separate wardrobe/fridge area, combined sink/shower/toilet, jacuzzi between the bathroom and wardrobe space, so perfectly comfortable for a couple. The Royal Suite, although considerably bigger, was a more traditional decor but probably worth the upgrade. A few more shelves, drawers or hangers would have been useful and we're pretty light travellers. Maybe a desk/dressing table too, but not sure how this would fit current layout. No wifi connection in this room either as it's within a blind spot for the aerial, but connection is available a short walk away and all public areas.

Now the staff. All truly wonderful. Cleaners, gardeners, gym trainers, waiters, barmen, beauty therapists, reception, concierge, security, pool attendants... Not a bad one amongst them and the hotel should be very proud of their hiring and training abilities. They are perfectly mannered, friendly and respectful.

Would we stay here again? Probably not but that would be so we can try another aspect of the island. Would we recommend? Definitely. It's a perfect spot for families and those wanting the contrast of quiet beautifully maintained gardens with the crazy chaos of the main Chewang Strip.

The spa treatments are amazing. Look out for the buy one, get one free massages by the pool and also the daily specials to be taken inside the spa. All very reasonable compared to UK treatment prices and wonderfully administered.

Regarding the food. The breakfasts are amazing. The choice is plentiful. The poolside food is well done. The themed evenings are buffet style and good value for big eaters. The Red Snapper is ok but you will honestly get fresher, better value food on the street or beach and quite honestly, the shabbier the better. The small family run places are ladened with fresh seafood and never did we experience any compromise on the quality of cooking. It's the healthiest we've ever eaten on holiday and not a pound/kilo was gained!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChopSuey1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay with us and we appreciate you sharing your extremely valuable comments with us and others!

It was indeed a great pleasure to have your company and we shall be looking forward to welcome you soon back the The Melati!!

Sincerely,

Denis Martin
GGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The hotel is situated in the Main Street of Chaweng with easy access to plenty of restaurants, bars, clubs and shops. The rooms are spacious and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. There are 2 pools and the beach outside is also nice for a dip. However, there is a natural rock barrier and the water at the beach stays shallow all the time. Free wifi throughout the hotel extending to the beach and pools brings great convenience! Recommended for all :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fayz' G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay with us and we appreciate you sharing your extremely valuable comments with us and others!

It was indeed a great pleasure to have your company and we shall be looking forward to welcome you soon back the The Melati!!

Sincerely,

Denis Martin
GGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Our first visit to Samui so wanted to be in the thick of things first time round... Chaweng regent certainly in great location. A hiccup with checking in - our booked premier room un available for the first night. Staff were very much up front with the overbooking situation and offered a lower grade room (a poolside room), complimentary dinner and spa discount voucher. As we simply were focused on getting on with our holiday we were happy to settle in and make the change the following day. This was the only problem we experienced and our stay at the chaweng regent was wonderful. Breakfast great, options around the pool for lunch nice and always something on at dinner time. Restaurant beautifully positioned beachfront, main pool kinda busy and great to have a second pool option which was always more quiet and peaceful. Staff very helpful but somewhat limited with language so getting their advice on things to do and places to see was limited to staff at the on site tour company. Spa was fabulous and gym well equipped. Probably would have been nicer to have the windows closed and air on on in the gym... but the bikram workouts were doing their job ;) would I stay again?...Absolutely!! Would however cut to the chase and book the spa villa poolside...
This was a 30th wedding anniversary getaway and we had a wonderful time. Remove the inconvenience of "overbooked" rooms... it was all we expected and more

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay with us and we appreciate you sharing your extremely valuable comments with us and others!

It was indeed a great pleasure to have your company and we shall be looking forward to welcome you soon back the The Melati!!

Sincerely,

Denis Martin
GGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

After staying in a shoebox sized room for three nights in Singapore, our stay in Room 242 overlooking the Garden Pool Swim Up Bar was like a dream come true. The room was HUGE almost apartment size! I loved that the toilet was separate from the bathroom where there was a sunken bath and giant vanity which is perfect for a girl like me who loves to sprawl her things out!

I read a previous review which said their room wasn't ready until 5pm. Maybe booking with Flight Centre and being a "My Time" guest was worthwhile after all because if our room wasn't ready at 2pm we would have received 1000thb resort credit.

We arrived just after 2pm and were greeted with flower garlands and ice cold jasmine tea, after a 3 hour layover in Phuket thank goodness our room was ready!

The daily breakfast was delicious and had endless options.. although one morning I saw a man with waffles but I could never find them or they had run out. Never mind. The omelets were amazing!

Unfortunately you are only allocated ONE room key which has a key ring attached to be inserted in the room to activate lights and air con. Of course we wanted to spend an afternoon down by the pool and charge up phone and camera batteries before we made our way to The Jungle Club for sunset drinks & dinner. However we overcame this issue by detaching the key ring from the actual key itself so we could leave the electricity running, come back to a cool room to get ready for our evening out and have fully charged phone & camera batteries! Lightbulb moment on my behalf! (and no, a standard ATM card did not work)

The resort itself is minutes walk from all the action of Chaweng. We walked to Ark bar, the Ice bar, Central Festival and all the way down to Banana Sea Fan Resort. Songtheaw's frequently pass by outside and it cost 400thb return for two of us to get to Fisherman's Village in Bophut for the wonderfully bizarre night markets on Friday. We didn't dare negotiate with the taxi drivers. Next time we would probably just hire a small jeep for a few days to get around the island at our own pace. But the Songtheaw's are good and reliable.

We had terrible service and food at The Islander and Coconut Willys but the complete opposite at Tumzaab and Orchid Restaurants in
Chaweng. We really enjoyed our evenings in those two restaurants. Great food, awesome service and lovely ambience.

For two of us we arranged pick up from the hotel with The Jungle Club for 400thb return plus our drinks and food bill came to less than 2500thb altogether with entrees, mains and quite a few Singha's and we met some lovely people there too. The view alone was worth every baht!

At the end of our stay we did not want to leave Samui or The Chaweng Regent, it was absolute paradise. They even brought round some complimentary chicken nuggets one afternoon when we were relaxing by the pool. I loved the poolside buzzers for service - particularly during Happy Hour!

All of The Regent staff were very nice and as helpful as they could be despite some communication difficulties due to the language barriers. Although it was noted on check in that our in room safe was not working, it did not get fixed until four days after the fact when I discovered the "Please fix it" door sign and put it up.

We will definitely return to The Chaweng Regent again, it's a beautiful resort!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kylie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay with us and we appreciate you sharing your extremely valuable comments with us and others!

It was indeed a great pleasure to have your company and we shall be looking forward to welcome you soon back the The Melati!!

Sincerely,

Denis Martin
GGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterloo
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in 2 deluxe rooms during 5 days. The hotel is nice located, near the beach and close to center. Rooms are well equiped and clean.
Staff is very friendly and efficient.
Couple of remarks :
- standard free internet is not at a decent quality level for such an hotel.
- we had a couple of technical issues in the room : no hot water, AC leaking water, ... But those were very quickly fixed
- they say they organize thai cooking courses... But you need to be at least 2 people otherwise they do not organize it....they made no effort to try to find other people...so if you want to do it, be better not alone interested...
- hotel is located right in the axe of the take off of the ko samui airport....so do not think about sleeping late in the morning.
- no real contact with the sea as they build a little protection 50 meters in the sea. Bophut beach is nicer

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Luc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay with us and we appreciate you sharing your extremely valuable comments with us and others!

It was indeed a great pleasure to have your company and we shall be looking forward to welcome you soon back the The Melati!!

Sincerely,

Denis Martin
GGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We are staying at this resort and love it! Fabulous spot. Friendly helpful staff. Great facilities incl air con gym. Pretty much everything we need. So relaxing. The breakfast is amazing! Excellent location near shops and restaurants but very quiet in the resort. Beach great but water not that deep but deep enough to cool off. Deeper part only 5 min stroll away. No rocks like other resorts. Rooms have safes, complimentary wAter, lively hot showers, umbrellas, drying rack for togs, storage, air con, DVD, perfumed candle nice touch, privacy, deck, flat screen tv, big comfy bed, and plenty if room to rest. A flatter pillow was supplied in request. Can't fault this place. Loads of happy hour deals at the several bars. Even a complimentary cocktail voucher. The staff, location and chilled out feel of this place really make it special. Yus!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HayleyPollock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay with us and we appreciate you sharing your extremely valuable comments with us and others!

It was indeed a great pleasure to have your company and we shall be looking forward to welcome you soon back the The Melati!!

Sincerely,

Denis Martin
GGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.7 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,775 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,400 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,410 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,344 reviews
1.3 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaweng Regent Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Regent Beach Resort

Property: Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Address: 155/4 | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#13 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#21 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaweng Regent Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your own paradise, enveloped in breezy elegance and shaded by majestic coconut trees. Enjoy a taste of tropical living, bask among blooming native flowers and sweeping ocean views and delight in an idyllic holiday of relaxation and pampering. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, where impeccable service and luxury accommodation await, offering a refuge to promote health and wellness with palate-pleasing experiences.This is the place to relax. There is nothing to disturb the blissful tranquility of Samui. This is a place to explore. There is much to see and do, but only at a pace you set yourself. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort is a stunning beach front resort, situated on the famous Chaweng beach on Koh Samui. Conveniently located only a short walk away from the vibrant excitement of Chaweng with its many entertainment spots, restaurants and shopping centers, our resort offers the very best location to suit all tastes. Whether you want to get away from it all and relax in our tranquil surroundings or shop till you drop, Chaweng Regent Beach Resort has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chaweng Regent Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Regent Beach Hotel Chaweng
Regent Koh Samui
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing