We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had our wedding at this resort. All of our family and friends attended, the Regent staff made it amazing!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chaweng Regent Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Ranked #18 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
1 review
“We had our wedding at this resort. All of our family and friends attended, the Regent staff made it amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

Fantastic resort, right in the heart of everything, but big enough to get away from the hype if u would like to!! The staff are helpful and very friendly and poliet. Would recommend this resort to anyone. i have stayed there twice now!!! rooms are modern Thai style and very clean as is the pools and gardens!!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thark9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    835
    547
    182
    67
    60
See reviews for
417
823
39
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Woking, Surrey
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

This hotel is brilliantly located if you are into lots of night life and activities. The rooms and amenities are basic but good, I would recommend the bungalow style for a more intimate setting. The hotel rooms are in need of refurbishment but still comfortable.

The food is overpriced and not as good as other restaurants just down the beach so would recommend eating at Larelae which is part of Muang spa resort, (down the beach to the left opposite a boat which says Muang) exceptional value for money and food is brilliant!

Other facilities are superb, spa & fitness centre come highly recommended and the staff are extremely friendly and efficient.

Would recommend taking an adaptor for your mobile if travelling from the UK as they have all other adaptors possible except that one. Also keep an eye out for the additional service charge of 10% and 7% tax which is not included in majority of their prices.

Would recommend hiring a scooter which costs about 300bht a day and is worth every penny to drive around the island and do all your sight seeing, a jeep is not necessary even for the highest point!

The diving centre attached to the hotel is superb (Grand Coral Divers) and would recommend using them for any scuba diving or snorkelling that you are wanting to do. (Ask for Takeshi -for diving or George for snorkelling and they are great even with people who have never been before and for those that have, they make the effort to cater for your personal needs and really do make it a great experience).

I would not recommend this hotel if you are wanting somewhere quiet and romantic as is a busy part of the island, but does have good access to the hub of the nightlife. Overall average hotel and the staff make up what is missing here. Would class as a good 3 star rather than a 4.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Savanna3100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

we stayed at the chaweng regent for the first part of our honeymoon, and we had a lovely time here. the staff are attentive and helpful, and the location is brilliant as its on the beach as well as close to all the shops and bars....

we visited the in-house spa for some massages and a facial, and the service here was great too....they gave us 20% off too which was well appreciated!

we had one of the larger rooms, which was the right size for us, and it was equipped with minibar, TV and dvd player. the bathroom was decent enough, although it was a bath + shower rather than separate.

we received a yummy cake with some bubbly to celebrate our honeymoon which was a nice touch....

there are 2 swimming pools - one inner and one closer by the beach, which were both nice to relax by... breakfast offered good choices with the standard cooked items, cereal, lots of nice fresh fruit, and plenty of other things...

we didn't eat at the in-house restaurants, not because they didn't look nice but because we liked going outside instead...you must visit ninja crepes for some good quality and very cheap thai food...!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diva80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne, australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2009

We have been to Koh Samui a number of times and stayed at a number of hotels. This one was a bit of a dissapointment. On the plus side - the gardens are well established and maintained, and quite beautiful. The pools also are excellent. The rooms themselves are very average. We were first placed in a deluxe viall room was was small old and dark - and looked nothing like the room we thought we had booked. So we were moved to a regency villa which was newer and let in light. It was still tiny - but an imporpvement. Housekeeping was poor - the windows and mirrors were smeared and the bathroom looked like it hadn't been scrubbed in a while. It didn't smell 'clean'. It was also impossible to get a dark room at night as they leave the patio light on and the light comes through the blinds. Breakfast is good - fresh and the bakery goods are particularly well made and presented. Room service not great - microwaved soggy pizza we couldn't eat, go to Prego instead! All in all - it's a 3 star hotel and overpriced for what it offers. There are better resorts in Koh Samui for the price - Imperial Koh Samui is one.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valentinatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2009

hotel was absolutely lovely no faults at all and the staff so friendly,i was slightly disappointed with our room and because it was our 25th wedding anniversary asked to be upgraded but unfortunaley couldnt,, but to make up for it we was given champagne and a cake. A very luxuruious hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debs035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2009

We have just spend 12 lovely nights at Chaweng Regent. The hotel is in a supurb location - right on Chaweng Road, but set back enough for it to be lovley and quiet.

The one thing I would say which I have seen written by another traveller is the pool/beach bar service can be very slack - you have to sit and wave for about 5 minutes to attract someones attention - it is quicker to go and fetch it yourself.

There are lots of lovely places to eat outside of the Hotel, but one word of advice would be to be on your guard if eating at the Islander. My Husband and I had our drinks spiked the second eveniing we had dinner there - not a very nice experience at all.

Other than that it was a wonderful, peaceful holiday and we will definately return to the Chaweng Regent.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angie3angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mornington Peninsula, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2009

We arrived at the Chaweng Regent Koh Samui from Bangkok and found it to be a welcome relief. We had experienced Bangkok before and knew what to expect but the place just gets bigger and busier and to be honest hasn't really changed for tourists in 20 years. Anyway back to Samui, The Hotel lobby/reception area is nice and the staff are very willing and eager to assist, there is a bit of a language barrier but they will call on nearby staff who have a better grasp of the languge to assist when necessary. Check in was made easy and a welcome drink provided. I'd say from the time we got out of our transport to being led into the room would not have been more than 20 min half an hour tops. The room was clean and simple and had a king size bed and day bed. English movies on three channels and a variety of other non english speaking shows. A DVD player was also in the room. Tea & Coffeee making facilities were also available and the air con was excellent. An in room safe was available to use at no charge. Bathroom was great, shower nice and hot and the room was mozzy sprayed and turned down every night. Staff in the halls, walkways & even the gardeners were always smiling and saying hello. The location of the Hotel in my view couldn't have been better, it had the best & cleanest beach frontage and was in the vacinity of nightlife and shopping. An easy walk along the beach or out the front on the road took you to many restaurants and bars. The hotel had two pools (One with a spa) & (One with a pool bar) and both were well looked after. It also offered a gym and restaurant with themed nights. I did find that the walkways did get very slippery when it rained and they should look at installing non slip matting down as i could see an older person breaking a hip. Dinner or breaky on the beach is standard and we couldn't really fault the place. We hired a motorbike and were able to leave it in the hotel carpark which was manned 24hrs by security, no issues at all. If i had to be picky i would say that for what you pay the room could be more well appointed with luxurious furnishings etc but that's not to say that the room isn't already well presented and maintained. The grounds were well tendered and quite spectacular. I loved this hotel for all the reasons i have listed above and would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Smithy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.7 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
0.9 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
1.3 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaweng Regent Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Regent Beach Resort

Property: Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Address: 155/4 | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#12 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#21 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaweng Regent Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your own paradise, enveloped in breezy elegance and shaded by majestic coconut trees. Enjoy a taste of tropical living, bask among blooming native flowers and sweeping ocean views and delight in an idyllic holiday of relaxation and pampering. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, where impeccable service and luxury accommodation await, offering a refuge to promote health and wellness with palate-pleasing experiences.This is the place to relax. There is nothing to disturb the blissful tranquility of Samui. This is a place to explore. There is much to see and do, but only at a pace you set yourself. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort is a stunning beach front resort, situated on the famous Chaweng beach on Koh Samui. Conveniently located only a short walk away from the vibrant excitement of Chaweng with its many entertainment spots, restaurants and shopping centers, our resort offers the very best location to suit all tastes. Whether you want to get away from it all and relax in our tranquil surroundings or shop till you drop, Chaweng Regent Beach Resort has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Chaweng Regent Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Regent Beach Hotel Chaweng
Regent Koh Samui
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing