We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good position - right in the action but still quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Central Coast NSW
Level Contributor
76 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“good position - right in the action but still quiet”
Reviewed 1 March 2010

On arrival we were told there was no room for us at the resort (even after paying up front some 4 months ago). We were sent to their "sister resort" called Melati at Tongsai Bay for the first few nights. We were upgraded into royal suites on our return to Chaweng Regent and they were great rooms. However the mosquitoes were everywhere - even when they sprayed the room you were still eaten at night in bed. Apart from that (and the toilet that kept blocking) the place was really good.
The towels on the pool chairs early in the morning happens everywhere - so if you can't beat them join them! If you let the chair go later in the day you cannot necessarily get one when you want one. So once you get the chair - keep it!
The resort is right in the middle of everything - Chaweng is a really busy beach. Dont go here if you want a nice secluded holiday.
You are not troubled by the noise of the main street at all - only the fireworks going off at all hours of the night on the beach (and some noise from local beach bars). Nothing to worry about too much though.
We were sorry we did not eat in Red Snapper - instead we ate in the other restaurant on the beach. It was okay but we had much better meals at other places.
All in all it was a good holiday - but I think we did prefer Melati Resort even though it was more isolated away from everything. It was good to experience both resorts so it all worked out for the best.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kris052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickBauer, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 March 2010
Valued guest,

We take note of the challenge experienced at the Chaweng Regent for instant improvement.
At the same time we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our sister property the luxurious Melati Beach Resort & Spa.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to either property.

With kind regards,

Nick Bauer
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    887
    578
    192
    69
    59
See reviews for
435
879
43
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

Great hotel to spend your holiday, very nice complex , with very friendly staff.

Perfect breakfast and absolute perfect location on a great beach.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nesse_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickBauer, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 March 2010
Valued guest,

Thank you for your praise,hope to see you very soon again.

Kind regards,

Nick Bauer
General Manager & the Chaweng Regent team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
509 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 576 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

We stayed in one of the cottages which was small but quaintly decorated. Although close to our neighbours we couldn't hear them from the bedroom. The only indication that the rooms next door were occupied was the noise of the airconditioner that can be heard from the bathroom. The room was quite cramped for two adults but you don't come to Samui to lie around in the room. The water pressure in the shower is not great and the bathroom is dark, while the bedroom curtains let a lot of light in at night. There are a number of very popular beach bars nearby so if you are hoping to get an early night expect to be woken by fireworks exploding overhead into the small hours. The airconditioner was effective but loud. Housekeeping was great with frequent scatterings of fresh flowers around the room, fresh fruit every day and a daily spraying for mosquitos in and outside the room which really works. On nights when we visited other resorts we always came back with several insect bites but had none when we stayed around the Regent.
The resort generally is well laid-out and quiet. Our room was directly opposite the children's play park which we thought would be a noise issue but we hardly heard a peep from it. All the food was great, breakfast was a huge spread every day and other meals from the restaurant or beach bar were all pleasant. The staff are great, from the warm welcome to the helpfulness around the beach and pools. They don't seem to expect tips and even the smallest gratuity earned us a loyal following from several waiters who were extra attentive thereafter. Another nice touch is that the hotel has claimed part of the beach for itself which means you are less hastled by beach vendors here than at some of the cheaper neighbouring places.
The fitness room was nice, never busy, well airconditioned and adequately equipped. The spa is extra special, a lot more expensive than the street vendors of course but you get what you pay for. After trying a few beach massages and then the in-house spa we didn't feel the need to leave the resort again.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadgerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickBauer, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 March 2010
Valued guest,

Thank you for your review.We are gradually re-modelling our resort for your future pleasure,so that you may enjoy a fresh look on our accomodations portfolio on your next visit.

With kind regards,

Nick Bauer
General Manager & the Chaweng Regent team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2010

Centrally located opposite the main markets and right on the beach. Bar on the beach as well as great restaurant and one of the 2 pools. One has a swim up bar, both are really good. Everything was clean, staff very pleasant and the gardens quite pretty.

Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jenna79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickBauer, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 March 2010
Valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time in posting your review.We look forward to your next visit.

KInd regards,

Nick Bauer
General Manager & the Chaweng Regent team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2010

We stayed at Chaweng Regent for 7 nights after much deliberation between this hotel and Centara Grand, where we have stayed on other occassions.

We arrived at the hotel at 10 am and even though check in wasn't until later, we were swiftly checked in and shown to our Premier room, which was spacious with a lounger, separate wardrobe area, outside terrace, shower and large hot tub. The room was spotless, with a flat screen and DVD player.

The hotel was located close to bars and restaurants on the main strip, walking distance to neighbouring bars. One disadvantage we had when we stayed at the Centara Grand previously, we were forever getting motorbike taxis.

Breakfast was included in our package, which offered a great varied buffet. We did not eat at the hotel at lunch times or in the evenings as there are many specialist seafood restaurants on the main road and along the beach side with much more diverse menus and reasonably priced. Schnitzel house is a must, the full house every night speaks for itself and this restaurant has been here for years, as has the excellent chef Kung.

In general at other restaurants this time we found Thai food on Samui to be diluted to western tastes. If you want to try proper authentic Thai food, cross the road, head left and second right, by the gallery, past Royal India (a very good indian restaurant!) there are traditional Thai cafe style set ups here and you can get a Thai curry for 40 baht (80p). There is 30 baht a kilo laundry (including ironing!) service available on this road too (so you can pack light and shop!).

Massages were expensive at the hotel considering you are in Thailand, probably the reason why spa staff were offering free 5 minute tasters to guests around the hotel. My Friend (not mine!) but a professional Thai massage parlour has many outlets, larger ones before Centara Grand on the main road and there are other masseurs along the beach front too. What better way to have a Thai massage...on the beach bed with the sea in the background? The ladies outside OP Bungalow to your left are good, Nu in particular.

Sunloungers were plentiful, although you need to "reserve with towel" by 9am to get a decent spot on the beach. There are many available by the second pool (not the beachside one). The beach is nice outside the hotel and it probably is the best beach front along this stretch. My husband walked up the beach and said that ours was one of the nicest and "The Library" (not sure if that's the name of their restaurant) was really smart. The beach vendors are friendly and don't hassle you.

Taxi back to Samui airport - just hail one from the street, much, much cheaper than the hotel's for the 10 minute ride. We made arrangements with a driver on the street the night before, but surprisingly there were plenty driving on the main road at 6 in the morning, picking up clubbers on their way back to hotels - really!

Staff are courteous and attentive. They responded to requests swiftly, nothing was too much trouble for them.

If we had to choose between this hotel and Centara Grand, I honestly don't know which one I would go for. Centara IS very Grand and service is exceptional there too. Balconies with sea views at the Grand could possibly sway it for me, but then the modernised Premier rooms at Chaweng Regent would sway me back to this hotel! This hotel is certainly better located for all amenities on the main road and at the same time away from the hustle bustle.

PS try to coincide your trip with a full moon party (and book accommodation on the party island so that you don't have to worry about getting the boat and taxi back! (Heard the 2am boat had a 2.5hr wait of scrum)).

ENJOY!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LONDONMANIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickBauer, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 March 2010
Valued guest,

Thank you for giving us the thumbs up.We look forward to being at your service again on your next trip.

With personal regards,

Nick Bauer
General Manager & the Chaweng Regent team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Travelled to Koh Samui on my own for a week of R+R, chose this hotel from reviews I read on Tripadvisor and I was not dissapointed. Stayed in a deluxe room (which is better than a superior, although the name does not imply that) The location is excellent, although the beach is not exactly private as one person here has mentioned, people in transit walk over an back past, but it seems only the people from the hotel swim in the sea in front of the hotel and the loungers on the beach are only for hotel guests, it also has a fairly large pool just back from the beach, I only swam in this the first day as the sea was great. The resort is set in a tropical garden which is quiet and feels like paradise, step out the front of the hotel and you are right in the busy centre of town, with shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel staff are very friendly, pleasant and courteous. I had food at the beach restaurant and the Red Snapper and they were both excellent, good food and very well presented. The Red Snapper, I saw was voted one of Thailand's top restaurants and it deserved this honour. Eating in the hotel may be more expensive than the restaurants in the town but compared to home it was very cheap. I put alot of drink, food etc down to my room and was surprised how small my bill was when checking out!
I also used the well equiped fitness room and spa, the staff here were helpful and very pleasant also.
Only negative I found that the idea of planting you towel early in the morning on the best positioned loungers, which is an idea allegedly pioneered by the Germans on the Costa del Sol, has now spread worldwide, I saw many loungers with towels on them at breakfast and then were not in use all day. The question my friends asked me, 'could you bring a guest back to the hotel :-)' yes no problem, if your guest showed her identity card at reception and you paid the hotel 1200 baht.
I will certainly return to Koh Samui and will again stay at this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hardhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickBauer, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 February 2010
Valued guest,

We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and will return.

Thank you for your continued patronage.

Nick Bauer

General Manager & the Chaweng Regent team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney, aus
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2010

Stayed at the Chaweng Regent shortly after the New Year, from 3 of January to 9 January.

The first most important thing about staying at this hotel is, pay the extra to stay at a deluxe room. A superior room is simply a bungalow, with air-conditioning and cable TV. Hardly worth the value and you can get much cheaper accommodation elsewhere.

The Deluxe room, is much bigger, has bath tub next to an ambient outdoor garden. Closer to all the hotel facilities and much quieter.

Also pay the extra for the hotel breakfast as part of your package. The breakfast is superb and includes everything you could want.

The hotel staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. We received an upgrade to a deluxe room following a blocked drain in one of the bungalows. As I said don't stay in the bungalows.

The hotel is in a great location. Has its own private beach an swimming area, as the hotel backs onto the beach. Yet, the hotel is 2-5 minute walk from all the nightlife and great restaurants that Chaweng has to offer.

Also don't eat at the hotels restaurant that is on the main strip "The Red Snapper" appalling service. Worst service O have ever experience. Took forever to get served, when we were eventually served, the food took forever to arrive 1+hrs (the restaurant was empty). Friends of ours who ate there said the staff treated them as though they did not exist or were a burden on them.

So all in all great hotel, great service, great location - but overpriced, don't stay in a superior room and DON"T eat at the Red Snapper!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sepol7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickBauer, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 February 2010
Valued guest,

We very much appreciate your candid review of our services.All mentioned points have since been addressed with the leadership team to avoid any mishap of this kind.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Nick Bauer

General Manager & the Chaweng Regent team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,357 reviews
0.7 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,739 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,398 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaweng Regent Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Regent Beach Resort

Property: Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Address: 155/4 | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#12 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#21 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaweng Regent Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your own paradise, enveloped in breezy elegance and shaded by majestic coconut trees. Enjoy a taste of tropical living, bask among blooming native flowers and sweeping ocean views and delight in an idyllic holiday of relaxation and pampering. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, where impeccable service and luxury accommodation await, offering a refuge to promote health and wellness with palate-pleasing experiences.This is the place to relax. There is nothing to disturb the blissful tranquility of Samui. This is a place to explore. There is much to see and do, but only at a pace you set yourself. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort is a stunning beach front resort, situated on the famous Chaweng beach on Koh Samui. Conveniently located only a short walk away from the vibrant excitement of Chaweng with its many entertainment spots, restaurants and shopping centers, our resort offers the very best location to suit all tastes. Whether you want to get away from it all and relax in our tranquil surroundings or shop till you drop, Chaweng Regent Beach Resort has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chaweng Regent Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Regent Beach Hotel Chaweng
Regent Koh Samui
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing