We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poppies Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Poppies Samui
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed here for seven nights and loved it. We had doubts before booking as it is quite old now and right at the end of the busy Chaeweng Rd so we new we would have to WALK!!
Poppies met all our expectations and more, the cottages were well maintained and turndown service every night was great.
The beach area was very clean and we always had a good spot right in front of the sea.
The only thing i wish we had done was have dinner at The Poppies restaurant which is supposed to be amazing.
I would definately recommend staying here if you like to be just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Chaeweng.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachaelA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    84
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
137
368
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

we have stayed here many time over many years. while their facilites may not be the most up to date, it retains its' charm and remains one of our favorite places.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cava123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Hard to add anymore to what has already been said before. We stayed for 5 nights in 107. The staff at poppies really make the place. Enjoyed staying in a cottage instead of a hotel room. A couple of things could be improved but i dont want to sound as too picky. The bed was hard and uncomfortable, pillows old and lumpy. The basket of fruit on arrival was lovely but the subsequent days either received a couple of oranges or over ripe bananas, would have liked more variety. The bathroom could do with a little upgrade.

Overall it was a wonderful stay, food in restaurant lovely and enjoyed the breakfast. Bar was lovely for a early evening cocktail especially 5-7pm half price during happy hour!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GKovacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed at two locations in Koh Samui. This was our second stop. Both locations were on Chaweng Beach and this was about 1/2 mile south of the first stop.

The highlight of Poppies was the room and specifically the bathroom. The shower was partially outside with a screen netting. They had a well manicured garden inside of it. The shower was a step down, and again, very nicely designed. The bed and pillows were also very new and comfortable. The big difference from this resort to the others was the room comfort and landscaping around the cottages. Each cottage was on a separate paths with small streams and goldfish. Well kept groundskeeping. The pool was not as large as other locations, but very clean and nice. WiFi had good reception. This is often hit or miss depending on the resort and how they have their routers set up.

I agree that the breakfast was limited, but if you enjoy western fare and freshness, then it could be a plus. It is not a buffet. The beach location was fine, since Chaweng Beach has fantastic sand. However, the beach location did not have the same length as some of the northern Chaweng Beach locations. You really do feel away from everything around the cottages. It is like a jungle feel.

Overall, if you value the room amenities and comfort, then this place is the best I have seen for the money and location. If you don't care about the room as much as the beach and food selection, then look north. I like the section of shops and restaurants that are a bit north of Poppies, but it is still very easy to walk wherever you need.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vandalay_Industries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Stayed for 3 nights with our 14 year old son. Great rooms for a family of three with the additional bed in the alcove. Lovely touches like fruit, newspaper and evening treats! We had a room near the restaurant and pool which was very convenient but still quiet and secluded. It's a small resort and feels very private, stepping out the front door is like another world. Not too keen on Chewang, too busy for me, we prefered Bophut.

Fridge for your own drinks, iced water and fruit, with compliments, on the beach. Very helpful reception to organise restaurants and ferries. Don't charge for using credit cards. Booked direct to get best deal and had to phone (don't have fax) with card details for deposit, bit wary at first but seems to be common practice in Thailand and worked fine
.
Best area on beach, lovely sunrise walks and swims. Good massages on beach right next to hotel. The restaurant was the best we ate in whilst in Chewang. Dined at Spirit, not as good but nice setting. Breakfast lovely and relaxed, they serve till noon.

Thanks to all the staff for a relaxed and easy stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhubarbrhubarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester england
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

All the previous reviews are accurate. We stayed in 6 different places in Thailand this time, but it was only here that I was upset when we left. The hotel is gorgeous, a real contrast from the busy street at the back. A gem. All the staff were lovely, and the other local bars were very friendly. I think breakfasts were a little monotomous, same menu every day. Our air-con could have been cooler but a jungle feel! , had to have it re gassed twice, during our one week stay. Beach perfect, sea sublime. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLP98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

The minute you walk past the reception area, the noise and busyness of Chaweng is behind you. The grounds are exceptionally quiet, the pool and restaurant area beautiful, and the rooms are very well appointed--even a live garden in the bathroom! Some of the wait staff had a hard time understanding my requests due to the difference in language. Also, upon checkout, the credit card terminals at the reception area were not working and it took almost 30 minutes to check out. Overall, our experience was very good, the staff just needed some "polishing" for a hotel of that nature.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fortyluvcari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
6.5 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
0.5 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
10.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.5 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppies Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppies Samui

Property: Poppies Samui
Address: PO Box 1, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#1 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Poppies Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tiny magical oasis of tropical enchantment, Poppies Samui lies on a pristine white sandy beach in the Gulf of Siam. Located at the south end of renowned Chaweng beach, well away from the hustle and bustle of the main resort area, Poppies has earned its reputation, since opening in 1994, as Koh Samui's most exclusive boutique hideaway. In addition to offering the same idyllic style and charm as its famous namesake and sister hotel Poppies Bali, Poppies Samui offers its guests exceptionally high standards of friendly service and attention to detail in a perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Holiday Gems so you can book your Poppies Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppies Samui Hotel Koh Samui
Poppies Samui Koh
Poppies Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing