We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to Paradise”
Review of Poppies Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Poppies Samui
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Return to Paradise”
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We have just enjoyed our seventh return stay at Poppies and would like to thank John, the GM and his team of dedicated and wonderful staff for once again welcoming us "home" and making our stay so memorable and enjoyable.
It always amazes us the warmth and friendship portrayed to us by the management team and staff and the excellent level of service the staff give to all their guests to make their stay one to remember.
From previous visits we have made many friends not only the gorgeous staff but we have formed many friendships with other return guests from all over the world.
This we cherish.
Poppies is a hidden oasis situated near the southern and quieter area of Chewang Beach. As we step into the resort we experience a tranquil and serene feeling as we wonder through the beautiful gardens, past peaceful water falls, lovely fish ponds and authentic Thai cottages set privately amidst the beautiful gardens. We experience a feeling of "coming home" and thoroughly enjoy embracing our extended family.
A STAY AT POPPIES CANNOT BE FULLY EXPLAINED, IT HAS TO BE EXPERIENCED!!
Once again manys thanks to "The Poppies Team".

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margarita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    87
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
151
401
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Loved most things about this hotel - Staff (wonderful!), Restaurant (awesome!!!), Location (convenient), access to the beach and Garden & Greenery (quite refreshing).

Few things that was not to my liking was the Room design (L shaped and most of the time we were in the main room and felt it was a tiny room) and the pool design which could have been better.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fruskee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

After reading all the reviews, decided to book the family to stay at Poppies. We crammed into a single cottage and although a bit of a squeeze, there was still enough room to relax. The cottage has almost everything a 5 star hotel would have and the open bathroom is a nice touch. We asked for room 101 which is the only cottage sort of facing the sea and also close to the pool. Really enjoyed the little touches like fruits and mosquito coil being lit at night as we sat on the porch and listened to the sea.
Everyone is extremely friendly and attentive especially as we were travelling with a 5 month year old baby and two boys. I can't thank everyone enough for looking after us and it was a memorable holiday. I did visit a few other resorts near by and they don't compare with Poppies in terms of environment as the landscaped gardens are beautifully done.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall united kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This place is truely paradise - the best for us was the little touches, the poems, the chocs on the pillow, the slippers at the door - the outside sunken bathroom open to the elements was truely amazing! Go and you wont be disappointed ! Well done Poppies - still waiting to get to the Bali one!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mermaid68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Wonderful to stay here - beauuuutiful garden, great staff, nice food and Ms. Lek in breakfast restaurant is just perfect in her job, Poppies should be so proud to have her there - can't say it better than that! Cottages are perfect. All great has been said about this hotel in previous reviews. Do not AT ALL agree, that the nearby cheaper hotels are just as fine, oh no!

Just one negative comment - price - it is really too much, compared to 5-star hotels on the island.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kattene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Having read a few reviews of Poppies and other Chaweng hotels, I was torn. My husband is used to 5 star hotels with acres of marbles, yet the places we remember with most affection are those with stand out service. Poppies is one of these places. For the duration of our 7 day stay, none of our family of four could fault the service we had received from every member of the staff. We stayed in two adjoining rooms, which were good in terms of size and amenities. The teenage boys were happy with the wifi and dvds on offer at the front desk plus the choice of air con or fan (or both). We enjoyed the daily paper and deliveries of different local fruit each morning. The pool is not big, so if that is important to you, Poppies is not your sort of place. We only swam in the sea (which outside Poppies is refreshingly absent of jetskis) and so the size of the pool wasn't an issue. Every time my husband and I went down to the beach, chairs were set up with towels and cold water with others beside them for when our boys eventually showed up. At breakfast each morning, Lek would remember the events of the the days before and ask us how it went. When we organised a fishing trip, there were towels at the desk in the morning ready for us to pick up and take out. We didn't even need to wait for our pick up. the staff at reception came to get us when our ride arrived.
When we experienced low pressure in the tap in our bathroom it was fixed as soon as we mentioned it. We never had to give our room numbers. The staff knew who we were within hours of our arrival. Also, the best meals we had were at Poppies, having tried also, Eat Sense (next best), the Page (mostly good) and Blue Moon. The coffee was not great, but was the best we had on the island.

Room Tip: We were in rooms 112 and 113 which were a 2 minute walk to the restaurant/ pool/ beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C0ffeeAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed here for seven nights and loved it. We had doubts before booking as it is quite old now and right at the end of the busy Chaeweng Rd so we new we would have to WALK!!
Poppies met all our expectations and more, the cottages were well maintained and turndown service every night was great.
The beach area was very clean and we always had a good spot right in front of the sea.
The only thing i wish we had done was have dinner at The Poppies restaurant which is supposed to be amazing.
I would definately recommend staying here if you like to be just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Chaeweng.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachaelA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
3.9 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
1,556 reviews
0.6 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,331 reviews
10.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,398 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppies Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppies Samui

Property: Poppies Samui
Address: 28/1 Moo 3, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#1 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Poppies Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tiny magical oasis of tropical enchantment, Poppies Samui lies on a pristine white sandy beach in the Gulf of Siam. Located at the south end of renowned Chaweng beach, well away from the hustle and bustle of the main resort area, Poppies has earned its reputation, since opening in 1994, as Koh Samui's most exclusive boutique hideaway. In addition to offering the same idyllic style and charm as its famous namesake and sister hotel Poppies Bali, Poppies Samui offers its guests exceptionally high standards of friendly service and attention to detail in a perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travelbag, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Poppies Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppies Samui Hotel Koh Samui
Poppies Samui Koh
Poppies Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing