We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
ZenHotels.com
US$204
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,159)
Filter reviews
1,159 results
Traveller rating
1,011
116
17
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,011
116
17
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages manager james thai style cottages cocktail party fresh fruit little touches a la carte breakfast chaweng beach beach staff every morning little piece of paradise plastic bottles our honeymoon restaurant food is wonderful stay every evening the hustle and bustle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
689 - 694 of 1,159 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We took a family trip for 5 nights over winter holiday 2012. This hotel is in South Chaweng beach area on Koh Samui which is a fairly lively/busy strip of hotels on the beach and small shops on the main road. Even though the general area is busy, this hotel is quite quiet and feels secluded. The hotel has about 20 bungalows and each one has its own entrance through a garden path. We rented two that were connecting. The pluses for this hotel are (a) the garden area is quite lush and beautiful and very well maintained - there are about 5 grounds keepers keeping the place in great shape, (b) the breakfast is delicious and plentiful, both western and local selections included (try the local yogurt and shrimp congee), (c) the staff is very friendly and attentive, but not overbearing, (d) there are enough lounge chairs by the pool and on the beach for everyone that wants one , (e) the rooms are solid and quiet despite being in Chaweng, (f) there are DVD players and a DVD library free to use, (g) the restaurant for lunch and dinner are reasonably priced and great food, (h) there is a free cocktail hour and Thai traditional dance show on different nights and (i) daily fresh fruit and cake/cookies in the room that are complimentary. I feel very relaxed after staying here and it's nice to not be nickel and dimed and get great service.

Date of stay: December 2012
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank hjss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 December 2012

What you see in the hotel website and all the professional photographs is what you get when you stepped on the grounds of the exotic Poppies Samui. Everything is perfect. The cottage is well-maintained and beautifully decorated. The cottage is spacious for a family of 4. To accommodate my two kids aged 5 and 8, the living area at the corner of the cottage is turned into a kids room with 2 single beds! Perfect!
Every morning, we are greeted with a basket of tropical fruit which the kids always look forward to. They are always excited to see what fruit they get to taste for the day. In the evening, we will be surprised with some cakes wrapped in tropical pandan leaves. Such attentive to details create an authentic, exotic Thai experience during our stay at Poppies Samui.

Although Poppies Samui is located on the famous busy and noisy Chaweng Beach, it is however located at the far and quiet end of Chaweng, away from the hustle and bustle and the crowd. Thus, the beach is quiet with no crowd - just like a private beach!

Perfect! Everything is perfect at Poppies Samui!

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelicious_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We can only add to the many other reviews and say that Poppies is an outstanding holiday destination.

Nothing is too much trouble for the staff at Poppies. June and everyone from reception to the beach are always there to help and give that little bit more by way of service.

The breakfast (overlooking the beach) is available until midday and ticks all the boxes, whatever your daily preference – everything from the perfect poached egg to porridge and Thai soup. Lek and the team spoil everyone.

There are local bars and places to eat all around Poppies but the centre of Chaweng Beach is best reached by Songtaew (taxi that looks like a pick-up truck) – 100 bahts per person.

Throughout our stay Poppies surprised with little extras that made our holiday that bit more special. They fully deserve all of the praise they get.

Tips:

• Use the Songtaew to get around – good fun, cheap and reliable.
• The minimum wage in Thailand is 300 baht a day – be generous.
• The `Farmers Market’ bars and restaurants are worth visiting outside of Friday’s – great live entertainment.
• If you are tempted to have clothes made them be sure to use a Thai tailor. Using Indian and other shops leads to complications.
• Other than Poppies our favourite restaurant was the Red Snapper.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuysNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed here for a week in December and absolutely loved it! It was our honeymoon and they decorated our room with flowers just for us as well as a floral turndown every night. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Tib, one of the beach boys even helped us secure ringside seats for the kickboxing one night. The pool was great and i think that the beach in front of Poppies was probably the best patch along the coast as some of it can have a bit of litter on the sand. The beautiful gardens and the cottages are superbly maintained. It's such a nice feeling walking back through the gardens to your cottage after being in the hustle and bustle of Chaweng Beach Road.
The minor downfall for us was that the breakfasts were very westernised which we weren't that keen on. I understand they have to cater for the majority but that is just our opinion. Also we did try the restaurant on our first night. It was nice food but very expensive in comparison to what we thought was more authentic and nicer food at smaller restaurants/street stalls that obviously didn't have the ambiance or fantastic position which Poppies offers. This is a very minor criticism as we would certainly recommend this place to anyone we know and would love to come back.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisGPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Poppies for 4 days last week and we both loved the hotel and especially the staff. It was like staying at a friends house, we were treated like royalty. The room was perfect, breakfast perfect, we both had massages and they were perfect and we ate at the restaurant one evening and that was perfect.........about the only bad thing about our stay was that it rained every day but the hotel were not responsible for that!! Would we recommend Poppies? Definitely!! Mike and Ann x

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r55sel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews