We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel we have stayed in”
Review of Poppies Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Poppies Samui
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel we have stayed in”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Beautifully kept, friendly, amazing beach. Great food, flawless. Clean, amazing beach for a toddler to play on as well as a swimming pool. Spa was great. Lots of thoughtful extra touches. Expensive but worth it

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonandCharlot... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    87
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
145
389
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Poppies is one of the last intimate resorts left in koh samui. The are only 24 cottages on a pristine garden setting that is both tranquil and beautifully manicured with foliage . The grounds are serene, the beach top notch. The food at the restaurant is good to excellent with the vegetables and meat top quality. This small boutique hotel is not fiprveveryone. Quite and deiscreet would be a good description. Clean and meticulously kept up, if you want to taste a bit of old samui to a time when development was something going on elsewhere , come stay here. I don't know how much longer it will hold out to development, but when it leaves , there won't be another . You rarely see any staff walking around;the are well hidden from view by a service tunnel. Now who would have thought of gat 20+ years ago!

Enjoy

Room Tip: Experience it just one time, and you'll know if this serene laid back place is for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaleidoscopeofdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Magic place to stay. As a single mature female traveller, I felt safe and well cared for. Nothing is too much trouble. The staff were friendly and considerate. Not over stated, comfy, quiet, impeccable service , best part of the beach and excellent food. Can't wait to return again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Travcalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

It was lovely to be on the best beach in Samui (and away from the rowdy northern part of the beach).
This is also the nicest collection of beautiful cottages set in very lush tropical gardens. The pool and restaurant are located at the beachside and just lovely. The friendly service and food was really good.

I am going to miss sunset happy hour at the little bar on the beachfront!

Thank you to John and the team for a very memorable stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GGain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We ate here on recommendation from our hotel staff at the Banana Fan Sea Resort. The ambiance was amazing with the restaurant next to the beach. The food menu had a great selection of various dishes and wines and it all tasted very good. Note however that this restaurant is not cheap by European standards.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keentraveller t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
140 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The Good.

The staff are always smiling and so helpful. They try to remember where you like to sit at breakfast and even what you order (if this the same 2 days in a row).
The included breakfast, although not having every choice possible has a very wide selection where you have have one of each from the top 5 or 7 items on the menu and then one from the bottom 5....enough to put on a few KG over a stay.
The setting, in lovely gardens and mostly quiet away from the road noise (apart from when the Thai boxing truck comes past with the loud speakers) and we had the room nearest the road.
The massage spa, great massage with no inappropriate extras offered. Very relaxing, however it is so good it is difficult to get a slot NOW you may need to book a day or more in advance.

The OK

The rooms are good, but could do with some updating and some maintenance. Our room had a SMALL leak when it rain heavily (pointed out to management and told them not to bother to fix while we where there).
The lunch is ok, its good food. Just quite high in price.
The dinners are very good, but the price again is the issue. There are other places in the location with the same quality and cheaper (other hotels), but if you cannot be bothered to leave the hotel.
The drinks prices again are high, but comparing these to street bars in unfair. There is always the 7 Eleven next door where you can buy and keep in the fridge in your room.

The bad.

The pool, there is algae growing around the edge of the pool and the jacuzzi is similarly effected. There are leaves in the pool, but with the plant life (trees, bushes etc) this cannot be helped but the same ones are in the pool for the whole stay we had. This does need to be improved. Daily maintenance is a must.

Room Tip: We had 112, I had some initial concerns as this seemed to be right above reception when we arrived i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feanorq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Poppies did not disappoint. I booked from good reviews found on TripAdvisor and now get to write my own great review. My husband and I travelled with our 3 young adult kids. The staff is exceptional here. From Jon the Manager who has a great sense of humor and a kind heart, to the beach staff, waitresses and bartenders, they all do their job exceptionally well. By our 2nd day the staff knew our names and our favorite foods and places to sit at the beach. The beach in front of the resort is by far the best in Samui. We drove around the island on motorbikes, although not sure I'd recommend that due to the crazy driving, but did not find a beach as beautiful as Poppies. The water was clean and warm and the white sand was beautiful. The rooms were very comfortable. I found the bed a bit firm, but my kids in their own cottage had no issue with their bed. The rooms (106, 107) were quiet, very clean and well kept and the wifi worked perfectly. They do a beautiful "turn down" service each night too. There was a cocktail party one night which gave us the opportunity to make friends with some of the other guests. The breakfast that is included is wonderful. They have great choices, delicious fruit, breads and coffee. We also ate dinner there a few nights and the meal was extraordinary. We ate both Thai dishes and pasta and both were delicious. It is also in a great location. We had a great Thai massage across the street at Pruksa for 200 baht, they easily accommodated the 5 of us all at once. We also ate at Noori's Indian food just a few doors to the right and it was great. My husband also had a suit made while we were there at Sunny's. They made a beautiful suit in just 2 days that was custom fit for a fraction of what he'd pay the U.S. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All rooms seem pretty equal. We stayed in 106 and 107 and both were quiet, clean and close to every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shrink711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
3.9 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
0.6 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
10.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.5 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppies Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppies Samui

Property: Poppies Samui
Address: 28/1 Moo 3, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Poppies Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tiny magical oasis of tropical enchantment, Poppies Samui lies on a pristine white sandy beach in the Gulf of Siam. Located at the south end of renowned Chaweng beach, well away from the hustle and bustle of the main resort area, Poppies has earned its reputation, since opening in 1994, as Koh Samui's most exclusive boutique hideaway. In addition to offering the same idyllic style and charm as its famous namesake and sister hotel Poppies Bali, Poppies Samui offers its guests exceptionally high standards of friendly service and attention to detail in a perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelbag, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Poppies Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppies Samui Hotel Koh Samui
Poppies Samui Koh
Poppies Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing