We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort stuck in the 90's”
Review of Coral Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coral Bay Resort
Ranked #50 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This is our 4 th time here and sadly it will be our last. In the 12 years that we been coming here the resort just has not kept up with the times and tourists expectations. The rooms are still ok and outlook nice but that's where it ends. Staff are the unfriendliest I have encountered in Asia. Pool beds are old and stained, towels are all freyed, breakfast very plain, no pool side service at all, in fact you are better off getting drinks from the hawkers. Can't imagine this resort being able to compete now. We still have our happy memories but sadly this trip not so good.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Princessperi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2012

This was the third resort that we stayed in at Koh Samui & the best. We stayed in a lovely villa overlooking the beach & beautiful tropical gardens. The villa was outstanding, with a waterfall shower, tv, mini fridge, lighted wardrobe,settee, 7ft bed, huge balcony with loungers & table & chairs....The extra little touches are oil burners, flowers, newspapers & a selection of DVDs. The resort is situated just outside the very busy Chaweng, but near enough to walk or hire a bike to visit the shops & restaurants aplenty. The staff are helpful & there is a nice pool with comfortable sun loungers & free table tennis if thats your thing. We prefered the beach, which was absolutely beautiful! Again, there are free sunbeds & an island that you can wade or Kayake across to. Watch you don't get sunburnt though. There is a Spa in the Resort Grounds & the staff are very knowedgable. It is actually run by a qualified nurse. I have limited movement in one of my arms & one treatment helped. I should have gone back for more but there is so much to do in Koh Samui....You get a free half hour "jet lag" massage on checking in, which cured a headache that I had. They give you beveridges & you can spend the day there if you want to. Lovely & relaxing. The whole place smells of tropical flowers & the staff work hard maintaining the pretty gardens. You will see a few tropical birds flying around too. I am really missing this place.....

Room Tip: Beach front, but it is a little expensive at this time of year. Our friends paid £30 a night in June...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenya25_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

me and my wife stayed here in june 2011 for 3 weeks and loved everything about it location is perfect the garden bunglow was spacious and waterfall shower was so relaxing staff were freindly and helpful . bed could have been a bit softer but dident really bother us had a amazing time in coral bay and will be travelling back this year for another month david and katrina south wales

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank evobow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Awesome. Very relaxing, very clean, awesome food and very very friendly staff. Will happily stay there again. Best we saw in Koh Samui

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adamvdrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Coral Bay. We loved the huge room/bungalow - it had a massive bed, day lounger, wardrobe and desk. We loved the large garden bathroom with skylights, plants and a waterfall shower. The breakfast was great - lots of variety, a fresh omellete bar, wonderful selection of tropical fruit. The only thing I would have liked extra would be espresso coffee and less sugary juice - but that this is thailand so that is just nitpicking! Only downside of the rooms is the incredibly hard bed - I like hard beds but this was like sleeping on a rock.

The resort has a quieter beach - great if you want to get away from the chaos of Chaweng. It is also sheltered from the wind. We tried snorkelling in the beach but there isn't much coral - just a few small fish. The main strip of Chaweng is about a 10-15min walk away or you can easily get a tuk tuk, taxi or motobike down. Overall a lovely, relaxing place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zeenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We returned to Coral Bay after loving our stay 8-9 years ago.
This time, very disappointed. Lack of investment & apathy in the resort was evident. The pool area was uninviting with soiled mattresses on the sunbeds. The beachside sunbeds also need replacing. The gardens, although potentially beautiful, lacked attention to detail which became annoying - eg overgrown grass & hedging areas, broken pots & lights not working. Our room was fine & clean, although the mattress was hard. The attitude at reception was casual & at times uninterested although other staff were generally polite.
It pains me to say that we could not recommend the resort now, and for the money, much better accommodation can be found in the Chaweng area.
We do hope that Coral Bay can sort this out, as potentially it can have a lot to offer.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank stoxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Wonderful place where I feel myself in an absolute peace and comfort. Special thanks to spa personnel!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plushkind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.2 mi away
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
1.2 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
3.2 mi away
Boujis Boutique Resort
Boujis Boutique Resort
#23 of 104 in Chaweng
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#54 of 104 in Chaweng
416 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel
Blue Lagoon Hotel
#65 of 104 in Chaweng
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Briza Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Bay Resort

Address: 9 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#23 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#24 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £51 - £384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Bay Hotel Koh Samui
Coral Bay Koh Samui
Coral Bay Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing