We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coral Bay Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
98
56
33
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
56
33
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshuge bungalowskoh samuichaweng beachprivate beachtraditional thaiour honeymoonquiet areacomfy bedfresh fruitsea viewtaxibahtpornsandaccomscooterusable
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We selected this hotel because it had affordable bungalows that were close to the water and it was near a wedding we were attending.

We absolutely loved our stay and we were sad to move on. The bungalows were huge and suited our family of 4. Upon arrival they had set up the cot for my baby and made up another bed for my 2 year old even though we only paid for her to sleep in our existing bedding.

My only complaint was that the lighting in the rooms is not great. The rooms were too dark, the hot water a little dangerously hot, and the wi fi was down, but breakfast was great, the gardens were beautiful, the pool was nice and although its not a great beach to swim at in comparison to thailands usual high standards it did the job. You can always just walk 5 mins around the corner.

Yes a lot of reviews say its dated and I would agree it could use some re vamping, but in all we loved our stay! It was quiet, peaceful, spacious and for $110 per night in high season it was fantastic value for money (I shopped around).

We have been to Thailand 6 times now and we usually stay 4 weeks. It's been a different experience this time with kids, but the coral bay suited our lifestyle perfectly. It was only 5 minutes drive via a tuk tuk to chaweng and about 15 minutes to the fishermans village in bophut, yet we didn't need to go far, because it was so tranquil and relaxing at the coral bay.

A lot if my friends visited us while we were at the coral bay and also thought that our accommodation was a lot better than theirs because they were paying a lot more for tiny rooms in expensive resorts that were not near the water. Their rooms were often dated too.

The restaurant across the road and down a few shops to the left has great food, great service, free wi fi and ok wine!

In all we would definitely recommend and wiukd stay again. Fantastic value for money and good service.




  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kyleesarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The Coral Bay resort is located in north Chaweng, not far from the airport. But the location is very quiet saddled on a hill down to the beach.

I rented a beachfront bungalow, direct at the beach.
The reception was friendly and helpful when I arrived.

All bungalows are double bungalows with connecting doors, that means you may have to share the terrace with the guests from the bungalow next door.

The whole place is very old and down already and you have to make compromises on comfort. Especially the aircondition is old and very very noisy, even on lowest speed. But if you don’t use the aircon you will not get warm water for shower, because the aircon is producing the warm water for the bathroom.

The bathroom is quite simple and you will not find shampoo, conditioner or body lotion and you will just get one towel per person and day.

At night some mosquitos may attack you, but you will not find any spray; so you have to buy that on your own as well.

The king size bed is really big, even for 2 people, but hard as stone and if you don’t like neck breaking pillows you better bring your own.

If you should get heavy tropical rain, it may happen that the water is dripping thru the holes in the roof inside the room. So you better cover your electronic devices anytime you are expecting rain.

The bungalows have satellite TV (poor quality) and a CD/DVD player. But the player in my room was useless, because all cables were disconnected.

The beach at the resort is ok, but will not be that kind of white sand and blue lagoon you may expect from Koh Samui. The beach is small and the water is not deep enough for swimming close to the beach.

The resort ground is like a nice garden on a hill with old trees and many plants.

The breakfast buffet is ok, but simple. You get juice, tea or simple coffee; omelet, bread and fruits, and some simple thai rice or noodles, but nothing special. I asked for cappuccino, but the waiter said, they just have it in the restaurant and not for breakfast.

The place seems to be safe. The security is checking every foreigner at the entrance gate and at night there is a second person with a dog taking his tour to check the whole ground every 30 minutes. If you take a vistor to your bungalow, the security will ask for the ID. Thats ok for your own safty. But it is not ok that the security ask for money (100 - 200 Baht) when you guest want the ID back for leaving the ground.

All over all I would say, the place is ok, if you are not expecting modern and/or luxury, but too expensive for the quality you get.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank harlemjump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We got exactly what we expected with what we paid. The bungalows are very spacious and definitely have the island feel. We were able to see the sunrise from our hut but our view of the water was blocked by other huts. If a beachfront is available, it is well worth it to pay the premium if there is one. Breakfast was great as they offered Thai dishes along with western dishes. Beware: the resort provides minimal toiletries so you are better of bringing shampoo, conditioner, and soap with you. We also weren't impressed with the offerings of the resort (bar, restaurant, beach). Not too many people hung out in those areas and as a result their selection of food and drink was slim. Our guess was that the resort was just used for lodging for most people.

Noteworthy restaurants: Larder, Rice, and Treetops

Room Tip: Go for beachfront
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adelyn1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

Originally booked for one night and ended up staying 9. So that shows house much we liked it. Rooms so spatial. Massive double bed beautiful bathroom, Hugh veranda.
Gardens are stunning. The gardeners work SO hard to keep it looking so beautiful.
Staff so friendly. Shame that restaurant prices are too high as the food was superb.
Breakfast was very good. Plenty of choice.
Swimming pool does need a bit of tlc. As there some cracked tiles around. The loungers have the biggest most comfortable cushions I have ever seen. ( we had the pool to ourselves many times).
The only downfall is the beach. It is crumbling away fast. We did not swim in the sea as far to rocky but it's much better just a little bit further down. Drops quickly but then the sea is so shallow for ages.
Setting its quite a long way from Chewenga. ( we walked from resort one day took us 20 minutes. After that we took a tuc tuc at top of road. 100bht to town or wherever ýou want to go. Plenty of markets, bars and restaurants to visit. Also close to see Big Budda and fishermans market.
Overall view: perfect place to relax and chill away from the hussel and bussell.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nbnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The bungalows were absolutely lovely, but the beds were rock hard. We could almost not get any sleep at all due to the hard beds. (we know that beds in thailand often are harder then "normal" but this was really bad). The shower was also lovely, waterfall.
The beach was terrible, the only nice part of it was just below the VERY nice restaurant.
The breakfast was ok.... I liked that I got smoked ham everey day ;). Nice omelette....
The staff was very polite and helpfull.
We specially loved the older guard at the gate to the hotel.

We mostly stayed by the pool or went down to Chaweng.
Tried Lamai beach one day too.. nicer beach but that day it was so much waves so there wasn´t much bathing....

Overall it was a nice trip

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZeppoMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews