We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Natural Luxury Resort Pearl of Samui”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coral Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coral Bay Resort
Ranked #48 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Natural Luxury Resort Pearl of Samui”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

In our 4th consecutive year we stayed in this wonderful place. Compared to many 'poshy' other newer place on the island, this places offers guest the exclusive feel of staying in a botanical garden. The huts are not as brand new but have a lot of room, high standard and fit in the hotels park.
The staff is really friendly and helpful. Whether to taste a papaya salat or dishes from their own coconut trees at the own beach. This hotel offer exquisite services at reasonable prices.
Whether you are traveling as a family or couple or with friends every one will find his rest here. The party and touristic main spot is only 8 min. By taxi.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    49
    30
    10
    6
See reviews for
47
81
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Great location for backpacking, good accomodation, decent restaurant and cheap food! Lots of parties and fun people to be around - would recommend to anyone on a budget or who loves fun (don't expect too much sleep . . .)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Wh have stayed for 6 nights(September 20th till 26th) in Premium Deluxe Family room.
Forget about the photos you see on the Internet sites this place is Haven. Thailand like it should be, like it used to be. Original Tahi decoration and design, a beautiful garden with a spectacular view to an amazing beach. Great service, good food, 8min taxi from Chaweng beach(which I personally can't stand) a great vacation with three kids(13,8,4). This is a place that keep the Tahi spirit and is not competing in the disgusting race between hotels in Koh Samui to become more bombastic then the other. After three weeks in Thailands definitely the best place we have been definitely not the best island.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rotem3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

One of the most magical place we have ever stayed at. The view is magnificent, the hotel is set amongst beautifull vegetation, we are a family of 5 with grown up children and we all loved the place. We had a beach villa and we could seat hours admiring the view and listening to the nature. This is an extremely romantic place for lovers of peace and quiet. The pool was so enjoyable with clear water and the most confortable sunbeds. The villas are made of natural woods and bamboos with beautifull natural furniture everything suits the glorious landscape. You can walk by the beach to chaweng center which takes about half an hour or you can grab a cab on the road for 50 bath p/p. I greatly recommend this paradise and will come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ulanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

We selected this hotel because it had affordable bungalows that were close to the water and it was near a wedding we were attending.

We absolutely loved our stay and we were sad to move on. The bungalows were huge and suited our family of 4. Upon arrival they had set up the cot for my baby and made up another bed for my 2 year old even though we only paid for her to sleep in our existing bedding.

My only complaint was that the lighting in the rooms is not great. The rooms were too dark, the hot water a little dangerously hot, and the wi fi was down, but breakfast was great, the gardens were beautiful, the pool was nice and although its not a great beach to swim at in comparison to thailands usual high standards it did the job. You can always just walk 5 mins around the corner.

Yes a lot of reviews say its dated and I would agree it could use some re vamping, but in all we loved our stay! It was quiet, peaceful, spacious and for $110 per night in high season it was fantastic value for money (I shopped around).

We have been to Thailand 6 times now and we usually stay 4 weeks. It's been a different experience this time with kids, but the coral bay suited our lifestyle perfectly. It was only 5 minutes drive via a tuk tuk to chaweng and about 15 minutes to the fishermans village in bophut, yet we didn't need to go far, because it was so tranquil and relaxing at the coral bay.

A lot if my friends visited us while we were at the coral bay and also thought that our accommodation was a lot better than theirs because they were paying a lot more for tiny rooms in expensive resorts that were not near the water. Their rooms were often dated too.

The restaurant across the road and down a few shops to the left has great food, great service, free wi fi and ok wine!

In all we would definitely recommend and wiukd stay again. Fantastic value for money and good service.




  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kyleesarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

The Coral Bay resort is located in north Chaweng, not far from the airport. But the location is very quiet saddled on a hill down to the beach.

I rented a beachfront bungalow, direct at the beach.
The reception was friendly and helpful when I arrived.

All bungalows are double bungalows with connecting doors, that means you may have to share the terrace with the guests from the bungalow next door.

The whole place is very old and down already and you have to make compromises on comfort. Especially the aircondition is old and very very noisy, even on lowest speed. But if you don’t use the aircon you will not get warm water for shower, because the aircon is producing the warm water for the bathroom.

The bathroom is quite simple and you will not find shampoo, conditioner or body lotion and you will just get one towel per person and day.

At night some mosquitos may attack you, but you will not find any spray; so you have to buy that on your own as well.

The king size bed is really big, even for 2 people, but hard as stone and if you don’t like neck breaking pillows you better bring your own.

If you should get heavy tropical rain, it may happen that the water is dripping thru the holes in the roof inside the room. So you better cover your electronic devices anytime you are expecting rain.

The bungalows have satellite TV (poor quality) and a CD/DVD player. But the player in my room was useless, because all cables were disconnected.

The beach at the resort is ok, but will not be that kind of white sand and blue lagoon you may expect from Koh Samui. The beach is small and the water is not deep enough for swimming close to the beach.

The resort ground is like a nice garden on a hill with old trees and many plants.

The breakfast buffet is ok, but simple. You get juice, tea or simple coffee; omelet, bread and fruits, and some simple thai rice or noodles, but nothing special. I asked for cappuccino, but the waiter said, they just have it in the restaurant and not for breakfast.

The place seems to be safe. The security is checking every foreigner at the entrance gate and at night there is a second person with a dog taking his tour to check the whole ground every 30 minutes. If you take a vistor to your bungalow, the security will ask for the ID. Thats ok for your own safty. But it is not ok that the security ask for money (100 - 200 Baht) when you guest want the ID back for leaving the ground.

All over all I would say, the place is ok, if you are not expecting modern and/or luxury, but too expensive for the quality you get.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank harlemjump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldenzaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

We got exactly what we expected with what we paid. The bungalows are very spacious and definitely have the island feel. We were able to see the sunrise from our hut but our view of the water was blocked by other huts. If a beachfront is available, it is well worth it to pay the premium if there is one. Breakfast was great as they offered Thai dishes along with western dishes. Beware: the resort provides minimal toiletries so you are better of bringing shampoo, conditioner, and soap with you. We also weren't impressed with the offerings of the resort (bar, restaurant, beach). Not too many people hung out in those areas and as a result their selection of food and drink was slim. Our guess was that the resort was just used for lodging for most people.

Noteworthy restaurants: Larder, Rice, and Treetops

Room Tip: Go for beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelyn1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.2 mi away
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
0.3 mi away
The Briza Beach Resort Samui
0.7 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#51 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Boujis Boutique Resort
Boujis Boutique Resort
#38 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
0.2 mi away
Papillon Resort
Papillon Resort
#53 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Bay Resort

Property: Coral Bay Resort
Address: 9 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#23 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#24 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Bay Hotel Koh Samui
Coral Bay Koh Samui
Coral Bay Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing