We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff, impossible owner, overpriced rooms and definitely not worth the money. There are much better hotels on Chaweng beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Seascape Beach Resort
Ranked #61 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rude staff, impossible owner, overpriced rooms and definitely not worth the money. There are much better hotels on Chaweng beach”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I have really tried to give a balance opinion on Seascape however from my experience I will advise any holiday maker or traveller not to stay at this hotel! My main issue is the staff . They are unbelievably rude especially the owner and the main hotel manager. They're only happy when you pay more and more! On one occasion they packed up everything around us while we were enjoying our dinner- turning off the music and the lights at 9.30pm. Staff made us feel like we had to tip them for everything whether they deserved it or not. In our 3 day stay we spent 1000 tbht tipping the undeserving and rude staff. The European owner peacocks around half dressed at every opportunity like royalty while his staff wait on his every beck and call! Its inappropriate and frankly revolting to witness.Room facilities are very average.. expect to pay expensive rates for dark and dingy rooms that provide very little comfort. Unfortunately the water did run out so you can not flush the loo. This is expected being an island and we can not fault the hotel for this. However this hotel is not environmentally responsible when it comes to disposing of rubbish- happily allowing rubbish from the hotel bins to litter the beautiful beach- even flowing into the sea. I was embarrassed to be a guest at this hotel & found it disappointing because other hotels along this stretch were clean and tidy. I travelled the whole of Thailand and stayed in some lovely (be it basic) places but Seascape was one of the most expensive and not worth the money. I think the owner thinks it some kind of 5 star hotel?? Whilst staying, 6 guests including 2 children suffered from ear infections from the dirty pool water and ended up being in severe pain and discomfort. This is unfortunate- but when they asked the staff about it, the manager and owner in particular were rude and unsympathetic and basically told them to leave if they had a problem- which they promptly did. It really made us almost regret staying in Koh Samui. However all the locals were so friendly so we really couldn't be too put off by the island.
The coast is stunning however be warned the stretch of water in Chaweng that the hotel is on has nematocysts in the water (microscopic jellyfish) so you also can't swim in the beautiful sea water without being stung. Its very uncomfortable especially at night when the stings become itchy. However this would also be a problem if you are staying in any of the hotels along Central Chaweng not just Seascape.
If you choose to stay at Seascape , you will basically pay a high price for landscaped gardens and a maid (to close your curtains to keep the room cool) with the added misfortune of sitting by a tiny pool that is never cleaned. I've never stayed in a hotel that was so terrible. Of course experience this place if you really are desperate. However there are plenty of hotels along the Chaweng stretch that I'm sure will offer you better amenities for the same price, saving you from donating your money to funding the luxurious lifestyle of the pompous owner who cares little for the beautiful island!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Geminiuk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    99
    71
    25
    39
See reviews for
42
122
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor we were expecting the worse! I was scared of dirty rooms, dirty pool & unfriendly staff....but No! Yes the rooms are basic, but you get what you pay for. Rooms were clean, clean sheets & towels every day. the pool was cleaned every day. The staff, particularly Ea (pool guy), Kenny & Chi were soooo friendly. They loved our 4 year old son. Basically if you are friendly to Thai people they are friendly in return.
The food was delicious, particularly the whole fish with lemon or garlic, & yes you do pay a bit more for places on the beach so we didn't eat there all the time. The kids got a bit sick of the breakfast after 2 weeks but it did the job. We nearly cried when we had to leave...we'd go back again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ejdesmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We spent 2 weeks in Aug 13 here, for a standard room with breakfast in the middle of Aug we only paid £490...bargain.

Rooms fine, air con, TV, free Wifi etc, all you need really. Clean and well looked after by staff with fresh towels every day.

Food in the bar area was cheap and fine, just what you want for a bite over lunchtime, beer cheap ish, plenty of choice for drinks and food from Thai to Western.

Pool was small but clean and did a job, plenty of loungers available, same on the beach area, the staff are always ready to find you a space and lounger. Drinks and food brought to you if required.

Hotel was a 15 min walk to the central area (Bar Solo) but nice to be out of the way abit, taxis cheap enough if you can't be bothered with walking down.

Legend of a guy who works the pool and beach area, always happy and smiling and happy to help with anything you want and chatting away to everyone, just a shame he was a Man Utd fan though!

For 500 quid in the middle of Aug, you can't get anywhere better than Seascape, will defo be back.

Room Tip: The 'standard' rooms are fine, no difference to the other rooms. Try the Noori Indian fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ross7ScarboroughUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Rooms are a bit tired but spacious and comfortable, it is right on h beach and very relaxing they set up the restaurant on the beach in the night and the food is very nice and inexpensive, they have a band playing also. It it close to other restaurants a d shops

Room Tip: Rooms at front have beach views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkkmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We have been going to this hotel for about 7 years. Never had a problem but then for the money i don't expect the Ritz. If you want to lounge around the hotel all day go to a holiday camp. Thailand is about seeing what's there. Hire a car or motor bike and go up into the mountains (there are 2 fantastic swimming pools up there and it is cooler. go and find them. There are many beaches to try a differant one every day and eating out is a wonderful expierience. Get off your butt and walk along the beach and call in at differant places each time. My holidays in Thailand have been every year for the last 20 years and tried many resorts but always think of Samui as the best.

Room Tip: One of the hotel rooms. no lift so unless you are fit don't go above 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank invicta3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This is a sad story so I hope you'll bear with me. I have stayed at Seascape three times now and the first visit in 2009 was the best. The venue is fantastic however the restaurant needs to be properly managed. Staff other than Su really couldn't care if you're there or not. They sit at the bar and play with their Ipads or cell phones. The food was OK but far better in the past. I am given to understand that the restaurant is owned/managed by a separate company to the hotel/resort. This is bringing the whole resort a bad name and will definitely affect the Hotel income in the future. The Pool staff especially Ay were great and always very helpful. In the past I have noticed the pool gets attention on a daily basis. Not so this time and I only saw the pool attended to once in 2 weeks. It became unusable. My initial reaction was to not return however I'm not going to let the lack of management and general attention to detail do this. I will return and continue to complain until something is done about it. After all this is home from home for me. To the owners/managers pay attention to detail and remember the guests are your income and future. Just wish I owned the place...it would be the best value for money on the island. Please read this in a positive light and I'll be back next year same time.

Room Tip: The beach front bungalows are prime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

This is a pretty basic hotel & the staff are mostly pretty rude. Saying that, it is in a great location & this was my third stay here.

The rooms are basic, even when you upgrade to the better room categories but they have everything that you need, air-con is fine & bathroom is OK (for the standard of hotel) - but you are right on a really nice part of the beach here & from the bungalows only about 100 metres at most to the sea.
I was here by myself this trip & did not feel particularly secure in my room to be honest - the locks on the doors are not great.

I would recommend this hotel for someone wanting to travel on a budget & have a reasonably priced hotel in a great location but who is realistic to know that you get what you pay for !

I will be trying the San Souci (almost next door) for my next trip in December.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NettsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.2 mi away
Chaweng Resort
Chaweng Resort
#65 of 104 in Chaweng
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#36 of 104 in Chaweng
599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sans Souci Samui
Sans Souci Samui
#31 of 104 in Chaweng
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
0.4 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Samui Beach Apartments
Samui Beach Apartments
#159 of 186 in Bophut
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seascape Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Beach Resort

Property: Seascape Beach Resort
Address: 28/14 Moo 3,, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Seascape Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawadee! Welcome to Seascape Beach Resort, one of Koh Samui's finest "Sea Escapes." Nestled on the beautiful South Chaweng Beach, renowned for it's powdery- white sand, crystal clear waters and stunning ocean views. Seascape Beach Resort combines traditional Thai culture with modern Western comforts: inclusive of free WiFi, A/C, satellite TV, swimming pool and many other amenities, such as tour desk, beach massage and ocean view dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Seascape Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seascape Beach Hotel Koh Samui
Seascape Beach Koh Samui
Seascape Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing