We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in koh samui hands down!!!”
Review of The Larder

The Larder
Ranked #12 of 183 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: No fuss. No fancy terms. No pretension. The Larder takes things back to basics, serving up rustic casual dining and cocktails with a twist. Offering up modern British and International cuisine with a mix of comfort food and classics that have been revived, remixed and reinvigorated by merging modern cooking methods and techniques alongside cocktails that have been deconstructed into new liquid magic.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in koh samui hands down!!!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We went here on our last night with a promotional offer from some travel thingy who was ment to book us in but didn't. So we get there for our ment to be reservation and there was none. We were welcomed by the most polite staff ever, super happy to see us and very friendly. Once they saw the reservation hadn't be arranged damien one of the owners came out and appologise for it and sat us at the bar and gave us a drink each while he sorted the issue out. It was packed this night and he made room especially for me and my husband to dine there even though it was booked out. OMG the food is amazing...unbelievable words aren't enough. Very reasonably priced the same meal is Australia would set us back hundreds and it was a fraction of the price with 2 or 3 drinks each and desert. It topped of our honeymoon and we can't thank damien enough for fitting us in on our last night in koh samui it was the cherry on top of a fabulous honeymoon. This is a must go to restaurant but make sure u book well in advance. They were booked out for the next 2 weeks, its that good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    653
    175
    76
    26
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The staff is very friendly people.
We order 4 dishes and vine. All order dishes was absolutely incredible.
This is a great place, friendly staff and a beautiful atmosphere. It is highly recommended all my friends during visiting Koh Samui.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yulia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Food was 5 star, I'd had enough of greasy fatty food iv been eating all holiday and knew when I saw the menu is love this place. Scallops and ribs to start, beautiful. Chicken cassoulet and steak for main, amazing! And so filling, shared a choc soufflé, was something else! Can't wait to go back before I head home!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hollytiptop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous. End of Story”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We had dinner there last night and could dine there seven days a week and be happy. It's that good. Best non-Thai meal on our trip. Casual and upscale at the same time. With a surprisingly diverse wine selection. We had the cous cous appetizer with chile, cumin and mint, the Phat Falafel and the Big Bass. Service was friendly and first class, and the meal .., all I can say is "wow." The Larder could easily compete with any local haunt in Los Angeles, San Francisco or New York. And be sure to leave room for dessert. The Cheeses Christ and The Fluffer (who makes these names up, I don't know) were both outstanding. Five stars!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Creative, Comfortable Cuisine”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The Larder was simply an incredible surprise. We expected great Thai food here in Koh Samui, but didn't think that we'd find much else that would "wow" us. However, The Larder did just that. The service was excellent and the food was memorable...fresh ingredients and clever twists on comfort foods like pasta. An outstanding cocktail list helped to make our experience even more fun (try the peanut butter martini for desert).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anniegbalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Larder also viewed

 

Been to The Larder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing