We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal if you want a taste of home!”
Review of The Larder

The Larder
Ranked #12 of 184 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: No fuss. No fancy terms. No pretension. The Larder takes things back to basics, serving up rustic casual dining and cocktails with a twist. Offering up modern British and International cuisine with a mix of comfort food and classics that have been revived, remixed and reinvigorated by merging modern cooking methods and techniques alongside cocktails that have been deconstructed into new liquid magic.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great meal if you want a taste of home!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great menu, with a good variety and option available on the menu. Reasonably priced given the standard also, I would go again

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    654
    176
    76
    26
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The entree we both had at The Larder was as good as we have had anywhere! We ordered the salmon which is cured in-house and is teamed with rocket, quail eggs and asparagus with a dressing - name escapes me at the moment!

Our mains were pretty good too and the wine chilled to perfection, put this restaurant on your list, you won't be disappointed!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AJfromOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAYYYYYZING!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Spotted this place on the off chance walking past. The correctly worded menu and plays on words used for dish titles attracted out attention; clearly some English people involved.

We decided to go for tea that night. The way it all worked out, it wasn't long since we'd had lunch (so weren't absolutely starving!) the staff let us order from the lunch menu despite it being evening.

We had the pork belly; it was to die for. We added sides of rosemary & thyme bacon potatoes and buttered asparagus with hollandaise sauce. Just as good, especially the spuds.

We went back again for our 'last supper' before leaving. Again, fantastic food.


The cocktails too, wow! Peanut butter martini was gone in seconds, the mojos were called for repeatedly, the bacon infused bourbon tasted like ice cream it was so smooth!! And give the pomelo pop a go too!!! Bloody good stuff. Not to be missed if you're on the island.

Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Meal in Koh Samui!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Fine dining Koh Samui, amazing food! Can not fault this restaurant. Staff are lovely, food is of the highest quailty. Be sure to try the peanut butter cocktail :)
We had 2 cocktails, 3 beers, entree, mains and the chocolate souffle desert (delicious) this came to around $110 AUD worth every single dollar! Will definitely go back again this trip.

Helpful?
1 Thank BrittLappin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My partner and I booked a table on line they don't reply back to us so we decided to call them and our reservation was accepted apparently. No issues with that because that could happen, we had cocktails and then we order starters, I ordered mussels with xorico sauce, they were so tasty and I was very happy with the selection, then I ordered belly pork that was as I was expecting, so delicious!
The restaurant probably serves 12 tables maximum so it is important to book regardless of the day always contact them by phone.
I had a great dinner with my partner and the service was outstanding, no doubts that I will go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alseanvittor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Larder also viewed

 

Been to The Larder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing